Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 104

Thread: Why is there no roaming on Sprint towers for Tmobile customers?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,358
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Sprint can’t even turn on VoLTE for all their native customers, they definitely can’t support roaming VoLTE devices.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,355
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by p6B5Nm5b View Post
    Well the Metro merger was a bit different as there was no LTE. While T-Mo will shut down the Sprint CDMA network I’m not sure why they’d shut down the LTE only to turn it on again latter?
    Everyone should keep in mind that the design of LTE allows network sharing. So, Sprint's band 41 micro-cells could simultaneously appear to be both T-Mobile and Sprint native coverage. This could provide almost immediate congestion relief in large cities where T-Mobile is spectrum constrained.
    Donald Newcomb

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,345
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    Everyone should keep in mind that the design of LTE allows network sharing. So, Sprint's band 41 micro-cells could simultaneously appear to be both T-Mobile and Sprint native coverage. This could provide almost immediate congestion relief in large cities where T-Mobile is spectrum constrained.
    That’s what I was thinking. But what about VoLTE doesn’t that kill it?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,493
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    Some of the filings with the FCC indicate they will continue to activate new devices on Sprint for up to 12 months after the merger is complete.

    This won’t be a speedy integration like MetroPCS was. This will be more like the ATT Wireless / Cingular integration and we can only hope it will go smoothly.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Yes, capacity is limited.. it said in the document that sprint stores would also stay operational, but the new customers signing up at the the sprint stores would be put on the tmo network


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,345
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    Sprint can’t even turn on VoLTE for all their native customers, they definitely can’t support roaming VoLTE devices.
    But... with T-Mo users could fall back to the T-Mo network for voice. And while not all T-Mo phones work on CDMA, ALL Sprint phones would work on T-Mo.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,358
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by p6B5Nm5b View Post
    But... with T-Mo users could fall back to the T-Mo network for voice. And while not all T-Mo phones work on CDMA, ALL Sprint phones would work on T-Mo.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
    Sprint would still have to have VoLTE enabled for that to work. I guess T-Mobile could push an update to enable VoLTE in more markets, but they don’t want to degrade current users experience by doing so.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,345
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    Sprint would still have to have VoLTE enabled for that to work. I guess T-Mobile could push an update to enable VoLTE in more markets, but they don’t want to degrade current users experience by doing so.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Is VoLTE not enabled on band 41? Seems to work for me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,493
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by p6B5Nm5b View Post
    Is VoLTE not enabled on band 41? Seems to work for me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Not on sprint entire footprint only in select markets


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,345
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by tyroned3222 View Post
    Not on sprint entire footprint only in select markets


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Why is that?

    Is there any reason T-Mobile would want to immediately add those areas to their network?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,493
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by p6B5Nm5b View Post
    Why is that?

    Is there any reason T-Mobile would want to immediately add those areas to their network?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    No, currently sprint is basically still testing volte. Sprint has just started rolling out volte slowly .. TMO has had the tech rollout since 2015 I believe .. TMO volte experience is far more mature over sprints


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,345
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by tyroned3222 View Post
    No, currently sprint is basically still testing volte. Sprint has just started rolling out volte slowly .. TMO has had the tech rollout since 2015 I believe .. TMO volte experience is far more mature over sprints


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Maybe T-Mo can help them.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,358
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by p6B5Nm5b View Post
    Maybe T-Mo can help them.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
    They will.. by extracting assets and turning off Sprints hodgepodge of ridiculous systems and migrating people over to the new T-Mobile network.

    No special sims for different types of phones anymore and simultaneous voice and data for everyone!

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,345
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    They will.. by extracting assets and turning off Sprints hodgepodge of ridiculous systems and migrating people over to the new T-Mobile network.

    No special sims for different types of phones anymore and simultaneous voice and data for everyone!
    Sooner the better!

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,345
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I'm excited!

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,355
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    Sprint would still have to have VoLTE enabled for that to work.
    Remember that voice and text is only a small part of the mix. If that were the only issue, UMTS would have served just fine. I don't know anywhere that band-41 is the whole network deployment. It's used to augment other bands' data capacity.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Why is there no non-OTA GPS apps for BB's?
    By MACMTL in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 03:03 PM
  2. Why is there no Middle Eastern language support for WM5.0?
    By Matth3w in forum Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2007, 12:19 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2006, 11:51 AM
  4. Replies: 58
    Last Post: 05-13-2006, 09:48 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 10:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks