Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40

Thread: iPhone 7 Plus model A1785 on Tracfone

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,913
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
    Now to research how to switch without loosing my account balance/service days. I'm hoping there's a sticky?
    I remember you guys saying to start a chat and have them confirm your account balance (for the record) before messing with it.
    I asked her to do that on my last chat and she said they (chatters) don't have access to that.
    That rep was wrong in saying that the Chat reps don't have access to your balances. Below is the transcript from when I transferred from a TF/Verizon SIM to a TF/AT&T SIM.

    ================
    Vilma : Thank you for visiting TracFone Wireless.
    Vilma : How may I assist you?
    You: Could you give me the balance and expiration date of my phone 785-xxx-xxxx ?
    Vilma : Yes. Allow me a moment while I check the information.
    Vilma : Our records show you have a balance of xxxx voice minutes, xxxx text messages, and x.x.5 GB of data.
    Vilma : The service end date is on xx/xx/2020.
    You: Thank you. I'd like to trasfer service from that phone to a new BYOP GSM SIM. The last 15 digits of the SIM number are 10427824xxxxxxx.
    Vilma : In order for me to further assist you, I will need to verify the security question on your account.
    Vilma : What was the name of your high school?
    You: [my high school name]
    Vilma : Thank you.
    Vilma : While transferring your phone number and service your new SIM card will be added to your account.
    You: ok
    Vilma : Bear with me a moment while I check on this for you.
    You: ok
    Vilma : I contacted the Portability Department to check the process.
    You: ok
    Vilma : According the portability agent the process will be completed today at 7:04 PM EST.
    Vilma : After this time, you will need to follow the next steps.
    Vilma : You will need to turn your phone off and then back on. Try to make a phone call. If that does not work, wait a few minutes and try again.
    Vilma : Your ticket number is 11711xxxxx.
    Vilma : Is there anything else that I can assist you with?
    You: Thank you. I will wait until that time to see if the transfer goes OK.
    Vilma : You are welcome.
    Vilma : Hope you have a wonderful day.
    Vilma : Thank you for chatting with TracFone Wireless.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hmm. Good to know. Thanks.
    iPhone 6 Plus on Tracfone BYOP.
    I hate Apple. (I really miss Android)

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    So my 2nd TF chatter said I need a T-Mobile sim card. Maybe if I start a 3rd chat I'll get another opinion?
    My phone specs. list GSM and CDMA bands so I searched a bit more and I just found this that says my phone is (primarily?) CDMA.
    Scroll just past 1/2 way down for iPhone 7 Plus A1785.

    https://vkrepair.com/gsm-vs-global-cdma/

    Now I don't know what to do.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,913
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
    So my 2nd TF chatter said I need a T-Mobile sim card. Maybe if I start a 3rd chat I'll get another opinion?
    My phone specs. list GSM and CDMA bands so I searched a bit more and I just found this that says my phone is (primarily?) CDMA.
    Scroll just past 1/2 way down for iPhone 7 Plus A1785.

    https://vkrepair.com/gsm-vs-global-cdma/

    Now I don't know what to do.
    To use your BYOP phone with a BYOP TF/Verizon SIM, the IMEI of your phone must pass the "whitelist" check during the SIM activation process. But since your phone is for the Japanese market, its IMEI is likely NOT in the white list. You can do a check of the IMEI by going through the BYOP activation process, ==>EDITED: tell it that you don't have a SIM yet, select Verizon, supply the IMEI and see if it says the phone is compatible. If it is, you're in. If it is not, you'll need to use a BYOP SIM for TF/AT&T or TF/T-mo, they don't check the phone's IMEI.
    Last edited by hpham; 10-18-2019 at 04:49 PM. Reason: EDITED: tell the TF site that you DON'T have a SIM yet.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Will try. Thanks!
    I hope you’re being paid well for this. lol

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,913
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
    Will try. Thanks!
    I hope you’re being paid well for this. lol
    Yeah, they probably will double my pay next month. 2 x 0.00 = 0.00

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    694
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    <Tracfone < Boom < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Yeah, they probably will double my pay next month. 2 x 0.00 = 0.00
    Too funny, love it !

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I did that and it says compatible and asks me to enter sim #.
    Then why can’t I just swap it from iPhone 6 to 7 like I did from 5 to 6?

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,913
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
    I did that and it says compatible and asks me to enter sim #.
    Then why can’t I just swap it from iPhone 6 to 7 like I did from 5 to 6?
    It could be that your iPhone 7 is locked to some carrier (the whitelist check would NOT know that). Try different SIMs from all your other phones (GSM, CDMA, different carriers, etc). If the phone rejects everyone of them, the phone is likely locked. Give it a try and let us know.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don’t have another phone/sim and I doubt my wife will let me mess with hers.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have the inactive sims in the kit.
    Will those reveal anything if I insert?

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,913
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
    I have the inactive sims in the kit.
    Will those reveal anything if I insert?
    Yes. Try the AT&T and T-Mo BYOP SIMS from the kit and let us know the outcome.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I guess these kits are old. No Tmo.

    The CDMA said not compatible and I can’t get past that to use the phone without cell service.
    The GSM lets me through and I can use the phone without cell service.
    So I guess I need to switch to GSM ?
    Still seems odd since phone can CDMA. I wonder if newer kit would be any different. Tracfone compatibility was ready to sell me a CDMA sim.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,913
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
    I guess these kits are old. No Tmo.

    The CDMA said not compatible and I can’t get past that to use the phone without cell service.
    The GSM lets me through and I can use the phone without cell service.
    So I guess I need to switch to GSM ?
    Still seems odd since phone can CDMA. I wonder if newer kit would be any different. Tracfone compatibility was ready to sell me a CDMA sim.
    The older BYOP SIM Kits had only SIMS for AT&T and Verizon.

    Although the specs for your iPhone 7 say it supports CDMA, it's POSSIBLE that CDMA isn't enabled/accessible. A similar (but opposite) scenario is the Verizon Prepaid Moto E4 that many of us bought back in 2016. Even though the phone supports both CDMA and GSM, the GSM support isn't accessible until the phone is unlocked. Most of us bought the phone, then bought an unlock code on Ebay to have the GSM support, and use it with AT&T or T-mo.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    244
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Jeez, you are good at this. Thanks!
    So I either look for a way to unlock CDMA or just go GSM.
    I’m near a city now so I suspect they have similar reception.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-29-2017, 09:19 PM
  2. Replies: 171
    Last Post: 12-09-2016, 02:53 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-27-2016, 12:17 PM
  4. Sprint iPhone 4 or 4s on Page Plus?
    By Mephisto Zap in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-27-2012, 05:11 PM
  5. iPhone on Tracfone/GoPhone
    By plastikb0x in forum Apple
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-01-2008, 01:52 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks