Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does VoLTE Require or Use Data?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    84
    Feedback Score
    0

    Does VoLTE Require or Use Data?

    I use Page Plus' Pay-As-You-Go plan. I keep mobile data turned off. Does VoLTE require me to have mobile data turned on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,864
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Normally, VoLTE will not need mobile data enabled because the phones does not see it as data. Plus it will not use data on your plan too.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,227
    Carrier(s)
    taking Mobi out for a test drive
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had a similar concern and this question of VoLTE requiring data was well answered in this thread.
    If you think the pandemic is bad now, just wait. Doctors tell us the next variant plays the accordion.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    6,566
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by blilb View Post
    I use Page Plus' Pay-As-You-Go plan. I keep mobile data turned off. Does VoLTE require me to have mobile data turned on?
    I also have PP paygo. No, you do not need to have data turned on for voice calls or texts. Calls and texts do use data, but the system "knows" that it is for calls and texts and does not charge your balance for data.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    124
    Carrier(s)
    Page Plus, Liberty Wrls., T-Mobile, TRU SIM, Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    I also have PP paygo. No, you do not need to have data turned on for voice calls or texts. Calls and texts do use data, but the system "knows" that it is for calls and texts and does not charge your balance for data.
    Ditto operating system updates.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    4,372
    Device(s)
    LG Aristo 2 Plus (T-Mo); Moto G Power 2020 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    No logged/charged data use for OS updates? Can anyone else back this up?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-26-2012, 08:19 AM
  2. Does AT&T navigator use data the whole trip?
    By soulweaponry in forum Apple
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 12:11 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-24-2009, 01:02 AM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-20-2008, 02:55 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2006, 03:07 PM

Bookmarks