Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Rogers Pay as you go in less than a month

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    398
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers Pay as you go in less than a month

    Rogers have confirmed the date of January 28 2003 as the launch of gsm Pay As You Go. This was listed in Felix today.
    Who is your Daddy and what does he do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,682
    Device(s)
    Ericsson T39mc, Samsung D508
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good to know

    thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    352
    Feedback Score
    0
    what are the activation fees for gsm pay as you go? Just buy a simcard and thats it? or are there any other fees with it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    909
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's good. Whenever I go to rural area where Fido is not available, I can just plug the Rogers SIM and that's it!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    82
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S Vibrant T959
    Carrier(s)
    Oman Mobile
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    This is great news.... i do a fair amount of rural travel... and do i miss the flexiblity of having my cell phone... due to that FIDO does not cover the rural areas.

    But.... i would not leave FIDO for Rogers.... simply because of the quality of covers of the GSM system in the urban centres... and also the rates that they have..... and the no contract policy.... and the world wide coverage policies that FIDO has in place.

    This will also let FIDO users a chance to check out the urban coverage that Rogers offers.... we have heard so much of the black out spots on there system... it would be great to test it myself...

    Thanks....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,573
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6190
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually this might benefit FIDO in a way. If people care about the quality of the coverage, a lot of customers would probably switch over to FIDO on postpaid and when they leave the city they just insert a ROGERS' sim on prepaid.
    The Master of Your Domain

    My Feedback

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    681
    Device(s)
    R520
    Feedback Score
    0

    FOR FIDO ...

    you can always switch to an analog phone in rural area. I am pretty sure that analog is better than Rogers GSM in rural area.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    398
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: FOR FIDO ...

    Originally posted by pcmonkeyhead
    you can always switch to an analog phone in rural area. I am pretty sure that analog is better than Rogers GSM in rural area.
    Ewww. analog? Scratchy service, no digital features?
    I don't think topo many will go for that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Back in St. Catharines
    Posts
    236
    Device(s)
    NOKIA 6133
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers GSM (yay!)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Re: FOR FIDO ...

    Originally posted by Heero Yuy
    Ewww. analog? Scratchy service, no digital features?
    I don't think topo many will go for that.
    Well, analog isn't THAT bad, but the lack of everyday features that we use like call display and such does make analog annoying.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,470
    Device(s)
    RIM Electron for Rogers
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by IcY_ViRuS
    what are the activation fees for gsm pay as you go? Just buy a simcard and thats it? or are there any other fees with it?
    if you get it done in store or if you downgrade from a plan to paygo there is always a 50$ fee.... but call the number yourself or do it on the rogers site and voila no fee
    warning tho the voice automated "assistant" has anIQ of 6
    etting bigger and pregnater by the minute


    Pin: 20542df9

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    398
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by RogersOrleans
    warning tho the voice automated "assistant" has anIQ of 6
    Lol!!!! you're giving it a little too much credit aren't you? I would say more like 2

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,470
    Device(s)
    RIM Electron for Rogers
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Heero Yuy
    Lol!!!! you're giving it a little too much credit aren't you? I would say more like 2
    yeah well since it is really stupid there's a trick that'll save you like 10 minutes at the least....
    the part where she says "please say the name of the city and proving for your address" (or whatever she says)
    you then say "blah blah blah"
    then she says "I'm sorry I did not get that please repeat"
    and again you say "blah blah blah"
    it goes on once or twice more and then se says "it's okay I won't take your name and address right now"
    and bang no name no address..... and 10 precious minutes of your time are given back to you along with your sanity

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    4,726
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by RogersOrleans
    10 precious minutes of your time are given back to you along with your sanity
    LOL. bad memories !!!!!!!!!!

Bookmarks