Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Visible as home internet? Speeds?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    257
    Feedback Score
    0

    Visible as home internet? Speeds?

    https://youtu.be/dXRd-YQykqo

    Anyone have or tried visible as home internet and what speeds are you seeing? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,709
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS, T-Mobile, RedPocket Verizon, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0

    Visible as home internet? Speeds?

    Quote Originally Posted by cnotes20191 View Post
    https://youtu.be/dXRd-YQykqo

    Anyone have or tried visible as home internet and what speeds are you seeing? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Will all depend on your area, signal, congestion etc.

    In town I’m lucky to see 1mbps directly on Verizon at times. But at my home with low signal I can see around 20mbps if I put the phone in the right spot.


    If you have a landbased ISP having cellular is useless unless you want it as a backup

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Phone: AT&T XS Silver 256GB. T-Mobile / MetroPCS
    Android device : Galaxy S9 RedPocket Verizon

    I am no longer a U.S.Cellular User.
    Speedtest in Knox.TN EvDo Rev.A

    My Photography www.hunterspad.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    257
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hyelton View Post
    Will all depend on your area, signal, congestion etc.

    In town I’m lucky to see 1mbps directly on Verizon at times. But at my home with low signal I can see around 20mbps if I put the phone in the right spot.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I’ve heard mixed things about visible throttling or not throttling speeds. Have you heard that? I watched that guys YouTube video but he doesn’t mention speeds he’s seeing. I know like you said it depends on location. Etc. I have Verizon and speeds are about 15 to 25 dL but looking for cheaper option. I’m also a little confused about his explanation. So I need a phone with visible service. Then a phone to be a remote. Why? Then a hotspot. Doesn’t the hotspot need a sim with service in it?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,519
    Feedback Score
    0
    you can ask or search here https://www.reddit.com/r/Visible/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    855
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cnotes20191 View Post
    I’ve heard mixed things about visible throttling or not throttling speeds. Have you heard that? I watched that guys YouTube video but he doesn’t mention speeds he’s seeing. I know like you said it depends on location. Etc. I have Verizon and speeds are about 15 to 25 dL but looking for cheaper option. I’m also a little confused about his explanation. So I need a phone with visible service. Then a phone to be a remote. Why? Then a hotspot. Doesn’t the hotspot need a sim with service in it?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    For Visible to work you need a phone that works with Visible. Not all Verizon phones work with Visible. Visible Sim does not work in a hotspot. Visible supposedly caps the Hotspot data speed at 5mb. Sometime it is and sometimes it is faster unless you are using one of the Visible phones then it will be 5mb. On Android it is supposed to be 1 connection connected to the hotspot. Apple does not have that restriction. Everyone’s performance will vary by location, time of day and type of device.


    Sent from my iPad using HoFo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,470
    Feedback Score
    0
    Visible is not designed to be a replacement for home internet.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,470
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    On Android it is supposed to be 1 connection connected to the hotspot. Apple does not have that restriction.
    Not true. The Android default is 10 connections and it can be changed to whatever you want:
    https://www.trybeweb.com.ng/2020/01/...d-Hotspot.html

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    855
    Feedback Score
    0
    Visible tries to override Android default settings and yes some Android phones on Visible the limit is 1 connection.

    Sent from my SHT-W09 using HoFo mobile app

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    81
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cnotes20191 View Post
    https://youtu.be/dXRd-YQykqo

    Anyone have or tried visible as home internet and what speeds are you seeing? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Please no it is not meant for that and you just screw up a good thing for everyone else

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,283
    Carrier(s)
    guess
    Feedback Score
    0
    What is the monthly cap?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,428
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cnotes20191 View Post
    I’m also a little confused about his explanation. So I need a phone with visible service. Then a phone to be a remote. Why? Then a hotspot. Doesn’t the hotspot need a sim with service in it?
    The device in the video is what can be called a repeater bridge, and just passes a WiFi signal through to different devices. The phone in service is the hotspot.

    BTW: There is another thread on this subject here in the Verizon forum:
    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...-phone-hotspot

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,428
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    For Visible to work you need a phone that works with Visible. Not all Verizon phones work with Visible.
    Why would a Verizon phone would not work with Visible? I can see that some MVNO phones would not, as they are not in the Verizon whitelist.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,185
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Why would a Verizon phone would not work with Visible? I can see that some MVNO phones would not, as they are not in the Verizon whitelist.
    says here - https://www.visible.com/help/compatible that the phone must be unlocked. then look at the list of android phones.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,470
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    Visible tries to override Android default settings and yes some Android phones on Visible the limit is 1 connection.
    I doubt that is true. However, then say that, don't just generalize and misinform that "Android limit is 1". like you said before:
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    On Android it is supposed to be 1 connection connected to the hotspot. Apple does not have that restriction.
    That's just not true as a general statement.


    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    says here - https://www.visible.com/help/compatible that the phone must be unlocked. then look at the list of android phones.
    So? The Verizon branded phones might be unlocked. Only if you didn't finish the payments it is kept locked.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    47
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T GoPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post
    I doubt that is true. However, then say that, don't just generalize and misinform that "Android limit is 1". like you said before:
    It is true. I run an unlocked 1+ 7 Pro direct from 1+ and it is limited to 1 device with no way to change.

    Quote Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post
    That's just not true as a general statement.
    Yes it is. This is a thread specifically about visible so making a general statement is already restricted to android phones on visible not all android phones.




    Quote Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post
    So? The Verizon branded phones might be unlocked. Only if you didn't finish the payments it is kept locked.
    With visible part of the issue is that it has to have VOLTE or it simply cannot work. Past that some unsupported phones can be made to work by adding the 4 APN's manually and some cannot. A friend got his S10+ working that way.

    As for home internet it would be hit or miss. Assume ping will always be around 100-150ms. I average 120. Download speeds are all over the map. I have hit as high as 122Mb download and as high as 60Mb upload at 3-5am (Separate speed tests.) During the day I average 10-25 down. I have been very pleased but I came from the 3Mb cricket unlimited.

    If using as home internet grab an asus router that supports usb tethering. (Not sure if all do). This is how a coworker does it.

    The 5mb limit on the hotspot is usually not there for me although it was temporarily about a week ago. Cycled airplane mode and it went away but as I don't tether much I can't say how often it is there.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. T-Mobile as home internet?
    By Guest459 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 01-18-2014, 08:50 AM
  2. Using WIND As Home Internet?
    By volodyan in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 03:42 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 11:22 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2005, 09:43 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 10:20 PM

Bookmarks