Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 136

Thread: VoLTE with iPhone SE not working on TFW/Verizon

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    140
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just spoke with hpham. Very kind of him. We verified that on the LG, I do have HD voice. When I switched the SIM card to my SE, Settings, Cellular Data, the SE said I had LTE, Voice On. The call went through but there was no HD connection, and the internet would not connect with the call in progress.

    I then put the LG's SIM card in my French iPhone SE. That is model A1723, where the US version is A1662. While the A1723 has additional LTE bands 7 & 23, it lacks bands 13 and 29. Band 13 is Verizon's primary LTE band, although it may also use 2 & 4. My French iPhone A1723 could not connect to Verizon at all.

    I didn't try switching my French SE to 3G to see if I could get a CDMA connection. I have no idea if the new SIM from the LGE would even allow a CDMA connection, since that is being phased out. In any case, even if CDMA worked, it would be of no use in solving the problem here.

    I might note that my French SE shows a 4G connection. That is roaming over an AT&T network to connect to my French provider. My French provider has not implemented VoLTE and has no plans announced to do so before 2021.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well one thing to rule out in my case. I transferrred carriers the other day to at&t and then yesterday I transferred back to verizon.
    Everything is exactly as it was before. I used a new verizon sim rather than the old one I had verizon with before the transfer.
    Looks like the next step will be the Taco Dan approach.

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    (Sorry for what will be a long verbose post, but a lot of points come to mind).

    I wouldn't be overly discouraged by the result of that test call, Randy. Though we were all hoping otherwise, there can still be differences between manufacturers (and even between models from the same manufacturer) that make the SIM not function identically in response to a new and complicated change like VoLTE represents. And even if these LG and iPhone models do handle SIM instructions the same way, most people's experience indicates the carrier still has to reconfigure your service at their end before it will work as designed.

    I recall you had asked TacoDan "When you moved the burner phone SIMs to your iPhones, did you have to reactivate them on the iPhones or did they just work straight off?", and his reply was "I did have to install the correct APN verizon.net"

    So we can't say that all bases have been touched until the new unprovisioned LTE SIM you received from TFW (not the one they delivered inside the LG) is addressed in the full way. After inserting it again, customer service will need to do as they are supposed to when a customer is ready to implement the change in their service.

    To summarize, as I quoted lisme earlier:
    "When the SIM is not activated, it cannot have a full dialog with the carrier. Some information is available, but there is no way for them to adjust your phone without a full connection. You don't have access to their systems. Tracfone has to present you as an official customer. This partial connection is normal. So go ahead and activate the SIM and you will see the difference."
    ...and from mframe:
    "I would think that all you need to do is have a new SIM card activated, and make sure that you give the rep the IMEI of the phone you want. I think the trick is to have the 2 things properly associated (IMEI and new SIM ICCID).
    ....and whaker's 'hunch' from that other thread:
    "To shake loose some level of provisioning on an account to get a fresh run at it, having service switched entirely off the problem setup to a different one before going back to the desired device would ensure a more complete attempt."

    However, hpham may be right when he suspects further: "I think (even) activating a new SIM on the SE won't make any difference" (and instead) "I think there's something wrong with how your phone is set up in TF system." He previously reported: "Info in TF system can be wrong sometimes. Last June, I bought a refurbished Huawei Sensa phone from TF web site, it uses TF/Verizon. Because it was sold at that time, it should be VoLTE-capable and the SIM VoLTE-provisoned. But there is no option to enable VoLTE in the phone, and it failed the VoLTE test, although its SIM passed the VoLTE test when swapped into my Moto E5. "

    This above is consistent with TFW still not even having their act togther at all when it comes to getting a number of supposedly compatible phones working on VoLTE (at least for some carriers' towers in some possibly difficult regions). This seems to include phones they themselves are currently selling for just that purpose!

    On a related detail: When you confirmed your IMEI as compatible on Verizon's site (as a prospective customer planning to "Switch Now") you mentioned that it identifed your phone as "Smartphone - IPHONE SE SILVER 64GB SIM OUT". My own IMEI check came back as just "Smartphone - IPHONE SE SPACE GRAY 32GB" - with no mention of "SIM OUT" (whatever that means). Consider calling Verizon (under the continuing pretense of "considering a switchover") and ask them to explain that aspect of the result you saw. It may reveal some special factor that has not yet been taken into account by us (or TFW).

    By the way, my theory that access to Internet while on a VoLTE call could sometimes not work in an otherwise VoLTE/HD-Voice call occurred to me only because I thought one of your tests did involve a 'connected' VoLTE call that neverthelessfailed to allow Internet access. But that call's status turned out not to be certain, So I don't necessarily disagree with hpham's belief that these two VoLTE features are inseparable.
    Last edited by kevi; 01-18-2020 at 07:32 PM.

  4. #94
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,852
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    My thoughts are that you should not activate the SIM being sent to you until you have spoken with the TF engineer/specialist.
    If you wanted to transfer service off the SE and back, you should have transferred service to originally activate the LG, and then transfer back to the SE with hopes that it would be set up/configured correctly this time by Tracfone-Verizon-Apple. The TF engineer/specialist could combine (NOT transfer) airtime onto the LG, keeping the correct phone number, and then transfer the combined service to re-activate the SE. DO NOT ask a regular CSR to do this... chances are they will have never done this and become confused and mess it all up.

    If the engineer/specialist is overseeing all this, they should be able to identify the reason for any possible failures and correct it.
    Last edited by Tracfancier; 01-18-2020 at 07:16 PM.

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    140
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok, folks, I missed my chance today. As promised, I got a callback. This person said my phone was compatible and ready for VoLTE. One roadblock passed.

    Then she said that the system would be updated or implementing VoLTE on existing phones over the course of the year. She said it was automatic; she had no tools to advance the process.

    I got a higher level person who said he was in "CBT", which he called the highest level. He repeated the above, so I asked him if he could do anything if I put in that new SIM card. He said he would try. I needed to have a SIM card with a number ending in 7864.

    So I pulled out the envelope that the new sim card came in. It was empty This was my screwup. There was a sim card in that envelope when I opened it but I cannot find it now. He waited patiently while I went through my desk and looked everywhere. No joy.

    He said if I find it, call back and ask for his department. If not, ask them to send me another sim card.

    So, I will resume the hunt later. Right now, I have to make dinner.

    Dumb, dumb, dumb. Me, that is.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,051
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RandySea View Post
    Then she said that the system would be updated or implementing VoLTE on existing phones over the course of the year. She said it was automatic; she had no tools to advance the process.

    I got a higher level person who said he was in "CBT", which he called the highest level. He repeated the above, so I asked him if he could do anything if I put in that new SIM card. He said he would try. I needed to have a SIM card with a number ending in 7864.
    So they do have a plan to do OTA updates on the remaining VoLTE capable phones that were not upgraded otherwise. That had been hoped for since early on. I doubt it would include BYOP phones because of the difficulty of identifying their capability.

    Don't understand the SIM number ending he gave you. That should be unique to a specific SIM serial number.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,051
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got a higher level person who said he was in "CBT", which he called the highest level.
    Anybody know what "CBT" might stand for?

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,454
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler
    Don't understand the SIM number ending he gave you. That should be unique to a specific SIM serial number.
    Probably it's just the ending number of the SIM that they sent to Randy, per their record.

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RandySea View Post
    ...This person said my phone was compatible and ready for VoLTE. One roadblock passed.

    Then she said that the system would be updated or implementing VoLTE on existing phones over the course of the year. She said it was automatic; she had no tools to advance the process.

    I got a higher level person who said he was in "CBT", which he called the highest level. He repeated the above, so I asked him if he could do anything if I put in that new SIM card. He said he would try. I needed to have a SIM card with a number ending in 7864.

    .

    Anyway, it's good news, so far. They do seem to be struggling to catch up with all the varying tasks needed to deal with the upgrade for all their customers. Your situation may be serving as the canary in the coal mine for TFW, and the experience they are gaining from this may help other customers avoid the same problem in the weeks and months ahead. (You should get a medal!) I doubt many of those customers would be as persistent in getting things straightened out as you have been, nor would they likely have online friends as interested in helping brainstorm the issue as you have here at Howard forums. Can you imagine the pandemonium that would have ensued if all TF customer phones for which enabling VoLTE is tricky suddenly lost their service this past December 31st as originally scheduled...ALL at the same time? TFW is lucky it still has up to a year to patch these problems, but it will require that customers as well don't procrastinate in getting their phone settings adjusted (or getting new phones if truly required). I think this is why Page Plus has continued sending similar advisory texts even though the new deadline is almost a year away.

    Maybe the last four digits of the SIM are not the ones that make the card unique. Anyone have numbers to compare? My SIM card from Page Plus was actually one of a set of three (to cover different sizes) and the number was written on the colorful packet they came in. The last four digits of mine are 7346. Of course, it was actually supplied to me for use with my Page Plus account but the carrier it imports into the Phone (Settings > General > About) is "TFW 40.0". Also, under Settings > Cellular, the carrier is "TFW" for which tapping "Carrier Services" then shows a link to "Tracfone". So Randy, until you find the card itself (in one of your other phones?) maybe you, too, can find the SIM card number on the envelope that it came in. Assuming the last 4 digits don't match what the TF rep was asking about (whatever that means) the rep could be told that now and speed up the sending of a different one, if that's a pivotal factor.

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RandySea View Post

    ...I pulled out the envelope that the new sim card came in. It was empty This was my screwup. There was a sim card in that envelope when I opened it but I cannot find it now. He waited patiently while I went through my desk and looked everywhere. No joy.

    .
    Just a head up: If that nano SIM has has not yet turned up in a phone, avoid vacuuming for a while in the area where you were fiddling with SIM cards. (Keep any pets out of there, too! You wouldn't enjoy having to fish it out of a hair ball...or later out of something even worse ..)
    Last edited by kevi; 01-19-2020 at 06:18 PM.

  11. #101
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,052
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Anybody know what "CBT" might stand for?
    here - https://www.cbt.edu/wp-content/uploa...te_Program.pdf

  12. #102
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    140
    Feedback Score
    0
    I guess I am too clever for my own good. I had forgotten that I first popped the new SiM off the mailer card. Then I decided not to use it right away. To make sure that little nano jobber wouldn't get lost, I cleverly taped it to the back of the card I had popped it out of.

    Today, I saw the mailer card with the hole in it and thought the SIM was missing. I forgot I had been so clever in taping it to the back of that card.

    The number does indeed end in 7864. The front of the mailer card says "Verizon compatible, compatible with a used Verizon LTE device."

    I guess my next step is to re-contact the CBT department and get the card activated.

    Thank you all for your comments. I'll try to respond tomorrow. Too late now.

  13. #103
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    90
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Anybody know what "CBT" might stand for?
    "Can't be trusted".
    Roadtrip

  14. #104
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Anybody know what "CBT" might stand for?
    ..or maybe "Call Back Tomorrow", if they say that everyday.

  15. #105
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,051
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Think you nailed it!

    Name:  Networking_Administration_Associate_Program pdf.jpg
Views: 88
Size:  21.4 KB

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2016, 09:06 PM
  2. Replies: 95
    Last Post: 04-27-2012, 05:32 PM
  3. Speed dials not working on e815/Verizon
    By cowabunga in forum Motorola Phone Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2006, 07:39 PM
  4. Speed dials not working on e815/Verizon
    By cowabunga in forum Motorola
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2006, 07:39 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2005, 10:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks