Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Thread: Tracfone just erased over 10GB of my data

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    100
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Moto E6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone (Verizon), Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    Somebody paid for that GB and Tracfone has no right to steal it.

    Just because you don't need something today, next week may be different.

    Mail a GB card to Carlos and see if that makes sense.

    OP may want to sell the airtime.
    I appreciate your comments. I don't think TracFone did it on purpose, it was either a glitch or the person who was helping me just entered the data wrong. Either way, it did upset me somewhat. I'm also not a big fan of being called a liar. TracFone is actually my main number and has always been. My usage is low enough that they make sense for me. I intend to keep the line, besides I just got a brand new Moto E6 from the Visible deal to replace my very old Moto G4 play. The GPS finally completely died on the G4 play, RIP. Yeah, I use outdated tech because I'm old.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by YaWho View Post
    One of the things I like about TracFone is that minutes/texts/data all carry over. I think that is what keeps a lot of people with TracFone for so long. I've been with them since at least 2006, I had to check my emails because I wasn't sure. Anyway, I've been building up the buckets for a long time. I like to have the extra buckets there just in case. An emergency, a vacation, whatever... I don't think I ever specifically bought just data, it just keeps building up over the years as I extend my expiration date which is in late 2023 now. So yeah, I would like that GB back. I understand some people may find that unreasonable.

    Not unreasonable at all, but is it worth the time and effort

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    157
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    I like (really dislike & am disgusted by) when TF steals mins/txt/data/exp they'll restore them a little at a time. Like in increments. It's total BS of TF & it's their SOP.
    The last time Tracfone 'lost' my data, they restored about 90%, only after I filed an FCC complaint. (I had plenty of documentation.) The claim was that the system maxed out at the amount restored, and more just wasn't possible.

    I agree that it's standard operating procedure for Tracfone to try to shortchange you, even when it's clearly a Tracfone error & they've admitted the error. It's the thing that bothers me most about Tracfone.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,894
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LCSJL View Post
    Not unreasonable at all, but is it worth the time and effort
    Exactly. Back in April 2015, I had about 6000/7500/7500 in my main phone's bucket. A week later, I happened to check the balance and I had about 6000/6000/6350. I lost 1500 texts and 1150 MB. I was kind of pissed off that TF "stole" those units without any kind of transfers/activities going on. But since I hardly use texts and data, I didn't bother fighting with TF to get them back.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    100
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Moto E6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone (Verizon), Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Exactly. Back in April 2015, I had about 6000/7500/7500 in my main phone's bucket. A week later, I happened to check the balance and I had about 6000/6000/6350. I lost 1500 texts and 1150 MB. I was kind of pissed off that TF "stole" those units without any kind of transfers/activities going on. But since I hardly use texts and data, I didn't bother fighting with TF to get them back.
    So this is a pattern of abuse whereby Tracfone imposes a sort of "tax" where they just blatantly steal from your buckets randomly.

    edit: Also, TracFone did not call me back yesterday as promised and I am still short 1GB of data.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    100
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Moto E6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone (Verizon), Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    I finally got back all my data. The last 1GB was added to my account.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,748
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm glad it worked out.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,894
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by YaWho View Post
    So this is a pattern of abuse whereby Tracfone imposes a sort of "tax" where they just blatantly steal from your buckets randomly.
    It used to be that TF Fraud Prevention Dept were suspicious of any account with balances over 5000 units and just "trimmed" some of them. You have to prove to them that you paid for those units to get them back, which most people couldn't. I agree that it's a form of accusing the customers of theft until they can prove their innocence. Fortunately they haven't done that lately, or raised the threshold to 10,000 or so. I still check/take screenshots of my balances every 1st of the month to monitor my usage and also to keep an eye on them.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,003
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's BS of TF & they haven't stopped because they get away with it 90%+ of the time.
    I will be Judged on how I helped the poor, sick & others in need; strangers & loved ones alike.

    Visible (Verizon) UTT & Unlimited Data $25/mo
    Liberty Wireless (T-Mobile) UTT 07.26.21
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.11.21
    Truphone (AT&T) every 180 days by 02.06.21

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,748
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think there's a reason why they chose Florida. In Virginia and elsewhere, they would've gotten their a's kicked.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    100
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Moto E6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone (Verizon), Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Fortunately they haven't done that lately, or raised the threshold to 10,000 or so.
    Maybe 10GB+ triggered something.

    Here is what happened for posterity:

    I did break HoFo's recommendations by trying to transfer on the website by activating a new SIM.
    It was on a Sunday 9/20 so I figured they were closed and I was eager to try the moto E6.
    Anyway, afterwards it said to leave the old phone on until it stops working (up to 2 business days).
    Then put the fresh SIM in the new phone.
    Well Monday passes and then on Tuesday 9/22 the old phone was still working at around 4PM CST.
    So I started a chat. She went through her checklist and nothing was working and then

    Mary Ann : Let me contact the other department regarding this to see if the account can be updated on our Billing System.
    Mary Ann : It seems like the account is not yet provisioned on our system.
    Mary Ann : We will be needing to schedule you a callback in at least 15 minutes to speak with you directly regarding this.
    Mary Ann : Our system is not yet updated with the new sim card on your account.
    Mary Ann : Right now you have:
    Total Data Balance 10.75 GB

    So chat ends.
    My account still shows 10.75GB (I've been checking all long)

    Later my phone rings. It is a woman from TracFone and I stupidly don't get a name or reference number but she fixes something so the phone works. I'm excited it finally works and I don't ask for my balances, duh

    As soon as she hangs up I check my balances and I have 9.77MB !

    I freak out and post this thread here, LOL

    Then I call Tracfone's main number. I'm told the system did the transfer automatically so I had 9.77MB before and after and I'm wrong. She transfers me to Corporate after I ask her to

    Corporate guy argues, checks some stuff and concludes I've been with them since 2015 (actually 2006) and he will add 10GB to my account because that is the max he can do. He adds it and my account shows 9.77GB, he says it's a conversion thing blah blah blah is there anything else I can do for you?

    Yeah, you could add more so my account shows 10.75GB. He flips out, I put the hammer down and he transfers me to higher up. She says they will add it tomorrow Wed. 9/23 and they will call me.

    Wed 9/23 no call

    Thurs 9/24 - I open a chat, give her the reference number from above she adds 1GB, I check my account and it shows 10.75GB exactly

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,894
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by YaWho View Post
    Corporate guy argues, checks some stuff and concludes I've been with them since 2015 (actually 2006) and he will add 10GB to my account because that is the max he can do. He adds it and my account shows 9.77GB, he says it's a conversion thing blah blah blah is there anything else I can do for you?

    Yeah, you could add more so my account shows 10.75GB.
    It IS a conversion thing. The max units (minutes, texts, MB) that a TF rep can add in a day is 10,000. Minutes and texts use the decimal system, so 10,000 is 10,000. But data uses the hexadecimal system, in which a K = 1024 (not 1000). A GB is 1K of MB. So when the TF guy added the data to your bucket, the max he could add was 10,000 MB, and 10,000 MB is 9.765GB (10,000 divided by 1024 is 9.765, rounded up as 9.77). Since that's the max a rep could add in one day, they had to wait until the next day to add the rest.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    100
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Moto E6
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone (Verizon), Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    It IS a conversion thing. The max units (minutes, texts, MB) that a TF rep can add in a day is 10,000. Minutes and texts use the decimal system, so 10,000 is 10,000. But data uses the hexadecimal system, in which a K = 1024 (not 1000). A GB is 1K of MB. So when the TF guy added the data to your bucket, the max he could add was 10,000 MB, and 10,000 MB is 9.765GB (10,000 divided by 1024 is 9.765, rounded up as 9.77). Since that's the max a rep could add in one day, they had to wait until the next day to add the rest.
    Yes, I understand the conversion. I didn't mean to imply he was incorrect, just explaining the small difference in the numbers. Anyway, I'm just glad it's over.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    328
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    It used to be that TF Fraud Prevention Dept were suspicious of any account with balances over 5000 units and just "trimmed" some of them. You have to prove to them that you paid for those units to get them back, which most people couldn't. I agree that it's a form of accusing the customers of theft until they can prove their innocence. Fortunately they haven't done that lately, or raised the threshold to 10,000 or so. I still check/take screenshots of my balances every 1st of the month to monitor my usage and also to keep an eye on them.
    I dont think there is a limit anymore as one of my managed numbers has 20k + minutes on it and its been there for months. i had a second with 40k that was a glitch (transferred sim and it moved the text to voice x10,). i ported that number to Visible as data is what was needed, not minutes as that line had 0 texts and 0 data and also expired in 2021.

    Sent from my F1 using Tapatalk

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    157
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    It IS a conversion thing. The max units (minutes, texts, MB) that a TF rep can add in a day is 10,000. Minutes and texts use the decimal system, so 10,000 is 10,000. But data uses the hexadecimal system, in which a K = 1024 (not 1000). A GB is 1K of MB. So when the TF guy added the data to your bucket, the max he could add was 10,000 MB, and 10,000 MB is 9.765GB (10,000 divided by 1024 is 9.765, rounded up as 9.77). Since that's the max a rep could add in one day, they had to wait until the next day to add the rest.
    Useful to know there's a cap. When I finally recovered my balances, all were in the 4000-6000 region, so none exceeded the 10,000 unit limit. Oddly, they over-credited me for minutes by several 100 units, and undercredited data, despite the minutes bucket being larger & apparently not hitting any limit on single-day additions.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2014, 08:09 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 02:20 AM
  3. Is it easy to go over 1GB of data?
    By Premium in forum Apple
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 08:36 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 09:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks