Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34

Thread: transfer talk minutes, data to a current tracfone

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,748
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by OldSoftware View Post
    Tues, 9/7/2019 is decision day.
    You must be using a different calendar from the rest of us

  2. #17
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,207
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    You must be using a different calendar from the rest of us
    I assume they meant the 17th

    Easy to miss a digit.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    You can ask a rep to combine the units/days of two active phones into one, but no partials, because the donor phone will be deactivated afterward.

    Here are the steps that you need to take, in the correct sequence:
    1. Port the phone number of TF1 to Google Fi. When the port is completed, TF1 will be deactivated, but its units (I don't know about days) can be reclaimed in Step 2.
    2. Within 30(?) days, reactivate TF1 with a lowest-cost time card. It'll be assigned a new number, but will have its former units (and maybe days) plus what you just added with the time card.
    3. Ask a rep to combine the units/days of TF1 to those on TF2. TF1 will be deactivated (again) afterward.
    4. Transfer everything (phone number, units, days) from TF2 to TF1.
    Do these steps apply to byop phones also? Do the byop phones have to be registered in a tracfone account?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,748
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by nex6 View Post
    Do these steps apply to byop phones also? Do the byop phones have to be registered in a tracfone account?
    Yes, the steps above also apply to BYOP phones. When a phone (TF-branded or BYOP) is in your TF account, that eliminates the question of your ownership. When you ask a rep to do something with that phone, you don't have to provide its IMEI or other info to prove that you are the owner.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    Current LG L44VL, wife Moto G gen3
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone Verizon mine, wife Tracfone ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    OK, this AM I had this message from Google Fi, "I've reached out to our porting department regarding your number transfer. They advised us that you will need to request a manual response to the transfer from the previous carrier. "
    I'm not sure who or what is to be done. While noodling this out I discovered that Google Fi requires 10 digit dial for local calls. That did it. 4 days and no number port and now this 10 digit problem. I canceled Google Fi and ordered a Tracfone SIM which will be here in two days. I'll move my precious phone number from one Tracfone to the Pixel 3a XL (I hope).

    I liked Google Fi as it has hotspot which tested out and it was just fine. First level support was quick to answer but not very helpful with the problem. Second level sucks and never directly responded over 4 days. I thought Tracfone was bad.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    Current LG L44VL, wife Moto G gen3
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone Verizon mine, wife Tracfone ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    You must be using a different calendar from the rest of us
    Yeah, my calendar was on the wrong month.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    Current LG L44VL, wife Moto G gen3
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone Verizon mine, wife Tracfone ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Why can't you use the Pixel on TF?
    That is what I am finally doing. I wanted Google Fi because of the hotspot capability. Now I have to find a different solution.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,207
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by OldSoftware View Post
    While noodling this out I discovered that Google Fi requires 10 digit dial for local calls. That did it.
    My old home phone, my work phone, and my cell phone all require 10digit dialing for all numbers. Been that way for several years. Sort of required with area code overlays.

    And with a cell. What would you default the area code to? You home or current location. If a location has overlay, which one would it be?

    But it's a non issue since most calls are saved contacts.

    And does it really take that much effort to touch dial the area code?

    Sorry, the days of 7 digit dialing are gone, just as the days of 4 and 5 digit dialing are gone.

    The only place I dial 7 digits is at work for internal numbers (PBX). Even there, 7 years ago we only needed 5 digits.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,207
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by OldSoftware View Post
    OK, this AM I had this message from Google Fi, "I've reached out to our porting department regarding your number transfer. They advised us that you will need to request a manual response to the transfer from the previous carrier. "
    I'm not sure who or what is to be done.
    Sounds like TF isn't releasing the number when Google asks for it. So you'd need to contact the TF porting department and tell them to release the number.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,267
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by OldSoftware View Post
    OK, this AM I had this message from Google Fi, "I've reached out to our porting department regarding your number transfer. They advised us that you will need to request a manual response to the transfer from the previous carrier. "
    I'm not sure who or what is to be done.
    Sometimes it does require a request by the account holder to the Tracfone porting department to get a phone number released. Something I mentioned in a recent PM to you. Did you see that?

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    Current LG L44VL, wife Moto G gen3
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone Verizon mine, wife Tracfone ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I didn't see that comment. I went backed and looked at your posts and didn't see it. It is too late now. I'm sticking with Tracfone for now.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,461
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Wow! There are areas where 7-digit calling still works?

  13. #28
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,207
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by OldSoftware View Post
    I didn't see that comment. I went backed and looked at your posts and didn't see it.
    Not a post, a private message.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,267
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Not a post, a private message.
    Yes, sent a PM instead of posting because it had contact information at Tracfone I did not want to make public.
    Not sure how members get a PM notice. It might depend on how you access the forums. I get an email alert.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,207
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Not sure how members get a PM notice. It might depend on how you access the forums. I get an email alert.
    TapaTalk is a bit weird about it, but the website gives a popup for new messages and it's easy to find old messages.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Bell I Transferred $30 Unlimited Data to HSPA+
    By JAKEHEARTSMAC in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 11-08-2009, 08:33 PM
  2. Bell Transfering Plan and Data to HSDPA From CDMA, the Easy Way or the Hard Way?
    By GRANDISON in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2009, 01:35 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-25-2009, 07:37 PM
  4. HUP and transferring voice and data to another contract
    By mand_187 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-01-2009, 10:53 PM
  5. Transferring Palm Desktop data to PPC
    By Joel930 in forum HP/Palm
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 08:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks