Device(s)
    Lg800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

The need for screen protectors

Since I keep most phones only about a year, I was wondering if it is necessary to even have a screen protector? What say you? My LG G3 ATT BYOP has one, and I have had that phone for 3 years as tracfone doesnt seem to offer any big screen ATT fones. Maybe my backup Verizon tracfone doesnt need one?

Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, Lumia 640XL
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I've been using smartphones since 2013 and have never put a screen protector on any of my phones. I carry my phone in my front jeans pocket, with no other items in that pocket. Screen never got scratched. I keep each phone about 2 years.

Feedback Score
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I don't much see the need for screen protectors, unless you are cramming the phone into a pants pocket with hard stuff in it. Even with plastic screens, I never scratched one. It will not much protect against breakage either. You need some kind of case for that. Only tried a glass screen protector once, and it was not as smudge resistant as a Gorilla glass screen. Maybe that has improved.

Feedback Score
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Coyote Chris View Post
    Since I keep most phones only about a year, I was wondering if it is necessary to even have a screen protector? What say you? My LG G3 ATT BYOP has one, and I have had that phone for 3 years as tracfone doesnt seem to offer any big screen ATT fones. Maybe my backup Verizon tracfone doesnt need one?
    Depends on your propensity to scratch and break screens. I have never needed one. I know other people who really do.

I don't buy expensive phones so they would not be a great loss, just inconvenient to have to replace.