Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: HD voice for calls to the Rogers network (outgoing only for now)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR 64 GB (iOS 14.3)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0

    HD voice for calls to the Rogers network (outgoing only for now)

    Someone on Reddit mentioned that HD voice works for Bell-to-Rogers calls but not the other way around. This is definitely a new thing so it'll most likely work both ways. And just like HD voice interoperability between Rogers/Fido and Freedom Mobile, it requires VoLTE/Wi-Fi calling to be on at both ends.

    This is a big deal because HD voice (AMR-WB) calls sound considerably better than standard AMR-NB calls. I don't know if it works between Bell and Freedom Mobile; however, it does work between Bell and TELUS and that has been the case for years. I assume HD voice will work for Virgin Mobile-to-Rogers calls.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    And just like HD voice interoperability between Rogers/Fido and Freedom Mobile, it requires VoLTE/Wi-Fi calling to be on at both ends.
    Pixel phones have an HD indicator when on a call which denotes whenever HD voice is active and I've been able to get HD voice between Freedom mobile and Fido (Rogers) even when the Freedom Mobile user is not using a VoLTE device.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR 64 GB (iOS 14.3)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tornado15550 View Post
    Pixel phones have an HD indicator when on a call which denotes whenever HD voice is active and I've been able to get HD voice between Freedom mobile and Fido (Rogers) even when the Freedom Mobile user is not using a VoLTE device.
    I tested it extensively with an iPhone XR and LG G8X ThinQ (with Field Test > IMS Setting > slot 0 > Debug screen > "Audio Codec Info Screen"). In my testing, I found that HD voice wasn't working when either end had VoLTE/Wi-Fi calling off. I also noticed reduced call quality which is what prompted me to confirm it anyway because I assumed it would work regardless. I even used my brother's Pixel 4a which shows the HD icon you mentioned and it didn't show up when he called a family member with a OnePlus 3T (a device that doesn't have VoLTE/Wi-Fi calling support with Freedom Mobile). HD voice over 3G calling doesn't seem to be working anymore on Freedom Mobile's network.

    I'll test it all again when I get a chance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR 64 GB (iOS 14.3)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Update: I was able to confirm Bell-to-Rogers HD voice with my buddies. I'm with Fido and they're with Virgin Mobile and Bell. Both incoming calls sounded great and both outgoing calls were noticeably worse.

    Bell-to-Rogers = AMR-WB (HD voice)
    Rogers-to-Bell = AMR-NB

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,764
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 31337hacker View Post
    Update: I was able to confirm Bell-to-Rogers HD voice with my buddies. I'm with Fido and they're with Virgin Mobile and Bell. Both incoming calls sounded great and both outgoing calls were noticeably worse.

    Bell-to-Rogers = AMR-WB (HD voice)
    Rogers-to-Bell = AMR-NB
    For some reason I feel it's Bell being the holdup in the reverse direction. Anyone have any details on this? Or have tried between Telus and Rogers?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR 64 GB (iOS 14.3)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by @Class View Post
    For some reason I feel it's Bell being the holdup in the reverse direction. Anyone have any details on this? Or have tried between Telus and Rogers?
    Considering that it works both ways between Rogers and Freedom Mobile, I'd say it's far more likely that Bell is the one holding it up.

    As for TELUS, it doesn't work both ways. I tested that recently too. I wouldn't be surprised if it never works and if it ever does, then it'll be a long while before it's implemented. TELUS is the slowest out of the Big 3 when it comes to anything. They took embarrassingly long to bring VoLTE and Wi-Fi calling support to Koodo while Rogers and Bell had it for their subsidiaries from the beginning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,806
    Carrier(s)
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting.
    I spend a lot of time talking to users of Rogers phones, and I'm certain both incoming calls to me and outgoing calls to him have been HD Voice nearly every time for months. There's a big difference in sound quality and companding between HD and non HD on Roger-Bell calls.

    Almost every call between my boss (Rogers) and me (Bell) has been HD Voice for months.

    Not every call is, but most are.

    I'm in Toronto, if that matters.
    Cheeri'o...
    Frankie...

    Please Note: I do not work for Bell. I also do not work for any wireless retail outlet.
    Do not ask me about promotions or offers from wireless providers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,764
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by frankie5string View Post
    Interesting.
    I spend a lot of time talking to users of Rogers phones, and I'm certain both incoming calls to me and outgoing calls to him have been HD Voice nearly every time for months. There's a big difference in sound quality and companding between HD and non HD on Roger-Bell calls.

    Almost every call between my boss (Rogers) and me (Bell) has been HD Voice for months.

    Not every call is, but most are.

    I'm in Toronto, if that matters.
    Hmm if that's the case then it's just Telus who's left out.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    247
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max, iPad 8th Gen, MacBook Pro mid-2012 13”, Apple TV 4.
    Carrier(s)
    ROGERS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 31337hacker View Post
    I tested it extensively with an iPhone XR and LG G8X ThinQ (with Field Test > IMS Setting > slot 0 > Debug screen > "Audio Codec Info Screen"). In my testing, I found that HD voice wasn't working when either end had VoLTE/Wi-Fi calling off. I also noticed reduced call quality which is what prompted me to confirm it anyway because I assumed it would work regardless. I even used my brother's Pixel 4a which shows the HD icon you mentioned and it didn't show up when he called a family member with a OnePlus 3T (a device that doesn't have VoLTE/Wi-Fi calling support with Freedom Mobile). HD voice over 3G calling doesn't seem to be working anymore on Freedom Mobile's network.

    I'll test it all again when I get a chance.
    Did you check that while in a call? And what do you dial to access Field Test?

    Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR 64 GB (iOS 14.3)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TwitchyPuppy View Post
    Did you check that while in a call? And what do you dial to access Field Test?

    Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    I tested it during a call but I didn't get a chance to test it again.

    Code:
    *#546368#*850#
    You can substitute 850 for other 3-digit model codes. That one is specific to the LG G8X ThinQ (LMG850UM2).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,764
    Feedback Score
    0
    Still no HD in either direction between Public and Rogers... What's the holdup Telus?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-09-2007, 06:56 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2007, 07:28 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 06:38 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-04-2004, 09:16 AM
  5. GD88 Wap instructions for GPRS on the Rogers Network
    By bubbasnafu in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2003, 11:18 AM

Bookmarks