Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Alcatel Zip-- does it do VoLTE?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1,060
    Feedback Score
    0

    Alcatel Zip-- does it do VoLTE?

    I haven't activated my GSM TF Alcatel Zip (A576BL) and wonder if anyone here has one, does it do VoLTE? I couldn't find any reference to enhanced call features under settings. Its APN mentions AT&T.

    Name:  Screenshot_20191027-204854.jpg
Views: 264
Size:  22.6 KBName:  Screenshot_ziphome.jpg
Views: 269
Size:  38.1 KB

    Sent from my A576BL using HoFo mobile app

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    882
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    The last I knew most AT&T MVNOs will not get VoLTE yet. The only AT&T MVNO that gets VoLTE is Cricket and Consumer Cellular. AT&T recently started to give their prepaid user VoLTE tho. So not sure when AT&T based Tracfone will get VoLTE tho unless you got it by accident.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1,060
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    The last I knew most AT&T MVNOs will not get VoLTE yet. The only AT&T MVNO that gets VoLTE is Cricket and Consumer Cellular. AT&T recently started to give their prepaid user VoLTE tho. So not sure when AT&T based Tracfone will get VoLTE tho unless you got it by accident.
    So I guess that means it could be safe to try to use the Zip on TF, because if AT&T isn't rolling out VoLTE to TF yet, GSM/AT&T TF customers wouldn't be expected to upgrade phones to VoLTE capable ones. Not yet anyway.

    Maybe if they begin to roll out VoLTE to GSM/AT&T TF customers, our AT&T/TF phones MIGHT become VoLTE enabled retroactively...?

    I hope I got that right.

    Sent from my A576BL using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,577
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WheelieBoot View Post
    Maybe if they begin to roll out VoLTE to GSM/AT&T TF customers, our AT&T/TF phones MIGHT become VoLTE enabled retroactively...?
    No way to know about AT&T VoLTE enabling on MVNOs until they release it. The Verizon experience was existing accounts were mostly not auto-enabled. There will likely be some of the same issue of whether a phone is VoLTE capable.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    82
    Device(s)
    iPhones 7
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    When my family had straight talk they had volte.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,827
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hamradio View Post
    When my family had straight talk they had volte.
    On ST AT&T? That seems unlikely because, so far, there have been no other reports of an AT&T MVNO having VoLTE.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1,060
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    No way to know about AT&T VoLTE enabling on MVNOs until they release it. The Verizon experience was existing accounts were mostly not auto-enabled. There will likely be some of the same issue of whether a phone is VoLTE capable.
    The safe thing to do would be to swap my Samsung account to a TF-VZ phone that's already definitely VoLTE enabled but the ZIP is small like the Samsung, my VZ based LG Fiestas larger. I also thought having an AT&T based TF might be a good alternative since my other phones currently are VZ based.

    I guess if and when VoLTE becomes a mandatory issue for AT&T like with VZ they'll warn the TF customers they need to update their phones if it doesn't automatically happen that the phones become enabled by the service provider.

    Might be safe to transfer the account to the Zip on the basis that they'll warn us.

    I have an unlocked AT&T LG Phoenix 2 but BYOP doesn't allow the 49.99 year service add on. Otherwise I already have a TMFL BYOP SIM kit. I like the 49.99 service add on because I don't like racking up lots of airtime but like having the service extended.




    Sent from my LGL84VL using HoFo mobile app

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,199
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah, I don't like the racking up of airtime, either.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    82
    Device(s)
    iPhones 7
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    On ST AT&T? That seems unlikely because, so far, there have been no other reports of an AT&T MVNO having VoLTE.
    It worked on AT&T straight talk back in early 2019


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1,060
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hamradio View Post
    It worked on AT&T straight talk back in early 2019


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    I didn't know ST used AT&T for service. My ST Fiesta is Verizon.

    Sent from my LGL84VL using HoFo mobile app

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    882
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hamradio View Post
    It worked on AT&T straight talk back in early 2019


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    I have not seen a large number of AT&T based Tracfone user get VoLTE yet. That is why I said in my reply unless you got it by accident.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,733
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WheelieBoot View Post
    I didn't know ST used AT&T for service. My ST Fiesta is Verizon.

    Sent from my LGL84VL using HoFo mobile app
    For the first year or so ST was only Verizon. Then they added AT&T and T-Mobile (years ago now). Later they added Sprint with the introduction of a new phone. One Company tried to review the phone and service but could never get a signal to do the test. I do not know if they still bother with Sprint.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,507
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    WheelieBoot, you should someday find someone to tell you all about Straight Talk around 2012 when the Nokia E71 was first offered by them, which started a huge run on that device model (from Straight Talk directly) in order to extract the SIM and use it in other devices. Totally started the BYOP thing for the TracFone brands (unintentionally and unofficially). People were buying that phone, activating it with the included SIM, then putting the SIM into their iPhones (and others), which at the time were only capable (or allowed) on AT&T Wireless.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,910
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    For the first year or so ST was only Verizon. Then they added AT&T and T-Mobile (years ago now). Later they added Sprint with the introduction of a new phone. One Company tried to review the phone and service but could never get a signal to do the test. I do not know if they still bother with Sprint.
    far as i know, straight talk stills activates sprint phones - https://www.straighttalk.com/wps/por...Y/#KNOWCARRIER

Similar Threads

  1. "Clear LinkInfo" on VX 6000 - what does it do?
    By ntchuck in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-2003, 03:38 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2002, 11:35 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-13-2002, 03:00 AM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-14-2002, 08:07 PM
  5. Bell *BELL... what exactly does it do?
    By shinjiplus in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-02-2002, 02:25 PM

Bookmarks