Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rogers crippling 2G towers?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers crippling 2G towers?

    I recently pulled out my old Nokia 5190. It’s still working and “sees” rogers but the signal keeps coming in and out and dropping. Does anyone know what can cause this? It’s doing the same thing with my 3390. Any ideas? 2G network.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    1,395
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    2G is being phased out, so there isn't much 2G antenna's operating anymore.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,239
    Feedback Score
    0
    They are probably refarming 850 MHz for LTE.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,381
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers crippling 2G towers?

    It’s not only 2G. Pretty sure they’re reframing some 3G too. Bell/Telus must be doing the same. Whenever our phones (my Telus and my wife’s Rogers) switch to 3G, they only work for voice and text. Data is practically useless on 3G in our experiences. For me (on Telus), it’s a recent degradation in 3G quality...only a few months ago, I was able to pull 24Mbps on 3G around my neighbourhood. Now data is extremely sluggish on 3G with full signal...any drop in 3G signal whatsoever and data refuses to work at all.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    1,395
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    It’s not only 2G. Pretty sure they’re reframing some 3G too. Bell/Telus must be doing the same. Whenever our phones (my Telus and my wife’s Rogers) switch to 3G, they only work for voice and text. Data is practically useless on 3G in our experiences. For me (on Telus), it’s a recent degradation in 3G quality...only a few months ago, I was able to pull 24Mbps on 3G around my neighbourhood. Now data is extremely sluggish on 3G with full signal...any drop in 3G signal whatsoever and data refuses to work at all.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    I have noticed this with Rogers too, if my phone drops from LTE to HSPA the only thing I can do is phone calls or text. Data barely works if at all on HSPA/3G.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GP-SE View Post
    I have noticed this with Rogers too, if my phone drops from LTE to HSPA the only thing I can do is phone calls or text. Data barely works if at all on HSPA/3G.
    Part of the reason for this could also be due to Chatr customers being restricted to 3G only. Couple that with the 3G refarming, and you've got barely usable 3G data services. :/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    691
    Device(s)
    i576, i355, i700+
    Carrier(s)
    MiKE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tornado15550 View Post
    Part of the reason for this could also be due to Chatr customers being restricted to 3G only. Couple that with the 3G refarming, and you've got barely usable 3G data services. :/
    I don’t think this is true. My friends 6S on Chatr displays LTE and gets 3G speeds. Not super fast but totally useable.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    1,220
    Device(s)
    Moto G5 Plus, POSH Micro X S240
    Carrier(s)
    PC Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bmccull View Post
    I don’t think this is true. My friends 6S on Chatr displays LTE and gets 3G speeds. Not super fast but totally useable.
    Now that's interesting. I just checked the Chatr coverage map and it's definitely the Rogers HSPA+ map. There are some Rogers LTE areas that are missing (e.g. near Swan River). However, their plan descriptions now say "at 3G speed", not "3G" like I'm pretty sure that they used to. I wonder if they have quietly upgraded Chatr users to restricted LTE, at least in some areas, matching what Lucky and Public Mobile do.

Similar Threads

  1. Does Rogers cripple their V3t?
    By canuck6225 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 09:35 AM
  2. rogers taking down towers (from network support)
    By stunaz in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-18-2005, 01:21 PM
  3. rogers crippled e316
    By kable in forum Samsung
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-02-2005, 09:44 PM
  4. Rogers Deploying New Towers Around Gta ??
    By pepenana in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-17-2004, 11:24 AM
  5. rogers adding new Towers?
    By nmack in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-21-2002, 11:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks