Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Why do some phones not offer data in some European countries?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    449
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 256gig (me), iPhone 7 32gig (wife)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Why do some phones not offer data in some European countries?

    first, I'm not a T-Mo customer, YET.

    My wife and I are both well over 55; T-Mo plans look really good for us who have been on Verizon MVNOs with iPhone 7 for about 5 years.

    I started looking when my wife's boss said international data, while not really fast, is included. She's going to Greece and Croatia for several weeks this fall. I was looking at a Vodafone prepaid SIM for her trip.

    I accept it being true, but WHY, technically, will the iPhone 7 work in many countries (England, Croatia, Spain, Morocco, and Germany for examples) but not in others (Italy and Greece in particular)

    This is not a complaint, just a question from an electronics engineer.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14,633
    Feedback Score
    0
    Could you provide a little more info about which service won't work in Italy and Greece with the iPhone 7? Are you saying the Vodafone prepaid SIM won't work in those countries in the iPhone7?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New York, New York, United States
    Posts
    552
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6610, Touch Pro II, Lumia 640, LG G7
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile (Since Omnipoint!)
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is no technical reason as far as I can see. The IPhone 7 should support all the Italian and Greek bands according to its specs. There may be a restriction Vodafone puts on the prepaid SIM. (Note not all phones support the necessary bands but the IPhone is not one of those).


    https://www.frequencycheck.com/compa...hone-9-3/italy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    449
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 256gig (me), iPhone 7 32gig (wife)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    OP here ... let's include pictures since I communicated so poorly ... this is using the T-Mo international lookup for Greece where she'll be for about 2 weeks.

    I also checked England, Croatia, Spain, Morocco, and Germany which do show working.

    I know NOTHING about a Vodafone SIM except that it, per several sites, is the 2nd best for Greece, their local company is best. A Vodafone is what I am considering other than T-Mo.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,900
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gbynum View Post
    OP here ... let's include pictures since I communicated so poorly ... this is using the T-Mo international lookup for Greece where she'll be for about 2 weeks. I also checked England, Croatia, Spain, Morocco, and Germany which do show working. I know NOTHING about a Vodafone SIM except that it, per several sites, is the 2nd best for Greece, their local company is best. A Vodafone is what I am considering other than T-Mo.
    what model iphone 7 do you have ?? see here - https://www.apple.com/lae/iphone/LTE/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Northeast US
    Posts
    1,411
    Device(s)
    LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's clearly a mistake. That website doesn't show *any* phone that has alleged compatibility in Greece.

    I can assure you that we had an iPhone 7 work flawlessly in Greece with a T-Mobile SIM April of last year.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,754
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    The problem is that you're putting too much faith in the T-Mobile website. When it comes to phone capabilities, bands, roaming, etc. it's all screwed up. You have to have confidence in your own research and ignore T-Mobile's "experts" when they conflict.
    Donald Newcomb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    840
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    The problem is that you're putting too much faith in the T-Mobile website. When it comes to phone capabilities, bands, roaming, etc. it's all screwed up. You have to have confidence in your own research and ignore T-Mobile's "experts" when they conflict.
    Exactly.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,398
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just as a note.. I'm going on a limb here.
    I did use iPhone 7 (T-Mobile) in Greece and Italy. If you have a Verizon iPhone 7, you may have issues specifically to LTE/UMTS/GSM bands.
    https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
    Apple's site may not be up to par on this, Verizon may have a more 'limited' GSM/UTMS/LTE iPhone 7 due to its CDMA chipset needed for .. Verizon than the more 'global' version.
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,398
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ThePhantom View Post
    That's clearly a mistake. That website doesn't show *any* phone that has alleged compatibility in Greece.

    I can assure you that we had an iPhone 7 work flawlessly in Greece with a T-Mobile SIM April of last year.
    Was your phone a ... Verizon branded CDMA iPhone 7.. or other ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    449
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 256gig (me), iPhone 7 32gig (wife)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    OP again ...

    With the iPhone 7 for sure, The phones are not marked with Verizon brand. My wife bought hers from the Apple Store as a "works with everyone, SIM free". If she'd said Verizon she would have, I think, had to have an account with them and would have received a SIM. We removed her SIM from an iPhone 5 and installed it. Activating (fully) took several days because PagePlus had some weird way to install a profile.

    Mine was bought used and was originally a Verizon issued phone. I dropped my Selectel sim in from my Motorola MotoX; activating took less than a minute.

    Apple has to, AIUI, pay Qualcomm a license fee for the CDMA capability so they slightly PREFER to sell non-CDMA devices.

    We are, for stupid reasons, with 2 different Verizon MVNOs. There is no lock of any type on either phone. I know the guy from whom I bought mine; he paid for it in full.

    She's going to Greece and Croatia for 2+ weeks in support of local groups there and I want to have her phone ready. Her 2 previous trips involved multiple days to get a local SIM working.

    Thus my posts, here and on "general prepaid".

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,900
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gbynum View Post
    OP again ... With the iPhone 7 for sure, The phones are not marked with Verizon brand. My wife bought hers from the Apple Store as a "works with everyone, SIM free". If she'd said Verizon she would have, I think, had to have an account with them and would have received a SIM. We removed her SIM from an iPhone 5 and installed it. Activating (fully) took several days because PagePlus had some weird way to install a profile. Mine was bought used and was originally a Verizon issued phone. I dropped my Selectel sim in from my Motorola MotoX; activating took less than a minute. Apple has to, AIUI, pay Qualcomm a license fee for the CDMA capability so they slightly PREFER to sell non-CDMA devices. We are, for stupid reasons, with 2 different Verizon MVNOs. There is no lock of any type on either phone. I know the guy from whom I bought mine; he paid for it in full. She's going to Greece and Croatia for 2+ weeks in support of local groups there and I want to have her phone ready. Her 2 previous trips involved multiple days to get a local SIM working. Thus my posts, here and on "general prepaid".
    have you tried using a different web browser to see if you still get that phone not compatible error message ?? and are you using any script blocking add-ons like no script ??

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    130
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    The iPhone 7 will work on the GSM service in those countries. The only time the CDMA is active is if you are using a CDMA carriers SIM card like Sprint or Verizon or one of those carriers MVNO. All Europen countries use GSM so your phones will work.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Posts
    210
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just had this problem as my parents are traveling in the UK and TMo's site said that the Galaxy S9+ wasn't compatible (false). He's using it there now. I didn't try my Mom's iPhone on that list. I just dismissed it as bugged.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,754
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Please everyone! This whole issue is a red herring. There is no problem using any iPhone 7 in Europe. These are the band specs for the model A1660 as sold in the USA.
    2G bands GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 & CDMA2000 1xEV-DO; TD-SCDMA
    3G bands HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700(AWS) / 1900 / 2100
    4G bands LTE band 1(2100), 2(1900), 3(1800), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 7(2600), 8(900), 12(700), 13(700), 17(700), 18(800), 19(800), 20(800), 25(1900), 26(850), 27(800), 28(700), 29(700), 30(2300), 38(2600), 39(1900), 40(2300), 41(2500)

    The bands marked in red are used in various countries around Europe. There is no issue with the phone. The problem is with T-Mobile's website.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Japan Quake/Tsunami: Why do cell phones work when the phone lines do not
    By GVRD777 in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 02:55 PM
  2. Why do most phones not have an address section in contacts?
    By MGorgon in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 02:09 AM
  3. Why do my phone batteries last longer in Europe?
    By psvensson in forum General European Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 09:43 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2003, 04:47 PM
  5. Why do GSM phones cause buzzing sound in landline phones?
    By Olaf in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-02-2003, 08:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks