Page 31 of 32 FirstFirst ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 LastLast
Results 451 to 465 of 476

Thread: FreedomPop has been sold to Red Pocket

  1. #451
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    40
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by carlbarry View Post
    Follow up: after spending around 5 hours over 4 days with Red Pocket, and them having me do a factory reset, remove the SIM card, et., the representative now tells me that the Tech department says the problem is with the phone, and I should use another phone, or go back to my previous carrier!
    Complete incompetence.
    So now I have to call Ting and see what can be done.
    FOLLOW UP TO FOLLOW UP: I called Ting. They had my phone activated in less than 5 minutes.
    This mirrors my experience with Red Pocket customer service. They're very good about fixing account/plan/payment issues, although most of those should never have happened in the first place. For want of a better term, their "accounting' capability is horrible. (Initial plan refills not applied, refills not applied properly, etc.)

    They're moderately capable of handling requests involving voicemail configuration, etc. (This is problematic at almost all MVNOs, though.)

    They're not good at handling activation or porting problems. If there is an issue, they don't seem to be able to troubleshoot or fix it.

    I moved a phone from another MVNO to Red Pocket. Weeks later, and multiple conversations, and they still couldn't get LTE data working (Sprint network). The solution I found was to swap to a different phone, and data provisioned correctly when swapping. The original phone, moved to another MVNO, had data working immediately after activating at the other MVNO. (No problem with the phone itself.)

  2. #452
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah, well, when they have you do the same stuff you could find on the internet to do, and then just tell you "Our Tech department says your phone is broken and needs to be repaired, but we don't do that. So you need to purchase a new phone." And then minutes later another carrier gets the same "broken" phone working in a few minutes . . . kinda makes me suspect they don't know that the heck they're doing.

  3. #453
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    Palm Centro Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS (SERO 500)
    Feedback Score
    0
    My 200/500/200 plan refilled today. However, it looks like the data balance was only 50MB this month. Did anyone else have this issue? Seems weird to me, and I'm thinking that this plan is not worth the hassle.

  4. #454
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,011
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by timswim78 View Post
    My 200/500/200 plan refilled today. However, it looks like the data balance was only 50MB this month. Did anyone else have this issue? Seems weird to me, and I'm thinking that this plan is not worth the hassle.
    My free plans that refilled recently got 250MB.

  5. #455
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    Palm Centro Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS (SERO 500)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    My free plans that refilled recently got 250MB.
    My free account is fine, LOL. My paid account is the one with the problem. Go figure...

  6. #456
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    107
    Feedback Score
    0
    Red Pocket is testing cellular voice on FreedomPop https://slickdeals.net/forums/showpo...&postcount=196

  7. #457
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5,480
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HFUN View Post
    Red Pocket is testing cellular voice on FreedomPop https://slickdeals.net/forums/showpo...&postcount=196
    So can now I buy a FreedomPop - 12-Month Prepaid Plan LTE 3-in-1 SIM Card Kit.
    Then port my # from RP GSMA to FreedomPop.
    And get UTT FreedomPop native voice GSMA?
    If my actions include deeds of philanthropy in charity and acts of loving kindness I am living in my Faith.

    Red Pocket (AT&T) UTnT 5GB exp 09.27.20
    Red Pocket (AT&T) UTnT 1GB exp 02.12.20
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.11.21
    Tello x2 (Sprint) $5 1-use/3mo no exp by 04.11.20

  8. #458
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    2,298
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 7T, Apple iPhone 6S, Apple iPad 3 (VZW variant)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Verizon Prepaid, Total Wireless (Verizon), FreedomPop (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    So can now I buy a FreedomPop - 12-Month Prepaid Plan LTE 3-in-1 SIM Card Kit.
    Then port my # from RP GSMA to FreedomPop.
    And get UTT FreedomPop native voice GSMA?
    I noticed you already posted asking the same thing on slickforums, but I would hold off untill RP actually explains details. My guess is that it will not be unlimited talk and text as native. Maybe system similar to how STS did Sprint, where unlimited talk on app, but limit on native "premium."

    Sent from my HD1905 using Tapatalk
    My common forum nick: GenesisDH.

    R.I.P. Circuit City

    We are the Bor... the new AT&T: Your World, Assimilated.

    1000th post: Sept. 29th, 2008, 17:42 CDT

  9. #459
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,011
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's good news that FP may add native voice. I just hope it doesn't affect the annual prepaid plans negatively. Of course, affecting them positively would be great!

    As mentioned above, we'll just have to wait until FP makes a formal announcement about the addition of native voice to the FP plans.

  10. #460
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HFUN View Post
    Red Pocket is testing cellular voice on FreedomPop https://slickdeals.net/forums/showpo...&postcount=196
    That was in response to my post. they wouldn't follow up to my reply about how soon is "soon" so it could still take a while if at all.
    Still going by their original post, it's quite misleading. "In the coming weeks" that was months ago
    For the benefit of everyone I really want them to push native voice out to the annual plans. It will make them unbeatable value wise

  11. #461
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    823
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    PTel
    Feedback Score
    0
    When did the freedompop app start requiring a login? I don't think I even have a login for this account. The app used to automatically recognize the sim, and display the min/data left. Now suddenly it is requiring a login to use.

  12. #462
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    2,298
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 7T, Apple iPhone 6S, Apple iPad 3 (VZW variant)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Verizon Prepaid, Total Wireless (Verizon), FreedomPop (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by clocks11 View Post
    When did the freedompop app start requiring a login? I don't think I even have a login for this account. The app used to automatically recognize the sim, and display the min/data left. Now suddenly it is requiring a login to use.
    This has been the case for iOS users from day one, as there is no publicly exposed way for apps to read the phone's SIM status.

    I'm pretty sure these changes for the Android apps is a preparation for native voice features.

    You should have a login (username will either be your phone number or an associated email address), but you may have to ask to get your password.

    Sent from my HD1905 using Tapatalk

  13. #463
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    823
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    PTel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Haas_Dave View Post
    This has been the case for iOS users from day one, as there is no publicly exposed way for apps to read the phone's SIM status.

    I'm pretty sure these changes for the Android apps is a preparation for native voice features.

    You should have a login (username will either be your phone number or an associated email address), but you may have to ask to get your password.

    Sent from my HD1905 using Tapatalk
    I believe user name is the phone number, but I have no password. When I click on "forgot password", nothing happens. I have no way to make calls on this line atm.

    Also, not sure I can link to google voice, as I am not getting the link text. ugh
    Last edited by clocks11; 12-28-2019 at 11:19 PM.

  14. #464
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    152
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by clocks11 View Post
    I believe user name is the phone number, but I have no password. When I click on "forgot password", nothing happens. I have no way to make calls on this line atm.

    Also, not sure I can link to google voice, as I am not getting the link text. ugh
    Try the id (# or email) and password you use to log into your web account, assuming you log into your web account at some point.

  15. #465
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    823
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    PTel
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't think I ever setup a web account for this line. I'll have to check again.

Page 31 of 32 FirstFirst ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Beyond GSM & Jolt sold to Red Pocket Mobile
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 02:27 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 10:18 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2003, 05:54 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2003, 09:56 PM

Bookmarks