Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: iPhone 6S (A1688) "incompatible" with VoLTE?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    12
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s (A1688) x4 devices
    Carrier(s)
    PagePlus/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    iPhone 6S (A1688) "incompatible" with VoLTE?

    Wife's old 5S was constantly rebooting, so I bought her a 6S and put her SIM card in and everything was seemingly fine for 3-4 days until today. She texts me (over wifi) that her phone says "No Service".

    4 calls to PP tech support:
    Call #1 (before I had the phone physically in my hand) I called to update the IMEI with PP system (I figured something didn't update automatically.) Agent asked for the SIM card info, but I didn't have the phone to look at it. He gave me a priority number to call back with a PIN# to get through directly without holding very long.

    Call #2 6S in hand. I call and the agent runs the IMEI and tells me the device isn't compatible with VoLTE. Offered no additional support, and never mentioned the SIM card.

    Online research reveals that ALL iPhone 6 and above are built with VoLTE functionality. Went under Cellular Settings and tried to check "Enable LTE for Voice & Data" (it was set on Data only). I get the device message, "Cannot Activate LTE Calls. To enable LTE calls on this account, contact TFW."

    Call #3 agent checks IMEI again and tells me "device is not compatible".

    Go onto HoFo and read at least one post that mentions that the old SIM card may not be provisioned for 4G LTE service. Sounds plausible since she's had that phone for over 3 years.

    Call #4 I ask this agent about the SIM card issue and she tells me that "ALL currently active SIMs have been provisioned for 4G LTE service". Asks to check IMEI and I decline because I know what "the system" is going to tell her.....

    Finally, I swapped my son's newer SIM card into the device and the functionality was instantly available to enable "LTE Voice & Data". I suspect the old SIM card is the issue and since they are only $0.98, I ordered new ones for my wife (and my soon to be purchased) phones.

    I'm really disappointed in the support team right now. I suspect that the first agent may have been leading me in the correct direction, but I didn't have all of the information necessary for him to help me. The next three agents were clearly going off of scripts and not at all knowledgeable about my equipment. Once I receive the new SIM cards, I'll get to speak to another agent(s) to get them activated to the phone numbers on my account and see if that solves the issue.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    240
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    They simply don't update their scripts and don't train their reps properly. Page Plus flat out sucks.

    See my recent rant here: https://howardforums.com/showthread....9#post17083359

    I too have an older sim card in a 6s that's still locked to TF. I bought it new at Walmart in March. The TF sim card that came in the phone also wouldn't work for VoLTE. I don't remember exactly what I was trying to do a couple months ago, switching around sim cards, but I ended up with a 3-year old PP (not TF) sim card in the phone with the same phone number. VoLTE still doesn't work with either sim card.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    779
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmeriaux View Post
    Finally, I swapped my son's newer SIM card into the device and the functionality was instantly available to enable "LTE Voice & Data". I suspect the old SIM card is the issue and since they are only $0.98, I ordered new ones for my wife (and my soon to be purchased) phones.
    Next time just run down to a BestBuy or some other big box and pick up a Tracfone SIM kit ($1). What you get from PagePlus is a Tracfone Vzw SIM. Always worked fine for me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,922
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmeriaux View Post
    Once I receive the new SIM cards, I'll get to speak to another agent(s) to get them activated to the phone numbers on my account and see if that solves the issue.
    The SIM card is not so much responsible for VoLTE, as is the account itself. Swapping the 5S SIM to the 6S was a mistake, as that account is not (and can't be) VoLTE provisioned. A transfer of service should have been done with a new account for the 6S. Not sure about PPC, but Tracfone has been doing VoLTE provisioning on activations for just about a year. Accounts activated before that don't have VoLTE, even if the phone is capable. In theory the 5S SIM could be reprovisioned, but poor chance you can find a CSR smart enough to do that. Just use a new SIM to activate.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,780
    Device(s)
    HTC MyTouch 3G
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    The SIM card is not so much responsible for VoLTE, as is the account itself. Swapping the 5S SIM to the 6S was a mistake, as that account is not (and can't be) VoLTE provisioned.
    Please remind me about the iPhone 6... is/was that capable of VoLTE or more like the 5S?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,127
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by monkeyboy View Post
    Please remind me about the iPhone 6... is/was that capable of VoLTE or more like the 5S?
    The iPhone 6 WILL work for VoLTE. The 5s will NOT.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,562
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    An additional issue with the Model 6 right now is (if it at all matters) that the coming transition to the introduction of version 13.x.x of iOS will not be including it. So if you're just carrying forward an existing 6 it's one thing, but if shopping for a "new to you" device and have any interest in how it'll work with the latest iOS apps a year or two from now, it might be something to consider, and look for a 6S.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,127
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    That sounds like good advice!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    12
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s (A1688) x4 devices
    Carrier(s)
    PagePlus/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Update.

    The reason for my original post was the incompetent phone-in tech support. Every person I spoke with AND another 1-2 that my wife talked to (trying to “help” out) were useless in helping get the phones (multiple iPhone 6S devices) working. Once I finally figured out how to navigate to the online chat-based support, the first person (Geo) was able to give me the APN profile download instructions which got all of my update issues resolved!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    12
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s (A1688) x4 devices
    Carrier(s)
    PagePlus/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Update #2.

    I now have four (4) iPhone 6S phones working. I am not 100% sure they are all provisioned for VoLTE service yet, but they all can make calls and use cellular data. The two newest phones can use LTE for both Voice & Data, but the older accounts (previous 5S devices) are only provisioned for LTE Data Only for now. I’ll try and reach a competent CSR through chat in the near future and attempt to get the accounts updated.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    779
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmeriaux View Post
    Update #2.

    I now have four (4) iPhone 6S phones working. I am not 100% sure they are all provisioned for VoLTE service yet, but they all can make calls and use cellular data. The two newest phones can use LTE for both Voice & Data, but the older accounts (previous 5S devices) are only provisioned for LTE Data Only for now. I’ll try and reach a competent CSR through chat in the near future and attempt to get the accounts updated.
    Maybe I missed it but did you put in new SIMs instead of the old ones taken out of the 5s. It's been mentioned several times above. Keep in mind a TF SIM = a PP SIM. From other posts around the threads if the SIM's too old it likely can't/won't get reprovisioned. Maybe you'll get a CSR that can do it. Also, I've never found PP CSR's to be any different on these issues then other carriers CSR's. It's luck of the draw. Good luck.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    12
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s (A1688) x4 devices
    Carrier(s)
    PagePlus/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    After reading other threads about PP and TF provisioning accounts for VoLTE and/or Visual Voicemail services, I noticed that my account was updated last night. I received the odd text regarding Visual Voicemail service (VZWVVM:STATUS......etc.) then verified that under Cellular settings, I now have LTE available for both Voice & Data (indicating that VoLTE is working). So now 3/4 phones in my account are updated. Now waiting for the seemingly random upgrade to my wife's number.

    FWIW, my device that just updated has an older SIM card in it and still shows Verizon carrier settings. So the SIM card theory is out...........it's all on the account settings withing PP/Tracfone.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,922
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmeriaux View Post
    FWIW, my device that just updated has an older SIM card in it and still shows Verizon carrier settings. So the SIM card theory is out...........it's all on the account settings withing PP/Tracfone.
    Yep, the account itself determines the service. Certain of the information is sent to the SIM so that the network can identify and interact with the phone. It was found with a recent TF branded phone that the network thinks the phone is working with VoLTE, but the phone actually does not have functioning VoLTE. Seems the network had pre-qualified the phone as being VoLTE capable, the SIM says there is VoLTE, but there is no checking past that.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    138
    Feedback Score
    0
    I started a recent thread with this same problem on my two iPhone SE. Same issues with TFW support as well.

    I finally got a TFW "corporate" person to agree to send me a new SIM card to try, though he was also certain the problem was my phone. Several TFW people gave conflicting statements about what was showing in their system. No one acknowledged that there was anything they could do with my account.

Similar Threads

  1. Purchasing a new iPhone 6s Plus basically for FREE (with $650 rebate on citicard)
    By BaylorBears in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-06-2015, 10:11 PM
  2. Iphone 6s Factory Unlocking to use with Wind,Videotron,Telus,Koodo,Virgin,Bell
    By canadagsm.ca in forum Canadagsm.ca Best deals in mobilephones, accessories and unlocking all under one roof
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2015, 12:22 PM
  3. iPhone 6S Plus Flex Cable Ribbon with Power Button Connector and Mic
    By SSTparts.com in forum Cellphone Spare Parts & Repair Tools - LCD Digitizer Flex Cable from USA www.SSTparts.com
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2015, 09:56 PM
  4. / Fido IPhone 6s Sim Unlocking to work with different carriers around the world
    By canadagsm.ca in forum Canadagsm.ca Best deals in mobilephones, accessories and unlocking all under one roof
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2015, 06:09 PM
  5. /Fido IPhone 6s Plus Network to work with Bell,Telus,PC-Mobile,Virgin,Sasktel
    By canadagsm.ca in forum Canadagsm.ca Best deals in mobilephones, accessories and unlocking all under one roof
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2015, 05:51 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks