Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: My Truphone SIM card works in one AT&T phone but not another.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,849
    Carrier(s)
    Tello (this month)
    Feedback Score
    0

    My Truphone SIM card works in one AT&T phone but not another.

    I pop my Truphone SIM card in an old ZTE model Z432 and it works.

    Name:  ZTE phone.jpg
Views: 414
Size:  45.5 KB

    But I put that same SIM card in an AT&T LG Xpressions and get an error message.

    Name:  LG Xpressions.jpg
Views: 389
Size:  48.6 KB

    Hmmm. I have not actually used the LG Xpressions with AT&T or one of its MVNOs, but I believe it was only used with AT&T. So why am I getting that message?
    My smartphone is a lot smarter than I am.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    935
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Work / T-Mobile (iPhone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    That second phone is network locked to AT&T -- you can use a US-based AT&T MVNO's SIM in it, but not a non-US carrier's SIM (or a non-AT&T based US carrier).

    Truephone doesn't use AT&T SIM cards, rather they roam on AT&T.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,351
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Relztrah View Post
    I pop my Truphone SIM card in an old ZTE model Z432 and it works.

    But I put that same SIM card in an AT&T LG Xpressions and get an error message.

    Hmmm. I have not actually used the LG Xpressions with AT&T or one of its MVNOs, but I believe it was only used with AT&T. So why am I getting that message?
    Truphone requires a carrier/network unlocked phone.

    Your LG Xpressions is a carrier/network locked phone - locked to AT&T. Truphone only roams on AT&T in the US.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    320
    Feedback Score
    0
    Fortunately, requesting an old device to be unlocked by AT&T is easy (unlike with Sprint).

    https://www.att.com/deviceunlock/?#/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,849
    Carrier(s)
    Tello (this month)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Very interesting. My son gave me that ZTE phone which he used with, I believe, Cricket, before he upgraded to a smartphone. So obviously it was network unlocked when he got it or did so himself since I didn't unlock it. I'll follow the link Maru supplies to unlock the LG Xpressions in case I ever use it with my Truphone SIM card. Thanks for your (plural) help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    118
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Relztrah View Post
    ... which he used with, I believe, Cricket, before he upgraded to a smartphone.
    After the sale to AT&T, older Cricket CDMA devices were swapped out to GSM/LTE devices and were generally locked to Cricket/AT&T. That explains why your son's Cricket phone was likely not unlocked.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 11:13 PM
  2. Will my 3g sim card work in 8890?
    By spoolinWRX in forum AT&T
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-04-2009, 01:53 AM
  3. Will my At&t sims card work in a prepaid go phone?
    By kawaii81 in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 10:13 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 05:39 PM
  5. Why doesnt my Boost sim card work in my nextel i90c
    By FastTruck in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2003, 03:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks