Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to UNLOCK TF Samsung J7 Crown to use on Total Wireless Network ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question How to UNLOCK TF Samsung J7 Crown to use on Total Wireless Network ?

    My phones are on TF for 10+ years now. I need more Data capacity and wish to change over to Total Wireless.

    I have TF's Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown. Total Wireless also uses/sells this exact same model.

    However, when I check my IMEI on TW's website it shows it to be Incompatible. Surely my phone is LOCKED to TF only.

    So how do I go about Unlocking this Galaxy J7 Crown to use on Total Wireless ?


    TIA
    Last edited by Labrat0116; 11-29-2019 at 05:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    NO CAN DO.

    TF Policy says a phone bought from them MUST stay active for 12 Months of continuous service BEFORE it can be UNLOCKED.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    940
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    You should be able to use the phone on Total Wireless. Rebranding between Tracfone brands can happen as long as the phone is Verizon based Tracfone phones. I know people have switch Tracfone to PagePlus and Total Wireless with no issue. I have a Tracfone MyFlip on Total Wireless with the same SIM that came with the phone. I know there are a few people that switch Tracfone phones to other Tracfone brands with the SIM that came the phone.

    The only issue comes if the phone has been already activated. It might need a new SIM card to get it rebranded.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    You should be able to use the phone on Total Wireless. Rebranding between Tracfone brands can happen as long as the phone is Verizon based Tracfone phones. I know people have switch Tracfone to PagePlus and Total Wireless with no issue. I have a Tracfone MyFlip on Total Wireless with the same SIM that came with the phone. I know there are a few people that switch Tracfone phones to other Tracfone brands with the SIM that came the phone.

    The only issue comes if the phone has been already activated. It might need a new SIM card to get it rebranded.
    Thanks for the info.

    Would a SIM card from TW need to be activated to see if it will work in my TF ?

    I'm going to run out and get a TW SIM card from Wally World and see if it will work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,596
    Feedback Score
    0
    You don't even have to call for a swap. Just put an active Total Wireless sim in a TracFone smartphone and it'll just work.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    940
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    It should. All Verizon based Tracfone and Tracfone brands use the same SIM cards. That is why they are easily rebranded.

    By the way, I just thought of something. What version of the J7 Crown do you have? I know there is S767VL and S757BL listed as a J7 Crown. The S767VL is a Verizon version, and the S757BL is T-Mobile/AT&T version.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    778
    Feedback Score
    0
    If your phone is the 767VL like @advcomp2019 mentioned, and you want to keep your same phone number, you'll need a new SIM. Either a TW or TF BYOP SIM should work. After you activate the new SIM with your number port from TF the old TF SIM is deactivated and you could use it in another phone for activation on any TF company VZW carrier. That's all based on my experience and info in other threads.

Similar Threads

  1. How to unlock MetroPCS Samsung Galaxy J3 prime using Device Unlock App
    By Codes2unlock in forum Codes2unlock.com - Unlock Your Phone Easily and Safely
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-26-2017, 02:37 AM
  2. How to unlock MetroPCS Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus using Device Unlock App
    By Codes2unlock in forum Codes2unlock.com - Unlock Your Phone Easily and Safely
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2017, 07:10 AM
  3. How to unlock a Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7 for any network
    By Codes2unlock in forum Codes2unlock.com - Unlock Your Phone Easily and Safely
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-22-2015, 06:32 AM
  4. How to unlock a Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0 for any network
    By Codes2unlock in forum Codes2unlock.com - Unlock Your Phone Easily and Safely
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-17-2015, 02:43 AM
  5. How to Unlock the Samsung Galaxy MEGA to GSM networks. Unlocking made Simple.
    By cellunlocker1 in forum CELLUNLOCKER.NET - UNLOCK your Phone to Any GSM Network, Fastest & LowestPrice 100% Guaranteed
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-23-2013, 05:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks