Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HTC M9 only gets edge connection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    81
    Carrier(s)
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0

    HTC M9 only gets edge connection

    I purchased a t-mobile M9 off ebay that was said to be unlocked. I am using it on Mint (t-mobile mvno) and only getting edge connection. APN set to Mint's instructions but after reboot apn tries to default to the tmobile apn that cannot be deleted.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,321
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    You need to confirm if the phone has the correct LTE network bands. If it does not, nothing you can do to change that. The bands At&t and the bands used on T-Mobile may not match and would explain what is happening to you.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    81
    Carrier(s)
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    The HTC M9 was a T-mobile phone and it did have the correct bands for Mint (T-mobile mvno). I switched to a Nexus 6 and getting better reception, same sim card and location.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,321
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Have technical support do a technical ticket if it can't be resolved over the phone. Best wishes.
    Last edited by Serial Port; 08-26-2019 at 07:53 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    81
    Carrier(s)
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    okay, the phone is getting better radio connection to the towers than last summer but now the question is that it is on Android 6.0 and fails every time to run the update.
    Any idea on getting it to update Android?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,321
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Keep in mind that the device has been discontinued by both At&t and T-mobile. That phone supports LTE on bands 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 7 / 12 / 13 / 17 / 29 / 30 and no VOLTE (Voice over LTE). Additionally, that device only supported Android 5.0 so not likely you will ever get an OS update to 6.0 unless you manually install it at your own risk. Short answer is that your carrier will not send an OS update, only security updates until 5.0 is no longer supported (which it may not be already). Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. I believe that phone was released in 2015 or 2016.

    You can read more about the phone specifications here: https://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=4768

    Might be time to consider a phone upgrade.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.S. Inland Northwest
    Posts
    68
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    StraightTalk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    Keep in mind that the device has been discontinued by both At&t and T-mobile. That phone supports LTE on bands 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 7 / 12 / 13 / 17 / 29 / 30 and no VOLTE (Voice over LTE). Additionally, that device only supported Android 5.0 so not likely you will ever get an OS update to 6.0 unless you manually install it at your own risk.
    Not correct, on multiple counts.

    While true that this is an old phone that has not been manufactured or sold for some time now, HTC officially released Nougat (Android 7.0) on this model in late 2016/early 2017 (ref. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTC_One_M9)

    Furthermore, this model also absolutely supports VoLTE, and in fact has been certified for VoLTE use by both AT&T and T-Mobile on their respective networks:

    https://www.t-mobile.com/support/dev...ttings-android
    https://www.att.com/ecms/dam/att/con...TT-Network.pdf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,321
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, my error in that case. I was going on the information available to me and I did not have those links at the time of my post. I would imagine that the OP moved on after almost 4 months since the last post on this thread.

    Based on the age of the phone, I did not think it was fully compatible. Life goes on......

Similar Threads

  1. htc one v only getting edge coverage, why?
    By jturkish in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-22-2013, 09:46 PM
  2. My HD2 Only getting EDGE!
    By maiki in forum HTC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-07-2010, 01:54 PM
  3. 3G only, no EDGE connection??
    By uesnyc in forum HTC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 04:15 PM
  4. new USA N95 on AT&T only getting EDGE, not 3G
    By ChromeBro in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 11:41 PM
  5. Can only get 'partial' connectivity
    By gmenfonce in forum LG
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2004, 01:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks