Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Which Current (LTE+NR) Android Smartphones can Band Lock w/o Root?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA USA
    Posts
    232
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 8, OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Which Current (LTE+NR) Android Smartphones can Band Lock w/o Root?

    I am considering retiring my OP6T due to the battery life going into the tank the past couple months. However, I'm not keen on getting a new one. I spend a lot of time band mapping and the fact that I can't lock LTE bands on the 6T (w/o root) is my biggest gripe on the phone. I did root it once before, but I loaded an update which broke root. When I tried to root it again I nearly bricked my phone. So I haven't tried again.

    I believe Samsung Smartphones allow band selection/locking w/o rooting. I am considering an S20 FE, but haven't confirm that can do it yet.

    Thank you for any tips or letting me know which 2020 smartphone is the best for mapping LTE and NR coverage. Since the NR data seem rather sparse locally, I want to fix that and my brother got another iPhone (ugh).

    Best,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,148
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Have you tried installing "shortcut master". I band lock on OP 8 5g.
    I can't band lock on 5g itself, but specific bands on LTE such as B41

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,148
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Op 8 band selector. I used to have similar on LG G6 and G7. Much of it was disabled on LG VelvetName:  Screenshot_20201127-114742.jpg
Views: 47
Size:  30.9 KB

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA USA
    Posts
    232
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 8, OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    Have you tried installing "shortcut master". I band lock on OP 8 5g.
    I can't band lock on 5g itself, but specific bands on LTE such as B41

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app
    Thanks! I haven't seen that one. Let me try it on my 6T. No rooting needed?

    Edit: I loaded it and looks like I need to find some instructions. I see the many results on the secret code explorer. Which code do you use for the above? (presuming it's in the 6T)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,148
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    On Shortcutmaster lite.. I ran "search" and entered "band". It brings up some apps. Com.example.tmo (2nd from the bottom) brings up the menu.Name:  Screenshot_20201128-140523.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  24.7 KB

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA USA
    Posts
    232
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 8, OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried this on my 6T, but the settings didn't stick. I must be missing a step.

    Also, I tried an SE but I didn't like it at all, so it's going back. Did you have a 6T before going to the 8T? Trying to go from OP to Samsung wasn't smooth at all and I was so annoyed by many things that Samsung does. So, I'm considering the 8T now if it won't upset the cart (and the wallet) too much.

    Thanks,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,148
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had an LG G7 and LG Velvet (returned for Op 8)


    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 30
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 02:03 AM
  2. Which Current VZW Phones (If Any) Can Still Be Actived on AC II?
    By Dust N Bones in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-22-2009, 08:08 PM
  3. Which current Quad Band has best reception and quality?
    By trina27 in forum AT&T Regular Phones
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-25-2007, 08:52 PM
  4. Which current Telus phone(s) can I use to connect laptop to Internet?
    By Schmongo in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-24-2004, 08:17 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 10:18 PM

Bookmarks