Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Uber and GV (data only sim): Works in Europe but not America

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    657
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Uber and GV (data only sim): Works in Europe but not America

    3months ago i could finally verify my gv # with uber.
    but when i try to get an uber, it gives me an error at the end just before it assigns me a car. (i think i wrote about that here.)
    lyft still worked so i havent tried since.

    well, i'm in europe now. no lyft, just uber in this area.
    used intl sim (data only). uber works! i got to my destination no problem.
    have not changed any settings in uber.

    fyi: suggested tip amounts for $8 ride here are .50, 1, 1.50.
    forgot (and refreshing) tipping isnt common here

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    16,025
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wow! That's very odd. But thanks for the report.

    I know I had to work with Uber support to get it to work with my GV # back when I first got an account in 2017.

    Here are 2 (of many) posts I made in a thread regarding the issue. But obviously, a lot might have changed since 2017, and I have no idea if Uber support is as responsive now as it was then.

    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    I tried to use Uber for the first time last week. The setup and verification using the GV # I've used since 2009 was successfully completed. But when I requested an Uber ride, it was rejected as an invalid #. Because I no longer have a real cell #, since I use GV + Hangouts 100% over data only, we quickly installed the app on my wife's phone, applied a first time user coupon, and it worked fine with her T-Mo #.

    However, due to the IDIOTIC way Uber will allow an account to be set up and verified with a GV #, with no indication of any problem, but then suddenly won't allow it when requesting a ride, I gave our next ~$150 in ride costs to Lyft, which worked just fine with my GV #.

    In the process of using rideshare for the first time, I found out that Lyft gives a much larger percentage of the fare cost to their drivers compared to Uber, so we will only use Lyft in the future, if/when the next time comes that we need to use a rideshare service.
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    I contacted Uber support. They are quite responsive and reply fairly quickly, at least that has been the case today.

    The 1st response said "We noticed you are requesting to use a type of phone number that our system does not support. Numbers such as Google Voice or VOIP numbers are not compatible with our system. You will need to update your phone number to a different mobile phone number if you want to continue." I replied and said I don't have a real mobile phone # and asked to have my issue forwarded to a higher level of support.

    I soon got a reply from a different rep asking me to "provide a screenshot of your mobile carrier and also your mobile number". I sent a screenshot of About Phone>Network, which showed AT&T as the network service provider, and a screenshot of the Hangouts settings page showing my GV #.

    I received another reply from another rep stating, "I've manually verified your mobile number". Because I always like to double check, I sent another message for this to be confirmed, and received another reply from yet again a different rep stating, "upon reviewing your account, I could see that everything is good to go from our end".

    Since Uber allows free cancellation within 2-5 minutes of a ride request, I did just do a test ride request, and it seemed successful, and then I cancelled the ride.

    So, I'm hoping the issue is fixed for me and that I'll be able to use the Uber app with my GV # from now on.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    657
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    i'm back in the usa.
    i'm now using freedompop's legacy 1gig/month data only sim.
    works with uber now!

    I took it without a problem. (it was cheaper than Lyft this time)
    Last edited by fstuff; 12-16-2022 at 08:37 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    16,025
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nice! Perhaps Uber has fixed the issue with their system.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    657
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fstuff View Post
    3months ago i could finally verify my gv # with uber.
    but when i try to get an uber, it gives me an error at the end just before it assigns me a car. (i think i wrote about that here.)
    lyft still worked so i havent tried since.

    well, i'm in europe now. no lyft, just uber in this area.
    used intl sim (data only). uber works! i got to my destination no problem.
    have not changed any settings in uber.

    fyi: suggested tip amounts for $8 ride here are .50, 1, 1.50.
    forgot (and refreshing) tipping isnt common here
    i'm now in south america using the same intl data only sim.

    uber doesnt work.
    same stupid error... phone # not recognized or something like that.
    no idea why it worked while in Lisbon.

    How to get ahold of someone in Uber and talk to?
    or web chat?

Similar Threads

  1. Will a 5GB Data Plan SIM work in an iPhone?
    By albolabris in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 03:00 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2009, 05:30 PM
  3. Would Nokia N95 Data plan SIM work in Iphone???
    By bubba67 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-16-2009, 08:47 PM
  4. Nokia 1110i works in Europe but not in US
    By DunkirkSystems in forum Nokia
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 10:31 AM
  5. i930 sim works in i870, but i cannot access internet....
    By shamrock in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 01:51 AM

Bookmarks