Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 74

Thread: Excellent article on RAM issues in new Nokia S60 phones.

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    30
    Device(s)
    nokia n73
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkey
    Hello
    Allaboutsymbian.com has just posted a short article about the low RAM issues with the new Nokia S60 3rd edition devices. Read it here:
    http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/featu...g_over_RAM.php
    I really wish that people at Nokia would read it though as they are the only ones that can do anything about it.
    oi nokia 73 new firmware is out on the nokia website so go on www.nokia.com and u can download it

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ashburn, VA/Rockville, MD
    Posts
    9,326
    Device(s)
    BB9700
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by friedbrains
    sure, once you find a compatible flash ram chip with the same capability and pin assignment with a higher capacity... then, just desolder the old one and put the new one...


    BTW, to the one who posted above, a simpler way to click on the "remove memory card" is to press on the "ON/OFF" button and click UP (its in the bottom of the list)
    I didnt do the upgrade I paid for it!!
    BB9700 PIN: 2190dd6e

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    909
    Device(s)
    Dell Streak 32GB Froyo 2.2 Unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    VodaFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hi all,
    I accept that you can achieve the same by using the one /off switch except i have a N93 and if opened in flip mode its not easy to get to that switch. Also i now use Handy Taskman that does indeed now offer the ability to close or kill apps. but as i have said it is no longer possible to run as many apps as we want without running out of Ram so IMO things have changed and whether we will ever see this resolved in newer phones is I'm afraid a case of wait and see. We can but hope but it is not just Nokia's Symbian phones it does appear to be effecting all the new Symbian phones and in reality the SE phones are far worse off than the Nokia phones IMHO.

    Marc
    Last edited by Dogmann; 11-12-2006 at 06:02 AM.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by razamataz
    For everybody that is having the ram issues I would suggest you take a closer look at the E61, Im pretty sure it is the current leader of all the E and N series of phones (except for the N70) I have about 22meg at the standby screen after boot up. And while the N70 still has More, im pretty sure 22 is plenty for 99% of you all out there.
    The N93 has 23mb after booting (with fw 20.0.058) =)

    What still amazes me is that there is no way to redistribute ram, from the C:-drive to the D:-drive. I have 45mb of unused ram, it would sure help if i could push 40 of those to the D:-drive...

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    909
    Device(s)
    Dell Streak 32GB Froyo 2.2 Unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    VodaFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    @Jules N93,
    That 40mb's of memory you have your eyes on is storage memory not Ram, all memory is not equal or the same you can't just swap them.

    Marc

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are you sure? I thought C: and D: were on the same chip..

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ashburn, VA/Rockville, MD
    Posts
    9,326
    Device(s)
    BB9700
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    N73 vs N80 ram availability after boot?...anyone?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ashburn, VA/Rockville, MD
    Posts
    9,326
    Device(s)
    BB9700
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by greentooth
    N73 vs N80 ram availability after boot?...anyone?
    lol....both phones bought and sold and still no response although i answered my own question.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    GTA/Markham
    Posts
    75,452
    Device(s)
    Nokia N82 Titanium (Finland)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido (Fido-2-Fido!)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AteFifty
    N73 vs N80 ram availability after boot?...anyone?
    i'll tell u once fexplorer becomes avaliable

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ashburn, VA/Rockville, MD
    Posts
    9,326
    Device(s)
    BB9700
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by angel_wing0
    i'll tell u once fexplorer becomes avaliable
    I downloaded the .sis but have been too lazy to fill out the certificate....and I've heard that even after that the .sis wasnt working. I cant wait though!

  11. #41
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    GTA/Markham
    Posts
    75,452
    Device(s)
    Nokia N82 Titanium (Finland)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido (Fido-2-Fido!)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AteFifty
    I downloaded the .sis but have been too lazy to fill out the certificate....and I've heard that even after that the .sis wasnt working. I cant wait though!
    yeah cuz its for s60v2 not s60v3...

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ashburn, VA/Rockville, MD
    Posts
    9,326
    Device(s)
    BB9700
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by angel_wing0
    yeah cuz its for s60v2 not s60v3...
    I thought the beta was an unsigned v3?

  13. #43
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    GTA/Markham
    Posts
    75,452
    Device(s)
    Nokia N82 Titanium (Finland)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido (Fido-2-Fido!)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AteFifty
    I thought the beta was an unsigned v3?
    no it turned out to be s60v2...else u will be seeing fexplorer beta reviews left right up and down

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ashburn, VA/Rockville, MD
    Posts
    9,326
    Device(s)
    BB9700
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by angel_wing0
    no it turned out to be s60v2...else u will be seeing fexplorer beta reviews left right up and down
    well that certainly makes sense.....fortunately for me it was preinstalled on my n850i

  15. #45
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    GTA/Markham
    Posts
    75,452
    Device(s)
    Nokia N82 Titanium (Finland)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido (Fido-2-Fido!)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AteFifty
    well that certainly makes sense.....fortunately for me it was preinstalled on my n850i
    where are the pics now there? me want see!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Bookmarks