Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Phone Shows 5G But Connected To LTE?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    BTA-44: MTA-29: MSA-41: PEA-40: CMA-41: BEA-78: MEA-24
    Posts
    5,822
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S21 Ultra, Galaxy S10+, Galaxy S8, LG K7, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6, iPhone 4S, iPhone 4, iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0

    Phone Shows 5G But Connected To LTE?

    Anyone know why the phone would show 5G (guess that means it's available) but per Cell Mapper, LTE Discovery, and service mode its actually connected to LTE? I realize NSA means there is an LTE anchor but you would think if 5G is available then the phone would connect to it. (Screenshots available) Name:  Screenshot_20210419-174840_LTE%20Discovery.jpeg
Views: 89
Size:  38.0 KBName:  Screenshot_20210419-174850_CellMapper.jpeg
Views: 96
Size:  38.9 KBName:  Screenshot_20210419-174905_Service%20mode%20RIL.jpeg
Views: 94
Size:  39.8 KB

    Sent from my SM-G998U1 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T Unlimited Elite & Unlimited Starter
    HBOMAX

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,999
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am wondering if that is At&t's famous "5GE" or fake 5G, just like they did with 4G previously.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    4,669
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just upper layer indicator showing 5G. Very common actually. That means 5G is active on a neighboring site within the TAC. Try running a speedtest and toggling back to service mode you may see B12 drop and n5 appear in the nr field.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    4,669
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just took this on the site close to home. n5 is deployed on it but sometimes it doesn't activate even though 5G is still being displayed.

    Attachment 168533

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,346
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's upper layer indicator from the LTE anchor cell that causes the 5G icon to show up on most phones (Config D).
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    BTA-44: MTA-29: MSA-41: PEA-40: CMA-41: BEA-78: MEA-24
    Posts
    5,822
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S21 Ultra, Galaxy S10+, Galaxy S8, LG K7, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6, iPhone 4S, iPhone 4, iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 10mm View Post
    Just upper layer indicator showing 5G. Very common actually. That means 5G is active on a neighboring site within the TAC. Try running a speedtest and toggling back to service mode you may see B12 drop and n5 appear in the nr field.
    Yea I did see n5 appear in next to NR Band. So a particular TAC may be labeled as 5G meaning there are towers that have 5G but the specific tower I'm on may only have LTE. Am I understanding that correctly? Name:  Screenshot_20210419-180956_Service%20mode%20RIL.jpeg
Views: 59
Size:  38.8 KB

    Sent from my SM-G998U1 using HoFo mobile app

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    922
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shortyd999 View Post
    Anyone know why the phone would show 5G (guess that means it's available) but per Cell Mapper, LTE Discovery, and service mode its actually connected to LTE? I realize NSA means there is an LTE anchor but you would think if 5G is available then the phone would connect to it. (Screenshots available) Name:  Screenshot_20210419-174840_LTE%20Discovery.jpeg
Views: 89
Size:  38.0 KBName:  Screenshot_20210419-174850_CellMapper.jpeg
Views: 96
Size:  38.9 KBName:  Screenshot_20210419-174905_Service%20mode%20RIL.jpeg
Views: 94
Size:  39.8 KB

    Sent from my SM-G998U1 using HoFo mobile app
    That is how NR 5G works. It depends on LTE...
    If you are at&t, then att's 5Ge actually is LTE....
    At&t's 4G is real 3G ...
    Everything on at&t is fake


    Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Androided; 04-19-2021 at 11:54 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    4,669
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shortyd999 View Post
    Yea I did see n5 appear in next to NR Band. So a particular TAC may be labeled as 5G meaning there are towers that have 5G but the specific tower I'm on may only have LTE. Am I understanding that correctly?

    Sent from my SM-G998U1 using HoFo mobile app
    Pretty much yes. Sometimes your phone will latch onto B12/14 instead of n5 but the upper layer indicator still shows 5G. The T-Mobile site close to my house shows 5G while on B2 or 66 primary but the tower hasn't been upgraded yet but other surrounding sites in the TAC have been. I actually see this on all 3 carriers as well.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    961
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad, Netgear Nighthawk mobile hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    (Un?)fortunately, it’s become a Thing to display 5G in a status bar if 5G is available, not necessarily if it’s being used, as a battery life extension technique. The less energy-intensive LTE connection is used when the phone is locked or not doing anything data-intensive, and the device switches immediately to the available 5G connection if anything intense begins, such as video streaming or large file downloading.

    Personally I wish the indicator had an option to only show which connection is being actively used, but I understand the need to gloss over the details for the sake of the tech illiterate folks who would get confused and upset by their data indicator flickering back and forth like that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,999
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Technically, if At&t wanted they could make the phone show 11G. Doesn't mean that it actually exists.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    BTA-44: MTA-29: MSA-41: PEA-40: CMA-41: BEA-78: MEA-24
    Posts
    5,822
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S21 Ultra, Galaxy S10+, Galaxy S8, LG K7, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6, iPhone 4S, iPhone 4, iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by VVivian View Post
    (Un?)fortunately, it’s become a Thing to display 5G in a status bar if 5G is available, not necessarily if it’s being used, as a battery life extension technique. The less energy-intensive LTE connection is used when the phone is locked or not doing anything data-intensive, and the device switches immediately to the available 5G connection if anything intense begins, such as video streaming or large file downloading.

    Personally I wish the indicator had an option to only show which connection is being actively used, but I understand the need to gloss over the details for the sake of the tech illiterate folks who would get confused and upset by their data indicator flickering back and forth like that.
    Ok, didn't know they were trying to help phones conserve battery life. So just because I might see the 5G and LTE iconw switch back and forth between each other in the status bar, nothing is really going on the background like that so phone isn't burning through battery life.

    Sent from my SM-G998U1 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Essential Phone Not Connecting to LTE Automatically
    By supercko in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-08-2017, 11:17 AM
  2. New Phone, Cannot Call/Text But Connects to Internet OK
    By Blue Violet in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-06-2016, 04:54 PM
  3. Need help. Can't connect to LTE despite having an LTE phone
    By Foxtrot5 in forum AT&T Prepaid (formerly GoPhone)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-23-2013, 05:18 PM
  4. Bell Bought Note 2 but not connecting to LTE in my area
    By mau108 in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-31-2012, 03:58 PM
  5. Cell phone (v400) can't connect to PC.
    By Actaeon in forum Motorola
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-31-2004, 08:25 PM

Bookmarks