Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: International Tech Support--WHAT happened?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,390
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    International Tech Support--WHAT happened?

    So, since asurion did a replacement for the S9 on my account and I am going to Canada this week, I need to get manual network selection enabled again (I wish they would do this via SIM instead of device). I spent over an hour and had to call back 3 times. These people have no clue, and it scares me that if international support has no idea what manual network selection is.....what do they really know??? Two reps kept trying to look at my "plans" and assured me that they could get me a passport plan or day pass for my time in Canada to assure I would have service. It was very annoying they wouldn't listen to me...and just typed what I said in a search box and would only read what their screens put out to them. Another call back to a different rep...this one actually wanted to send me a manual...as in like owners manual. Then she said I didn't need any network selection because I'm "locked to my at&t service" which will work great in Canada.

    So, I need a suggestion or two. Should I do chat? Call a different number and maybe get a US call center? I was using 314-925-6925 and everyone....well...had the same accent.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,538
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't know why you had to contact them more than once, but if a phone is replaced the request must be submitted for each device. I used to do Tier II tech support for At&t international.

    The Customer Support team does not have access to the tool. I suggest that you do an online chat to resolve the issue or call regular Customer Service and insist on being transferred to International Tech.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,390
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    I don't know why you had to contact them more than once, but if a phone is replaced the request must be submitted for each device. I used to do Tier II tech support for At&t international.

    The Customer Support team does not have access to the tool. I suggest that you do an online chat to resolve the issue or call regular Customer Service and insist on being transferred to International Tech.
    That's the thing, I asked all reps TWICE if I had international support TIER 2. All said they were "advanced technical support". None acknowledged tier 2. I find it hard to believe it was even regular tech support due to lack of knowledge. Is tier 2 still even a thing?

    Sent from my SM-G892A using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,538
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have not worked for At&t in over 3 years so I can't say anything with certainty. Just sharing my personal experience as a former International Tech Support representative.

    It is commonly referred to as "advanced technical support". Keep in mind there is a domestic and a separate international team. The domestic team doesn't have the access but the international team does.

    From my experience, I worked at the same call center as Tier I international tech support, the reps who didn't have access to the manual network selection would transfer the calls to my team for assistance. Manual network selection is not automatically enabled on all phones in all countries.

    I don't know if the process is still the same with At&t.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    5,610
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had a very hard time getting it re-enabled after I got my X. Took a few calls too.
    AT&T: 2003 (gophone) & 2008-2009 & 2013-Present
    Cingular: 2003-2006
    Sprint: 2006-2007 & 2009-2011
    Verizon Wireless: 2001-2003 & 2011-2013

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,538
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Airb330 View Post
    I had a very hard time getting it re-enabled after I got my X. Took a few calls too.
    From my prior experience, occasionally trouble tickets had to be sent to correct such issues. Sometimes it could take more than 24 hours to resolve. Stuff happens.....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,547
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Starting to think they all suck
    Feedback Score
    0
    +19168434685

    But it's gonna become enabled anyway once you're outta the US.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using HoFo mobile app

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,538
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by baaadandy View Post
    +19168434685

    But it's gonna become enabled anyway once you're outta the US.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using HoFo mobile app
    No it isn't automatically enabled, you need to ask for manual selection outside the US, Canada and Mexico, unless it was previously set up on the same cellular phone, not on the phone #.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using HoFo mobile app

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,547
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Starting to think they all suck
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    No it isn't automatically enabled, you need to ask for manual selection outside the US, Canada and Mexico, unless it was previously set up on the same cellular phone, not on the phone #.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using HoFo mobile app
    OP: "I am going to CANADA"

    And even then, no, it follows the SIM, not the phone.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using HoFo mobile app

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,538
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Going to Canada will not require any additional manual network updates unless there is an issue conecting/selecting a specific network

    I have 2 years of international tech support experience with Att and manual selection follows the phone and not the SIM.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,390
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    From my prior experience, occasionally trouble tickets had to be sent to correct such issues. Sometimes it could take more than 24 hours to resolve. Stuff happens.....
    Finally got someone who knew what they were doing and got it enabled.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using HoFo mobile app

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,390
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    No it isn't automatically enabled, you need to ask for manual selection outside the US, Canada and Mexico, unless it was previously set up on the same cellular phone, not on the phone #.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using HoFo mobile app
    Is it just not enabled automatically in Canada and Mexico only?

    Sent from my SM-G892A using HoFo mobile app

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,538
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    It is already enabled for Canada and Mexico.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,390
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    It is already enabled for Canada and Mexico.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app
    I thought either Canada or Mexico it wasn't enabled by default, which is why people had to call to get it enabled?

    Sent from my SM-G892A using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 02:24 PM
  2. What is Apple's tech support #?
    By mikeeg in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-21-2004, 10:26 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-04-2003, 03:17 PM
  4. Sales / Tech support doesnt know what GPRS is
    By djshtr in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2003, 11:02 PM
  5. International SMS -- what happens when....
    By AdmiralAK in forum Regional Providers and Other Providers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2002, 10:05 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks