Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 32

Thread: How to convert landline number to mobile cheap?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Florida
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Lycamobile, Sprint, Tello, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick880 View Post
    eBay T-Mobile SIM may not work anymore according to the discussion here:

    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...y-Ultra-Mobile
    Good point. Without over complicating the process, finding a prefunded month on a sim from a dealer on a TMO MVNO for a stopping point prior to a GV port was where I was going. That auction seems to fill it at minimum pricing. Ultra may not be the best MVNO for this, though, and I haven’t tried them.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    168
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for your suggestion,

    I did find many cheap Ultramobile SIMs in EBAY, but I am not sure, whether it work with Paygo plan.

    I think to port to google voice you have to have some air time to receive a verification call, which would mean adding anothe $10 in Tmobile recharge to this project, so I would propose the cheapest is getting at preloaded ultra mobile sim, they are $10 or so, least expensive is $9.90 free shipping or best offer. Search eBay for

    323869015237

    That is the ID the least expensive one. Note that I have never used this seller or Ultra Mobile, so if there are catches there, others please chime in!
    I am able find this item
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/PreLoaded-U...kAAOSwLBlc3tep

    Seller says, we need to send SIM + other info to him for activation

    Will ultramoble support able to activate this SIM after buying from EBAY seller ?

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Florida
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Lycamobile, Sprint, Tello, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    Thanks for your suggestion,

    I did find many cheap Ultramobile SIMs in EBAY, but I am not sure, whether it work with Paygo plan.



    I am able find this item
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/PreLoaded-U...kAAOSwLBlc3tep

    Seller says, we need to send SIM + other info to him for activation

    Will ultramoble support able to activate this SIM after buying from EBAY seller ?

    Thanks for sharing.
    So the seller is a dealer, he can activate phones so you hopefully won't need support.

    The idea is that you get a free month on a plan so in a way it is prepaid for that month, not paygo.

    The hope is that you would stay a customer into a second month. So you might not want to mention porting out until the port in is settled.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    158
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Vertabrae View Post
    The idea is that you get a free month on a plan so in a way it is prepaid for that month, not paygo.
    This sounds more complicate than needed. One thing to think ahead is the information needed to port the number out? Who owns the account from the carrier's perspective? The dealer or the user? Whom to get the account # and PIN for porting out from?

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Florida
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Lycamobile, Sprint, Tello, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick880 View Post
    This sounds more complicate than needed. One thing to think ahead is the information needed to port the number out? Who owns the account from the carrier's perspective? The dealer or the user? Whom to get the account # and PIN for porting out from?
    It's your account.

    The path from a landline to GV has to run through a mobile provider. That provider can be any, but you have a TMO device to use, which limits the choices. We are pinching pennies, probably needlessly with
    Ultra.

    I still think getting a TMO sim and activating with TMO prepaid and paying the paygo charge is the simplest stopping point before the port to GV. Another easy fix is getting literally any burner phone at any store and porting to it.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    168
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Here is what I hear from Ultramoble about my NOKIA phone >

    +++
    In regards to your query, the bands that we support for LTE are placed below:

    1900 MHz 2 4G LTE
    4G (HSPA+)
    3G (UMTS/HSPA)
    2G (GSM/GPRS/EDGE)
    1700/2100 MHz
    (AWS) 4 4G LTE
    4G (HSPA+)
    3G (UMTS/HSPA)
    850 MHz 5 4G LTE
    700 MHz 12 4G LTE
    We’ve been checking the device compatibility, and we could confirm that the Nokia Lumia 530 is not compatible with the 4G LTE and the 3G bands, meaning that you might be having some kind of issues with that phone.

    ++++

    Did anyone use Nokia Lumia 530 with Ultramoble ?

    I did use this phone with t-mobile awhile ago. Why is not usable with Ultramobile?

    Thanks for sharing.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    439
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8, iPad Mini 4, Blackberry KEY 2
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was gonna say to try to use a freeup free plan but i don't know how they will take the IMEI number of your TMobile device... They allow my uncle to use an old Xfinity mobile phone on freeup mobile but he doesn't use data just calling texting and wifi

    Also if you could get an unlocked ATT phone this might also work...

    Sent from my SM-G977U using Tapatalk

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Florida
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Lycamobile, Sprint, Tello, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    Here is what I hear from Ultramoble about my NOKIA phone >

    +++
    In regards to your query, the bands that we support for LTE are placed below:

    1900 MHz 2 4G LTE
    4G (HSPA+)
    3G (UMTS/HSPA)
    2G (GSM/GPRS/EDGE)
    1700/2100 MHz
    (AWS) 4 4G LTE
    4G (HSPA+)
    3G (UMTS/HSPA)
    850 MHz 5 4G LTE
    700 MHz 12 4G LTE
    We’ve been checking the device compatibility, and we could confirm that the Nokia Lumia 530 is not compatible with the 4G LTE and the 3G bands, meaning that you might be having some kind of issues with that phone.

    ++++

    Did anyone use Nokia Lumia 530 with Ultramoble ?

    I did use this phone with t-mobile awhile ago. Why is not usable with Ultramobile?

    Thanks for sharing.
    The check they are doing is for smartphone data on 3G and 4G which is not relevant since you only need to make calls. That phone will do 3G data so long term they’re correct and it’s not going to be good for years of use but again, you aren’t really going to be using it long.

    It is usable with ultra mobile and if you can’t find a dealer who will activate it, move on. They didn’t say it was incompatible. It’s not.

    I would just buy a $4 new tmo sim from any decent seller and activate it on the phone for $10. Get the new account and new and pin. Wait a day and port it to GV for $20.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    168
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for your suggestions.
    I would just buy a $4 new tmo sim from any decent seller and activate it on the phone for $10. Get the new account and new and pin. Wait a day and port it to GV for $20.
    "activate it on the phone for $10 " Are you suggesting to buy new phone ? If yes, what phone to buy ?

    Thanks for sharing.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,691
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    Thanks for your suggestions.


    "activate it on the phone for $10 " Are you suggesting to buy new phone ? If yes, what phone to buy ?

    Thanks for sharing.
    No! Your T-Mobile Nokia Lumina 530 will work just fine on Ultra Mobile for your purpose.

    Also, if Ultra Mobile told you to get a T-Mobile SIM from a T-Mobile store to use with their service, the $3.39 delivered SIM from the eBay link I provided to you above will be exactly the same, so go that route if you want to same some money.

    Once you get the T-Mobile SIM card, simply initiate the port in of your landline # to Ultra Mobile. As soon as the Ultra Mobile service is working, you can then initiate the port of that old landline # to GV.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    168
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for weighing in.

    I did convert my land line to OBI using procom box. I did the OBI Configuration to work. I find the incoming calls are ringing in my Handset and smartphone.

    What are the OBI configuration settings to make only hand set (Land line) to ring?

    Thanks for your help.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,691
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    Thanks for weighing in.

    I did convert my land line to OBI using procom box. I did the OBI Configuration to work. I find the incoming calls are ringing in my Handset and smartphone.

    What are the OBI configuration settings to make only hand set (Land line) to ring?

    Thanks for your help.
    Calls ringing on your smartphone doesn't have anything to do with the Obihai setup.

    It depends on how you're receiving the calls on your smartphone.

    For example, if you're using Hangouts on your smartphone:

    Open the Hangouts app.

    Tap the hamburger menu at the top left.

    Tap settings.

    Select the Google account associated with the GV # you're using.

    Scroll down until you see "Incoming phone calls", and DISABLE it.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    168
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for your guidance. Here is what I did.

    Open the Hangouts app.

    Tap the hamburger menu at the top left.

    Tap settings. ==> Done

    Select the Google account associated with the GV # you're using. ==> Done

    Scroll down until you see "Incoming phone calls", and DISABLE it. ==>

    Incoming calls ===> Notifications OFF

    Incoming calls ===> OFF

    Messages ====> OFF

    All the above are for my OBI GV account, but still incoming calls are ringing on both Handset & Smart Phone.

    Thanks.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,691
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Then there's something else going on.

    Do you have your GV # forwarded to your real cell phone # in the GV settings at google.com/voice?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    168
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for your reply.

    I have a primary GV number forwarded to my real cell phone # in the GV settings .

    I have a different GV account for my OBI #. This number is not linked/forwarded to my real cell phone #

    The incoming calls are coming to GV account for my OBI#,

    I am not sure, how this OBI# making my cell to ring. If my OBI goes off line, OBI/GV notifications showing up in my phone.

    Any directions ?

    Thanks for helping.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to convert Experia Arc to AWS (Wind mobile band)
    By urs_Canon in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2014, 12:27 AM
  2. Bell Transferring landline number to mobile
    By michael007 in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-15-2004, 08:35 PM
  3. How to convert MMF file to SMAF file
    By MJGunn in forum Samsung
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-20-2002, 10:53 AM
  4. how to download 500+ numbers to t100
    By cjsj in forum Samsung
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-30-2002, 10:55 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2001, 04:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks