Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why does Verizon still allow me to activate my Blackberry Classic and Galaxy s3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 5, BlackBerry Classic, Nokia 6500 Slide, Nokia 3588i
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Red Pocket, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0

    Why does Verizon still allow me to activate my Blackberry Classic and Galaxy s3

    I was cleaning out my drawers the other day and I found my old Blackberry Classic and Galaxy s3. I put my Verizon sim in them even though I figured it wouldn't work due to the CDMA activation ban. To my surprise, they both were able to make calls, send texts, and use data even though Verizon says that they are no longer supported. Why is this happening?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    583
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NK1075 View Post
    I was cleaning out my drawers the other day and I found my old Blackberry Classic and Galaxy s3. I put my Verizon sim in them even though I figured it wouldn't work due to the CDMA activation ban. To my surprise, they both were able to make calls, send texts, and use data even though Verizon says that they are no longer supported. Why is this happening?
    I'm assuming because the Vzw sim you put in WAS already activated ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    4,235
    Device(s)
    Qualcomm iPhone X 256 GB Space Grey
    Carrier(s)
    Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    I'm assuming because the Vzw sim you put in WAS already activated ?
    Yep, since the SIM was already activated, putting the SIM in a non-VoLTE device will work. Attempting to activate a new line of service with the phone will not.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    iPhone 7+ on the Verizon Network
    iPad Pro 9.7 on the AT&T Network

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,275
    Feedback Score
    0
    CDMA still works. But no for long, maybe to the end of this year, maybe longer for some devices, so that's why they don't let people activate new device that don't have VoLTE capability.
    https://www.verizonwireless.com/supp...e-base-218813/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    14
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got warnings 2 years ago those devices wouldn’t work by end of year in 2017. As long as networks are available they’ll work. They issued another final type warning about a couple months ago too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    1,507
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mestapho_2000 View Post
    I got warnings 2 years ago those devices wouldn’t work by end of year in 2017. As long as networks are available they’ll work. They issued another final type warning about a couple months ago too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The CDMA end date is Dec 31 2020. Period

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,275
    Feedback Score
    0

Similar Threads

  1. Is there a reason why GV is not allowing me to verify my phone?
    By derek2079 in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 10:51 PM
  2. Will Verizon allow me to switch my krzr?
    By sk24iam in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-17-2007, 02:49 PM
  3. Bell Will Bell allow me to switch my rate plan while im still under contract?
    By manny_fresh in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-24-2005, 03:35 PM
  4. Bell Does Bell still allow you to carry your expired plan from M2M?
    By rip in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2005, 12:37 PM
  5. Why does Verizon take sooo long to release new phones?
    By squale in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2004, 10:41 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks