Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Network Integration Question

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,140
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    In my area, many Sprint and T-Mobile sites are either colocated or within a couple hundred feet. There's a handful that Sprint have that would be good additions, usually at the edges of service area. Either way, service will improve

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    514
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE (2016), Chromebook
    Carrier(s)
    Tello, US Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    In my area, many Sprint and T-Mobile sites are either colocated or within a couple hundred feet. There's a handful that Sprint have that would be good additions, usually at the edges of service area. Either way, service will improve

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app
    This seems to be the intention by T-Mobile at least.
    Drako Swiftclaw

    Webmaster for Drako's Website Services
    Review Team Member for Drako's Wireless Review
    Independent Tech for DTech Seattle

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15,331
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmac32here View Post

    "Will be decommissioned and sold to Dish Wireless per merger agreement within 3 years of merger closure.[116]"
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T-Mobi...llular_network
    The wikipedia page says that but if you look at the footnote cited for that quote, 116, the article cited does not say that.

    The article says instead: "After the closing of T-Mobile and Sprint’s merger and the integration of the new T-Mobile, Dish will have the option to take on leases for “certain cell sites and retail locations” that’ve been decommissioned by the new T-Mobile. These leases could last for five years."

    https://www.tmonews.com/2019/07/just...sprint-merger/

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,140
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting handoff tonight in Woodland Hills. Canoga between Victory and VanowenName:  Screenshot_20201120-175546.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  36.6 KB

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,634
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max Series 4 Apple Watch
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    Love to see those formercanuck!

    Today up here in the upper desert I purposely drove to a spot that I knew was weak for T-Mobile for years.

    As I pulled up I suddenly got full bars on my iPhone 11 Pro which was pleasantly surprising.

    I ran a Speedtest on Ookla. Although the speeds were nothing to write home about, I noticed that Ookla said: “Sprint,” instead of T-Mobile as the cellular carrier. I assume that meant that I was roaming on that network?




    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    “The Internet wasn’t meant to be metered in bits and bytes, so it’s insane that wireless companies are still making you buy it this way. The rate plan is dead — it’s a fossil from a time when wireless was metered by every call or text.” John Legere 1/5/2017

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,140
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes. Sprint and T-Mobile are technically one company now, and roaming is enabled, but not always selectable ( by design) at least for 'actual' Sprint 310-120

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,634
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max Series 4 Apple Watch
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    I’m loving this!

    I activated the new R15 SIM on my iPhone 11 Pro and drove on an old desolate fire road between Apple Valley and Big Bear (Fawnskin).

    On Automatic I had no service but I was able to manually select Sprint and had Sprint LTE service most of the way. Middle of nowhere!

    This isn’t my video but it’s the road I took:

    https://youtu.be/5ni56ma2W3k








    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,140
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Video makes it look better than the switchbacks by Cushenbury, but more dust. Sprint does appear to have a site downtown Big Bear (VZ colo?) Wonder if they'll keep it. T-mobile coverage in Big Bear was kinda hit or miss to begin with

    Sent from my IN2017 using HoFo mobile app

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2020, 04:44 AM
  2. network integration question
    By tehdee in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 05:19 PM
  3. Network search Question
    By Aiya in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2002, 11:40 PM
  4. Network Searching Question???
    By apaman in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2002, 05:14 PM
  5. Network Search question
    By apaman in forum AT&T
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-02-2002, 07:38 PM

Bookmarks