Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Rogers 600 Mhz Deployment Starting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,744
    Feedback Score
    0

    Smile Rogers 600 Mhz Deployment Starting

    Looks like Rogers is starting to deploy 600 Mhz here in Montreal. Nothing on Steven Nikkel - Canadian Cell Sites that's near me or 600 Mhz at all for that matter...

    When doing a network selection with only Band 71 enabled, I see VideoTron as well... Perhaps they're sharing?

    Name:  KGLN2CPl.jpg
Views: 119
Size:  30.5 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,581
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max Series 4 Apple Watch
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    How much 600 MHz spectrum do they own?


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    “The Internet wasn’t meant to be metered in bits and bytes, so it’s insane that wireless companies are still making you buy it this way. The rate plan is dead — it’s a fossil from a time when wireless was metered by every call or text.” John Legere 1/5/2017

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    716
    Device(s)
    i576, i355, i700+
    Carrier(s)
    MiKE
    Feedback Score
    0
    At home in Victoria, BC it has become all Band 71. I no longer see the Bands 4, 7, and 12 that was accustomed too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,744
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bmccull View Post
    At home in Victoria, BC it has become all Band 71. I no longer see the Bands 4, 7, and 12 that was accustomed too.
    Are you sure? You could force those bands and still see them present I think Rogers just have very strange camping and CA configurations. I also camp and often use 700 (band 12) inexplicably when higher bands are available that are faster and have ample signal strength...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,744
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by @TheRealDanny View Post
    How much 600 MHz spectrum do they own?


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    I believe they won licenses in every single market. When I was testing it was 10 Mhz wide. The annoying thing about Roger's speed is the lack of CA most times... It's really strange their network algorithm compared to Bell / Telus which pretty much *always* beats out rogers in terms of speeds because of this.

    Me on Rogers = Every band under the sun is available 2,4,5,7,12,41... No Carrier Aggregation (CA).
    Me on Telus = Every band under the sun is available 2,4,5,7,12 ... Carrier Aggregation Enabled!

    See my other thread for details

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,386
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting. I thought they had 20MHz of B71...unless they’re allocating 10MHz to LTE and the other 10 to 5G...


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,310
    Feedback Score
    0
    They have at least 10 MHz in every market. It's 10 MHz in Montreal, with Videotron holding the adjacent 15 MHz. So if they share, they have 25 MHz.

    In Toronto, they have 20 MHz, and in Vancouver they have 10 MHz.

    https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gs...g/sf11499.html
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    517
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I want to buy an international 5G capable Samsung Tab s7 Plus. I would like to use this tablet on 5G in Montreal with Rogers and I need to understand (from the experts) if it would work here.

    These are the bands it's capable of.

    5G-FDD 1800 MHz (n3)
    5G-FDD 2100 MHz (n1)
    5G-TDD 2500 MHz (n41)
    5G-TDD 3500 MHz (n78)
    5G-TDD 3700 MHz (n77)

    Thanks for your help
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    978
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    They only have n41 in downtown areas of some cities, so it would work there. Unfortunately, they do not provide this information publicly. If you aren't in a n41 area, it might work in the future for n77/78 if Rogers wins any spectrum in the auction this summer.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,310
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, from that list it's only n41 at the moment, but it all depends on what LTE anchor bands your tablet supports. If it's not the correct combo, you won't have any 5G, even if you're in 5G n41 coverage.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    517
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for your replies.

    Why must it be so complicated

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,744
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sheytoon View Post
    Yes, from that list it's only n41 at the moment, but it all depends on what LTE anchor bands your tablet supports. If it's not the correct combo, you won't have any 5G, even if you're in 5G n41 coverage.
    Makes sense without Stand Alone... Hoping someone at Rogers actually reads this and my other thread to adjust the CA thresholds as you suggested sheytoon!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,386
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good luck! Lol. It’s been like this for as long as I can remember.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,744
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Good luck! Lol. It’s been like this for as long as I can remember.
    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    I guess they don't adjust things as much as Bell'us then either. Sheytoon, have you sent your resume to Rogers?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,310
    Feedback Score
    0
    Rogers has a lot of talented people working there. I'm not that familiar with their network configuration, so it's hard to comment on why they're doing things a certain way.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-08-2018, 07:42 PM
  2. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-04-2018, 01:16 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2017, 08:33 PM
  4. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 04-20-2017, 09:40 AM
  5. Replies: 56
    Last Post: 05-23-2016, 09:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks