Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Unable to call certain numbers ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    58
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unable to call certain numbers ?

    I have an old cdma flip phone. It works fine, however I needed to contact a medical center today and instead got a message of : "welcome to verizon wireless, your call can not be completed as dialed"

    What could be the problem ? All other numbers in my area work fine.

    Thanks...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    391
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HardWird View Post
    I have an old cdma flip phone. It works fine, however I needed to contact a medical center today and instead got a message of : "welcome to verizon wireless, your call can not be completed as dialed"

    What could be the problem ? All other numbers in my area work fine.

    Thanks...
    Isn’t CDMA on a deprecation path? If I turn off LTE I get no signal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,711
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HardWird View Post
    I have an old cdma flip phone. It works fine, however I needed to contact a medical center today and instead got a message of : "welcome to verizon wireless, your call can not be completed as dialed"

    What could be the problem ? All other numbers in my area work fine.

    Thanks...
    Did you "dial" all ten digits for the call that failed? Since you got a Vz audio message, CDMA is still working at least to the point of getting that message.

    Otherwise, CDMA on Verizon is a dead end. It's time to move on to phones they support.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2,130
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HardWird View Post
    I have an old cdma flip phone. It works fine, however I needed to contact a medical center today and instead got a message of : "welcome to verizon wireless, your call can not be completed as dialed"

    What could be the problem ? All other numbers in my area work fine.

    Thanks...
    I'd guess that you dialed a non-working number.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles or Santa Cruz during the school year
    Posts
    1,258
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro, Galaxy S20+, Pixel 4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HardWird View Post
    I have an old cdma flip phone. It works fine, however I needed to contact a medical center today and instead got a message of : "welcome to verizon wireless, your call can not be completed as dialed"

    What could be the problem ? All other numbers in my area work fine.

    Thanks...
    Did you dial 1 before the area code, does that number work on other phones? Either way it's time to upgrade to a newer flip phone anyways, we will stop supporting CDMA phones on December 31st

    Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,286
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HardWird View Post
    All other numbers in my area work fine.
    Like was mentioned, the Area Code + 7 digit number must be used. Places like medical centers usually use a VoIP phone system and they can be screwy.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    58
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, I dialed 1 + area code + 7 digits. I then used another persons phone and got right through. I've tried this number several times and always get that same message. Even from different locations. Whereas any other phone I try has no problem.
    As far as my phone, I understand it is good till Dec 31 however I have never had any problem calling any other number in this area. The same area as the medical center.

    Any thoughts as to why just this one number does not connect ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    168
    Feedback Score
    0
    Don’t dial a 1. Try all 10 digits OR 10 digits preceded by a plus sign.

    Regardless CDMA is being retired this year.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,177
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    When dialing a US phone #, there is no need to dial "+" before the phone # unless you are traveling outside the US. The "+" replaces dialing 001 before the phone #. It is not required for domestic calling while in the US.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    395
    Device(s)
    Too many to list
    Carrier(s)
    VZW,
    Feedback Score
    0

    Not likely a dialing error.

    Quote Originally Posted by HardWird View Post
    I have an old cdma flip phone. It works fine, however I needed to contact a medical center today and instead got a message of : "welcome to verizon wireless, your call can not be completed as dialed"

    What could be the problem ? All other numbers in my area work fine.

    Thanks...
    You are getting quite a few suggestions as to how you are dialing the number. As I'm quite sure you know how to dial the phone, that's not likely the reason.

    Having spent years working on phone switch software and call handling, I can tell you that your issue is not that unusual. The issue could be at the prefix level or with the specific phone. If you are able to complete calls to numbers in the same area code/prefix/block (with only any of the last three digits being different) it is not a path issue with the switch. If you can't complete such a call, it is a path issue between VZW and the provider of the dialed number. This is fairly common with ported numbers--whether it is your number or the dialed number that has been ported.

    I would (and have in the same situation) call my provider--in this case VZW and get this problem to engineering. When you call, let them know if you are able unable to call other adjacent numbers. They should be able to figure out the issue and clear it up. The issue may be in their switch or the translation tables.

    Of course, if this is a one time call and you don't plan on regular calls to this number, it's likely not worth the work. Or, just call from another phone!

    One final possibility is quite unlikely. The person you are calling may have set up their number as I have mine. If anyone other than someone in my list of approved numbers attempts to call me, they get the "Your call cannot be completed as dialed" recording. No voicemail, no ring, no bother to me. Again, that's really unlikely, but possible.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,177
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    TZ617, good advice and suggestions for the OP.

    OP, when you call Verizon CS, ask to be transferred to technical support. If possible, call from a different phone but have the cell phone easily available for troubleshooting. Regular CS reps can resolve easy technical issues, but the OP's issue sounds rater complex and may require additional research by an offline tech specialist. If the over the phone technician is unable to diagnose/repair the problem, they file a technical ticket that is sent directly to the offline tech team.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    553
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TZ617 View Post
    Having spent years working on phone switch software and call handling, I can tell you that your issue is not that unusual. The issue could be at the prefix level or with the specific phone. If you are able to complete calls to numbers in the same area code/prefix/block (with only any of the last three digits being different) it is not a path issue with the switch. If you can't complete such a call, it is a path issue between VZW and the provider of the dialed number. This is fairly common with ported numbers--whether it is your number or the dialed number that has been ported.
    I had a similar issue with a ported number on Verizon many years ago. I don't recall if I had trouble dialing numbers but certain people could absolutely not dial MY number. I remember giving my number to a neighbor I met and he immediately tried to dial my number so that I'd also have his contact info as well. The call wouldn't go through - it probably seemed to him like I was giving him a fake number or something - haha! I later found out that a couple of other people had similar issues dialing me as well. But MOST people had no issues - I received incoming calls from lots of others.

    After opening a ticket with Verizon, their network team got it sorted out. It was one of those issues that took a few days to resolve, but this was circa 2011-2012.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    58
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TZ617 View Post
    You are getting quite a few suggestions as to how you are dialing the number. As I'm quite sure you know how to dial the phone, that's not likely the reason.

    Having spent years working on phone switch software and call handling, I can tell you that your issue is not that unusual. The issue could be at the prefix level or with the specific phone. If you are able to complete calls to numbers in the same area code/prefix/block (with only any of the last three digits being different) it is not a path issue with the switch. If you can't complete such a call, it is a path issue between VZW and the provider of the dialed number. This is fairly common with ported numbers--whether it is your number or the dialed number that has been ported.

    I would (and have in the same situation) call my provider--in this case VZW and get this problem to engineering. When you call, let them know if you are able unable to call other adjacent numbers. They should be able to figure out the issue and clear it up. The issue may be in their switch or the translation tables.

    Of course, if this is a one time call and you don't plan on regular calls to this number, it's likely not worth the work. Or, just call from another phone!

    One final possibility is quite unlikely. The person you are calling may have set up their number as I have mine. If anyone other than someone in my list of approved numbers attempts to call me, they get the "Your call cannot be completed as dialed" recording. No voicemail, no ring, no bother to me. Again, that's really unlikely, but possible.

    Thank you TZ617 that was very helpful. I'll contact VZW and see if they can sort things out.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    58
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    TZ617, good advice and suggestions for the OP.

    OP, when you call Verizon CS, ask to be transferred to technical support. If possible, call from a different phone but have the cell phone easily available for troubleshooting. Regular CS reps can resolve easy technical issues, but the OP's issue sounds rater complex and may require additional research by an offline tech specialist. If the over the phone technician is unable to diagnose/repair the problem, they file a technical ticket that is sent directly to the offline tech team.

    Veriztd, thank you for the advice. As this will be my first time calling I wasn't exactly sure how to go about it.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to call certain phone numbers
    By phreek_11 in forum Mobilicity
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 06:22 PM
  2. phone to be locked.. to call certain numbers???
    By optoomistic in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-22-2007, 12:38 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-04-2006, 04:33 PM
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 01:29 PM
  5. Unable to call the other number in the Family Plan
    By ladywolfe in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2005, 08:43 AM

Bookmarks