Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: China Xiaomi Redmi phone with TF

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    70
    Device(s)
    Moto slider, Honor 3C, Redmi 4N
    Carrier(s)
    XOX
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    China Xiaomi Redmi phone with TF

    I chose the ATT SIM from the starter pack. Big mistake, couldn't use the data at all but the voice and texts OK. CS patiently tried for hours to remedy but no avail. I finally asked CS to help me switch to the T-Mobile SIM and it worked fine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,263
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by oneeleven View Post
    I chose the ATT SIM from the starter pack. Big mistake, couldn't use the data at all but the voice and texts OK. CS patiently tried for hours to remedy but no avail. I finally asked CS to help me switch to the T-Mobile SIM and it worked fine.
    What LTE bands does the phone you got support? What EXACT model did you get? Many phones like that have poor US LTE band support.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    70
    Device(s)
    Moto slider, Honor 3C, Redmi 4N
    Carrier(s)
    XOX
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I don't have answers at hand except that it is a Redmi 4 Note. It worked fine on T-Mobile but no way CS could get data on ATT.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,625
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, Lumia 640XL
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    According to GSMarena.com (click Expand on the Network line), the Note 4 has LTE bands 1(2100), 3(1800), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 7(2600), 8(900), 20(800), 38(2600), 40(2300). According to THIS SITE , only Bands 4 and 5 are usable on AT&T and T-mobile. Since band 4 is not a main band (in bold) for AT&T, it sounds logical that data for the Note 4 only works widely on T-mobile.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,263
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by oneeleven View Post
    I don't have answers at hand except that it is a Redmi 4 Note. It worked fine on T-Mobile but no way CS could get data on ATT.
    If https://www.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_redmi_note_4-8531.php is accurate, it looks like the Redmi 4 Note only has LTE bands 1/3/4/5/7/8/20/40, of which only bands 4 and 5 might work in the US on both AT&T and T-Mo, but perhaps not in your area for AT&T, OR maybe the APN was wrong. But like I said above, that phone has poor US LTE band support.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    70
    Device(s)
    Moto slider, Honor 3C, Redmi 4N
    Carrier(s)
    XOX
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    4G FDD-LTE TDD-LTEB1, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20 B38, B40

    3G WCDMAB1, B2, B5, B8

    2G GSMB2, B3, B5, B8

    So it looks good, what's missing?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,625
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, Lumia 640XL
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by oneeleven View Post
    4G FDD-LTE TDD-LTEB1, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20 B38, B40

    So it looks good, what's missing?
    It doesn't have the main LTE bands used by AT&T and T-mobile. See link in post #4 above for a list of those bands.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,988
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by oneeleven View Post
    4G FDD-LTE TDD-LTEB1, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20 B38, B40

    3G WCDMAB1, B2, B5, B8

    So it looks good, what's missing?
    Missing 2 and 12/17 is a huge problem for use on AT&T.

    3G (HSPA/HSPA+) on 2 and 5 should work though.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,263
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by oneeleven View Post
    4G FDD-LTE TDD-LTEB1, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20 B38, B40

    3G WCDMAB1, B2, B5, B8

    2G GSMB2, B3, B5, B8

    So it looks good, what's missing?
    No, it doesn't look good.

    You were already provided all the info you need to see that above.

    AT&T and T-Mo US LTE bands from https://www.phonearena.com/news/Chea...he-USA_id77933 that hpham linked above (thanks, hpham!):
    AT&T 2, 4, 5, 12, 14, 17, 29, 30, 66
    T-Mobile 2, 4, 5, 12, 66, 71
    The bold bands are primary. That Redmi Note 4 is missing most of them.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,982
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    3G (HSPA/HSPA+) on 2 and 5 should work though.
    You might have to use the AT&T 3G/4G APNs instead of LTE APNs.
    https://www.whistleout.com/CellPhone...T-APN-settings

    TF CS may not know about 3G/4G APNs in the LTE era.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,982
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    It doesn't have the main LTE bands used by AT&T and T-mobile. See link in post #4 above for a list of those bands.
    Has B4 which is the main band for T-Mobile.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,988
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    You might have to use the AT&T 3G/4G APNs instead of LTE APNs.
    I would have thought the TF APN would fall back correctly.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,982
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    I would have thought the TF APN would fall back correctly.
    Without LTE Band 2 and 12/17, the network would read the phone as only 3G/4G on AT&T. Maybe the current TF APNs need to see an active LTE band to initially set up the account? This phone did work on T-Mobile, as it has the necessary B4.

    There was a time when TF sold 3G/4G phones for AT&T service, but that was a good while ago. One of those APNs might work?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Baja Oregon / Big Island, HI
    Posts
    84
    Device(s)
    Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite (Global) = LG Phoenix 2 = Moto E
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Tracfone, Mint
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I have a Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite (Redmi 6 Pro) with both TF (AT&T) and Mint (T-Mobile) SIMs in it right now; and while it lacks bands 12 & 17, I get data download speeds in the 18-24MB range which is good enough for me


    GSM B2/3/5/8
    WCDMA B1/2/5/8
    FDD-LTE B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/20
    TD-LTE B38/40

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,982
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by touringpro View Post
    I have a Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite (Redmi 6 Pro) with both TF (AT&T) and Mint (T-Mobile) SIMs in it right now; and while it lacks bands 12 & 17, I get data download speeds in the 18-24MB range which is good enough for me.
    What APN is yours using? Yes, HSPA+ can be plenty fast.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MIUI Phone-Xiaomi Phone with MIUI OS
    By fizz1234 in forum Mobilicity
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-31-2011, 10:14 PM
  2. Is there any benefit to register your phone with TF?
    By newtoy1001 in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 01:41 PM
  3. China Phone with MEDIANet
    By NotBlaine in forum AT&T Prepaid (formerly GoPhone)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-12-2009, 08:20 AM
  4. whats it with China and fake phones!!!!!!!!
    By mater in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-01-2006, 08:00 PM
  5. putting pics on the phone with the TF card
    By mattg in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2004, 06:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks