Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: Coverage/signal issue.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    7,044
    Device(s)
    Cricket E5 Supra, Stylo 4, metro Moto e5
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket,vzw,metro pcs
    Feedback Score
    0

    Coverage/signal issue.

    Does calling cricket about a recent signal degradation do any good? The tower is less than a mile from from my house, and have always had good reception until last few weeks. Cell mapper indicates 110 db on band b2 which has always been inferior to b12, but haven't seen b12 recently, maybe a sector is down.
    I've re-added metro pcs service, which is co-located on the same tower, with 90 db, 5 bar reception. Until a few weeks ago, the signals were both good.
    Cricket signal isn't unusable, but annoying dropped calls and slower than usual data. Advice?

    Again, will cricket notify Att or is it a waste of time to call?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,894
    Feedback Score
    0
    did you try your sim in a different phone
    and see if the issue persists ??
    what phone do you currently have.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    7,044
    Device(s)
    Cricket E5 Supra, Stylo 4, metro Moto e5
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket,vzw,metro pcs
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah, we've got 3 cricket lines using a new g7 Moto, a Samsung and even a ZTE. They all have reduced signal at my house, but appear to work normally in as little as a half mile North or south. Again, I believe it to be a sector outage. If I turn airplane mode on and off, they will lock onto the better b12 band for a while. It's just annoying, when the metro g7 has much better everything this any of the cricket devices, when they all used to all be good.
    Last edited by plane; 07-01-2019 at 07:16 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    0
    There doesn't seem to be any technical customer service with Cricket. You get someone who knows less than you do, even when you know nothing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    933
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by khakuda View Post
    There doesn't seem to be any technical customer service with Cricket. You get someone who knows less than you do, even when you know nothing.
    There's an AT&T tool on the app store to report outages and that's what I've always used in the past and it works.

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    I’m in the same boat - had Cricket for years and at home and some local areas coverage is spotty at best - something has changed. I can’t use Cellmapper (iPhone) so it’s just experienced based guessing for me...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    7,044
    Device(s)
    Cricket E5 Supra, Stylo 4, metro Moto e5
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket,vzw,metro pcs
    Feedback Score
    0
    Believe my issue is a defective E5, but they're replace it and I noticed they are free again from cricket with a cc port.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,283
    Device(s)
    Moto Z2 Force, X4, G7, G7 Power, G6, G5s+, E5+, E5, E4..
    Carrier(s)
    metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, Tello and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm assuming your G7's are metro phones as I don't see Crickett selling them on there website. Could I ask how you got them unlocked without waiting the required time? My usual source isn't doing them right now due to that law suit that was going on.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    7,044
    Device(s)
    Cricket E5 Supra, Stylo 4, metro Moto e5
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket,vzw,metro pcs
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cellular-dude View Post
    I'm assuming your G7's are metro phones as I don't see Crickett selling them on there website. Could I ask how you got them unlocked without waiting the required time? My usual source isn't doing them right now due to that law suit that was going on.
    I mistakely indicated g7 when it is an e5 Supra. Your right, my g7 is on metro. Both if these are great phones for the price, but most of them are today.

    The issue disappeared when I went back to formely used handsets, thankfully. Isn't the g7 Supra available from cricket?

    Cricket is doing a warranty exchange on the e5.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,283
    Device(s)
    Moto Z2 Force, X4, G7, G7 Power, G6, G5s+, E5+, E5, E4..
    Carrier(s)
    metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, Tello and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by plane View Post
    Isn't the g7 Supra available from cricket?

    G7 Supra? I didn't see any kind of G7 when I went to the Cricket website. Is that going to be the name of their version?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,283
    Device(s)
    Moto Z2 Force, X4, G7, G7 Power, G6, G5s+, E5+, E5, E4..
    Carrier(s)
    metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, Tello and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Now that I go back and check it is on their site.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    148
    Feedback Score
    0
    I’ll just add that starting some months ago coverage at my house dropped significantly. Been wondering if this is something AT&T deliberately did to Cricket or if it affects post paid as well.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    There are a lot of others who claim that their Cricket service has degraded recently - myself included. It’s just a lot of speculation as to the cause but I switched to ATT prepaid (same network) and it’s been much better than Cricket.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    7,044
    Device(s)
    Cricket E5 Supra, Stylo 4, metro Moto e5
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket,vzw,metro pcs
    Feedback Score
    0
    Above.

    My got so weak this week, I finally called out of frustration. May be my imagination, may be temporary, but I'm up from 0 to one bar, to maybe 2 plus. Thankfully I've got a metro handset, co-located on the same tower very near my house, which has provided grest coverage for nearly 20 years with att. OMO, but believe an antenna realignment, as I can drive in a tight circle around the tower getting a consistent 4-5 bars.

    Give'm a call. Can't hurt.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    40
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Xfinity Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by glowblue View Post
    There are a lot of others who claim that their Cricket service has degraded recently - myself included. It’s just a lot of speculation as to the cause but I switched to ATT prepaid (same network) and it’s been much better than Cricket.
    A week ago noticed that a text iMessage took seconds to send indicated by a progress bar.
    Went into Field Test mode and saw -115 dBm signal on a 1.3 MHz wide band. Upload speed in the 0.1 mbps range.
    What gives? Cricket is kicked off of the good bands?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New GSM Coverage Map Issues
    By nok123 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2003, 01:52 PM
  2. Sidekick GPRS Signal Issues
    By michaelmantis in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2002, 04:03 PM
  3. Sanyo 5150 Signal Issue!!!!!!
    By IdiOTeQnoLogY in forum Sanyo
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-29-2002, 04:20 PM
  4. Ericsson R1B RF/Signal Issues
    By chibi in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2002, 04:31 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2001, 08:16 AM

Bookmarks