Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Cricket HD/VoLTE and or WIFI Calling for unlocked devices?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    254
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket HD/VoLTE and or WIFI Calling for unlocked devices?

    I thinking about taking advantage of the $40 unlimited plan for BYOD from Cricket. I have a factory unlocked S9+ (SM-G965U1) and had it on AT&T Prepaid a couple months ago but unfortunately those features were disabled and the phone calls sounded terrible. Since Verizon doesn't cover certain areas where I need service while AT&T does I am very tempted to switch over to Cricket and take advantage of that offer.

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,992
    Feedback Score
    0
    according to this - https://www.reddit.com/r/CricketWire..._wifi_calling/ VoLTE / WIFI Calling will work but you need to flash carrier specific firmware.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    799
    Feedback Score
    0
    This well documented BS on the part of AT&T. They won't allow BYOD Android devices capable of using VoLTE and WIFI calling to use it. This is not an issue with T-mobile and Verizon. You should not have to flash carrier firmware. People buy factory unlocked for a reason, so the phone is not tied to a carrier and to eliminate carrier bloatware. I moved a line to Spectrum which is Verizon because I need WiFi calling. AT&T really needs to get with the program.

    Sent from my SHT-W09 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    475
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    This well documented BS on the part of AT&T. They won't allow BYOD Android devices capable of using VoLTE and WIFI calling to use it. This is not an issue with T-mobile and Verizon. You should not have to flash carrier firmware. People buy factory unlocked for a reason, so the phone is not tied to a carrier and to eliminate carrier bloatware. I moved a line to Spectrum which is Verizon because I need WiFi calling. AT&T really needs to get with the program.

    Sent from my SHT-W09 using HoFo mobile app
    As far as being a non issue on TMobile and verizon, this is not 100% accurate. At&t though is worse than them yes. There are devices that will technically work on TMobile and verizon, that are volte and wifi calling capable, that do not get either.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    799
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hofonewb9 View Post
    As far as being a non issue on TMobile and verizon, this is not 100% accurate. At&t though is worse than them yes. There are devices that will technically work on TMobile and verizon, that are volte and wifi calling capable, that do not get either.
    There are many BYOD Android devices that do WiFi calling on T-mobile and Verizon. AT&T does not even try. Most of the newer flagship phones work. My S10e gets VoLTE and Wi-Fi calling on both T-mobile and Verizon. I pulled an old Motorola G5 plus out of the drawer a few weeks ago and put Mint Mobile Sim in it. That is T-mobile and Wi-Fi calling works fine.

    Sent from my SM-T720 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    475
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    There are many BYOD Android devices that do WiFi calling on T-mobile and Verizon. AT&T does not even try. Most of the newer flagship phones work. My S10e gets VoLTE and Wi-Fi calling on both T-mobile and Verizon. I pulled an old Motorola G5 plus out of the drawer a few weeks ago and put Mint Mobile Sim in it. That is T-mobile and Wi-Fi calling works fine.

    Sent from my SM-T720 using HoFo mobile app
    Yes, TMobile and Verizon are more open to supporting byod devices with those features than At&t, but they do not support every device capable of volte and wifi calling on their Network. They have a certification process in place also, just as At&t does. They just certify more device than At&t does. Verizon in particular, right now, has a very limited LTE only byod list, there are plenty of devices out there that support volte, and band 13, but Verizon will not allow currently on their Network. Now these are mainly Chinese devices, and the same can be said with TMobile, most of their devices that won't get volte despite full support are Chinese devices (oppo, redmi, Huawei etc.)but cheaper high end Chinese devices are becoming more popular here.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,386
    Feedback Score
    0
    Because the manufacturers have to PAY for that certification process, the carrier won't do it for free.
    Apple, Samsung, moto, LG pay for that certification and their phones' IMEI's are added to the whitelist database.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,816
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just got a Cricket S10 and reflashed it as a "U1" unlocked firmware so I can get rid of the Cricket startup and bloat

    So now I am disabling VoLTE and wifi calling thru the Cricket/ATT network I guess?

    I guess if it is really important I could reflash again to an AIO firmware with "U" model. What do I get in everyday benefit from having VoLTE and wifi calling? I do have Google Voice so I have a number I can use if I am in a foreign country or otherwise need to do wifi calling....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    iPhones 7
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Voice over Lte allows higher quality audio. WiFi calling allows you to make calls over a WiFi network if you are in a area with no cell network signal but have a WiFi connection.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,816
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hamradio View Post
    Voice over Lte allows higher quality audio. WiFi calling allows you to make calls over a WiFi network if you are in a area with no cell network signal but have a WiFi connection.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    ok so I can do the Wifi calling using Google Voice I guess. May have to do without VoLTE then, unless I'm willing to go back to a Cricket splash screen and bloat apps

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2,033
    Feedback Score
    0
    what "bloat" apps?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,146
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Oneplus 7T on cricket. Phone purchased directly from oneplus. No Wifi calling.

    Initially no volte. Had to contact customer service, give them an imei from a compatible iphone to get it to work. Still didn't take until I force a carrier reprovisioning in the *#*#4636#*#* menu. Phone is on android 10.

    dialer - https://i.imgur.com/tPhd6sB.jpg
    homescreen - https://i.imgur.com/yAnIX0Q.jpg
    4636 screen - https://i.imgur.com/qqnSy2A.jpg

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,816
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interestingly I got a text out of the blue saying that I am eligible for Wifi Calling, and to take advantage of it I need to accept all software updates for my phone and turn on Wifi Calling in my settings menu. Yet I searched and there is no Wifi Calling toggle in any settings menu that I can find

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,992
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    Interestingly I got a text out of the blue saying that I am eligible for Wifi Calling, and to take advantage of it I need to accept all software updates for my phone and turn on Wifi Calling in my settings menu. Yet I searched and there is no Wifi Calling toggle in any settings menu that I can find
    how old is your sim ??

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,146
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Getting VoLTE broke my CCF. I use a google voice number as a primary number. CCF/carrier VM interferes with it and was previously disabled entirely. Now cricket reps are telling me all they can do is either reset the (cricket) vm pin or reset the cricket vm entirely, but not disable it like it was before. [email protected]#

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-22-2018, 08:04 PM
  2. T-Mobile HD Voice and Wi-Fi Calling for iPhone 5S/5C?
    By Phantomstar02 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-15-2013, 11:51 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2012, 11:48 AM
  4. Request: iPhone optimized and/or HTML version for mobile devices
    By xcrunner in forum Forum Feedback & Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 10:47 PM
  5. WTB: 1G SD or MMC and/or WiFi card for PPC in GTA
    By hanserus in forum Other Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2005, 02:05 PM

Bookmarks