Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Bonding the connection of 2 nighthawks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    357
    Feedback Score
    0

    Bonding the connection of 2 nighthawks

    I recently had some problems that led me to upgrade my router and my unite express to a nighthawk. It looks like my new router will allow me to bond 2 wans, I already have another nighthawk on a ccu plan. Is it possible to use these as a bonded set? As far as I can tell as long as the modem allows for 802.3ad it should work but I can not find if the nighthawk is capable of this. Anyone know further info?


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    1,041
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cocky01 View Post
    I recently had some problems that led me to upgrade my router and my unite express to a nighthawk. It looks like my new router will allow me to bond 2 wans, I already have another nighthawk on a ccu plan. Is it possible to use these as a bonded set? As far as I can tell as long as the modem allows for 802.3ad it should work but I can not find if the nighthawk is capable of this. Anyone know further info?


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

    most likely it will only do balancing not true bonding. that said, what are you expectations / what are you trying to accomplish by connecting two nighthawks together? cell tower has a set amount of bandwidth and you could be sharing bandwidth on the tower/specific channel... if you are hitting the device maximums and there is still capacity at the tower/on the channel, then perhaps it could make sense to connect two together but that would probably be unnecessary for 99% of people...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    357
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mysterym View Post
    most likely it will only do balancing not true bonding. that said, what are you expectations / what are you trying to accomplish by connecting two nighthawks together? cell tower has a set amount of bandwidth and you could be sharing bandwidth on the tower/specific channel... if you are hitting the device maximums and there is still capacity at the tower/on the channel, then perhaps it could make sense to connect two together but that would probably be unnecessary for 99% of people...
    It does both, has bonding link aggregation as well as load balance and fail over. I live in an extremely rural area, and the majority of people around me maybe a couple hundred that live out here a lot use Verizon, and most are flip phone people. I have seen both hit 50 or so mb at the same time so would like to see if it would work since my only other options are 12mb dsl for 70 bucks. Don’t think I would use it a lot mostly just have about 3 streams going at the most and light surfing on a couple of phones but since I’m going to pay for both lines for the foreseeable future and the new router also covers the whole house now (did have nighthawk in my bedroom as it was light on coverage) makes sense to use both on the router.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    357
    Feedback Score
    0
    So I tried a RT-AX88 which defintely has wan aggregation, judging by the speed tests it did not work and the router itself seemed to verify this with a yellow exclamation and a list of reasons why it may not be working. Going to try and call netgear and see if there is a setting for 802.3 as that seems like the next logical step since I’m still not sure they even support it


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    357
    Feedback Score
    0
    Issue with first router was even though it was used in a write up about want aggregation it meant lan aggregation


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Temple
    Posts
    1,677
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    https://speedify.com/

    Tested a couple years ago and it worked then on wifi/hardline bonding.
    iPhone Xs Max , At&t Unlimited Plus Austin, TX .................... Grande 1000/50, $69.99/month

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    357
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have seen that , and it also being a vpn is intriguing but I was looking for a hardware solution so I wouldn’t be tied to a monthly fee


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    100
    Feedback Score
    0
    DSL-style bonding isn't possible with cellular modems.
    The difference with DSL bonding is the bonding happens at the data link layer, while with cellular it happens at the IP layer.
    All SD-WAN style routers will never give you speeds combining the throughput of your links.
    Instead, you get the average speed of your links.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-07-2005, 04:36 PM
  2. connection in the middle of nowhere...
    By remusrm in forum AT&T
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-19-2005, 07:38 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2005, 08:35 PM
  4. no connection fee till the end of the month at AmCall
    By rip in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2004, 04:56 PM
  5. do any of the connection cards work with mac???
    By tbonecopper in forum Sprint
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 12:53 AM

Bookmarks