Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Google Play Services Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0

    Google Play Services Issue

    I tried to update the apps on my LG Fiesta 2 and it kept saying they wouldn't work unless I updated Google Play Services. It recommended that I dump my caches. So, dumped my caches and tried to update GPS. It still won't work. I rebooted the phone, no change.

    I tested another phone I haven't updated in awhile (LG Stylo 3) and it seems ok. I updated a few apps, Google Voice one of them. No error messages.

    I have two Google accounts on the F2 and both are behaving the same.

    There are a number of reviews on the Google Play Services page that indicate that others are having trouble too.

    On one of my Google accounts on the Fiesta 2, the updates page says "no updates available" and the installed apps tab doesn't show any apps.

    If I go into Apps on the phone and try to click through to the Google Play Store from the bottom of the page it says app not found/retry. Yet I am able to load the Playstore using the homescreen widget/icon.

    I saw a review somewhere that said their problems cleared up when they updated Chrome, so I tried to and it says it can't update. I tried to update Google and it wouldn't at first, then it suddenly appeared on the available updates page and I was able to update it. The Fiesta still won't update anything else.

    Chrome finally appeared on the updates page and updated, but I went back to try to update Play Services and it still pops up the error message.

    My other phones seem to be updating okay. Older Fiestas, Moto e5, LG Solo, those update fine. No error messages.

    The Fiesta 2 is a never activated Simple Mobile that I've been using only occasionally on WiFi.

    Anyone else having Google Play Services issues?











    Sent from my LGL163BL using HoFo mobile app

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tried resetting the F2 by holding the power button down but it doesn't reboot.

    I was able to post to the forum on the F2 but it gave me a message saying the HoFo app crashed. Thought I lost the post but it was posted, it just was missing the error message screen shot.

    I am thinking I may have to do a soft reset of phone settings.



    Sent from my LGL84VL using HoFo mobile app

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Here's the error message screen shot if it loads this time.... Name:  Capture%2B_2021-03-27-09-04-25.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  29.6 KB

    Sent from my LGL163BL using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,611
    Feedback Score
    0
    My GPS usually updates by itself when I connect to wifi even though I have autoupdate turned off. It's one of the google apps that does it's thing even if you have auto update apps turned off in Play Store.
    Just a shot in the dark but go into your apps though settings, not in PlayStore.
    Go to the GPS app and click it for app info. There's a setting "Modify system settings". Is that set to YES ?
    Don't know if that has the affect but worth a check.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think I may wait to reset my Fiesta 2. Soft reset is for network settings. A hard reset takes it back to factory and have to reinstall all accounts & apps, etc.

    If this is a Play Services issue then I may be able to just use the apps on the phone as-is without resetting them.

    "Maybe if I wait it will magically fix itself just like it magically broke"



    Right.

    Sent from my LGL163BL using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    My GPS usually updates by itself when I connect to wifi even though I have autoupdate turned off. It's one of the google apps that does it's thing even if you have auto update apps turned off in Play Store.
    Just a shot in the dark but go into your apps though settings, not in PlayStore.
    Go to the GPS app and click it for app info. There's a setting "Modify system settings". Is that set to YES ?
    Don't know if that has the affect but worth a check.
    Thanks for the suggestion. Mine is set to YES.

    I dumped the caches again on it and Playstore.



    Sent from my LGL163BL using HoFo mobile app

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    I decided since the apps & info on the F2 are duplicated on my other devices, I'd hard factory reset it.

    I removed the SIM and ejected the SD card first.

    The reset seems to be successful. I'm in the process of setting up the phone and installing the apps/accounts. No error messages yet.





    Sent from my LGL84VL using HoFo mobile app

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7,115
    Feedback Score
    0
    Too late now. But I was going to say get a copy of the new version of GPS & side load it.
    I will be Judged on how I helped the poor, sick & others in need; strangers & loved ones alike.

    My plans:
    Visible (Verizon) UTT & Unlimited Data $25/mo
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.03.23

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    The phone is set up now and seems functional. I don't know what happened but the system must have developed a fluke.

    Feels like a new phone.

    At least if it happens again I'll know what to do.



    Sent from my LGL163BL using HoFo mobile app

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,611
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good to hear. At least on my Android 7 the GooglePlayServices is a core google app/service. It's not one in your PlayStore apps list. You can't even go into your phones settings/apps to force stop or disable it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    2,696
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    Good to hear. At least on my Android 7 the GooglePlayServices is a core google app/service. It's not one in your PlayStore apps list. You can't even go into your phones settings/apps to force stop or disable it.
    I tried to disable Goo Play Services before I did the hard reset and got a message saying it had to be disabled to be uninstalled... Couldn't do either. But am just glad that issue is taken care of.

    Thanks for checking in. Maybe someone else with the problem will be helped.



    Sent from my LGL423DL using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Galaxy S4 Google Play Edition Issues
    By bmw635 in forum Samsung
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-25-2016, 04:08 PM
  2. Battery drain - Google Play services
    By opus543 in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2015, 05:10 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2015, 02:35 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2015, 05:16 PM
  5. How to un-disable Google Play Services?
    By TnSlim in forum Android OS Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-03-2015, 10:01 AM

Bookmarks