Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Unable to Port Number from Prepaid AT&T to Postpaid

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    44
    Device(s)
    Moto E4 Amazon Unlocked, iPhone 8 Plus GSM
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unable to Port Number from Prepaid AT&T to Postpaid

    Hi,

    I changed jobs recently and the company said they'd pay for both my phone and service. Both myself and the manager are unable to get AT&T to port over my number. I gave the manager permission to make changes to my account. The manager tried over the phone with AT&T and also in person at an AT&T store. No success. Any suggestions? Should I try signing up with another carrier and porting 1st with them? Then maybe AT&T will try harder to get this to work...

    Thanks for any suggestions/help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    8,747
    Carrier(s)
    TMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zenara25 View Post
    Hi,

    I changed jobs recently and the company said they'd pay for both my phone and service. Both myself and the manager are unable to get AT&T to port over my number. I gave the manager permission to make changes to my account. The manager tried over the phone with AT&T and also in person at an AT&T store. No success. Any suggestions? Should I try signing up with another carrier and porting 1st with them? Then maybe AT&T will try harder to get this to work...

    Thanks for any suggestions/help.
    They should be able to convert it from att prepaid to postpaid easily in the store. It wont be a port in the traditional sense due to already being with att

    I've converted att prepaid to postpaid in store and it took 5 min with no activation fee etc

    Its with att prepaid or is it a third party att mvno?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    44
    Device(s)
    Moto E4 Amazon Unlocked, iPhone 8 Plus GSM
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    AT&T Prepaid

    The manager is probably not going back to the store again because we live on an island where there are no AT&T stores (made a special all day trip to go there 1x already). The manager has already made enough of an effort to try and get this to work. So hoping there is another workaround.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    US
    Posts
    47
    Feedback Score
    0
    Porting to another carrier then porting back to ATT post paid is probably your best route.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    44
    Device(s)
    Moto E4 Amazon Unlocked, iPhone 8 Plus GSM
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok I'll give that a try. Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    8,747
    Carrier(s)
    TMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zenara25 View Post
    Ok I'll give that a try. Thanks
    Yeah porting out to somewhere else and then att postpaid should do it

    It cost a little more money that's the main drawback but at least it works.

    Others may know a cheaper way but I've done it for $10 when a T-Mobile store rep waived the $25 Sim fee. He put me on the $3 prepaid plan and at the time required at least a $10 fill payment. Not sure if thats still an option though

    Others may know a cheaper and easier route though

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4,925
    Feedback Score
    0
    My way, unactivated TM SIM, port in, they'll ask what plan. Tell them you're consulting a friend who's an expert & you'll callback tomorrow. When current non-TM SIM stops working you're ported. Then port to wherever.
    As a USA citizen I have the right to criticize my government. My thanks for this is endless in magnitude.

    Fascism is here led by a racist, godless, immoral, hypersensitive, crass, narcissist liar, psychopath committing High Treason against the USA.

    Red Pocket (AT&T) $192yr UTnT 5GB exp 08.08.19
    Red Pocket (AT&T) $184.50yr UTnT 1GB exp 02.19.20
    T-Mo Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.16.20
    Tello x2 (Sprint) $5 1-use/3mo no exp by 06.03.19

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    US
    Posts
    47
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've ported a number here https://www.numberbarn.com/ from Tello, then to Sprint to take advantage of their free year of service. Worked out great.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    132
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 6Spd Menace View Post
    I've ported a number here https://www.numberbarn.com/ from Tello, then to Sprint to take advantage of their free year of service. Worked out great.
    I would go with Number Barn as 6Spd Menace recommends. But first I think I would try to convert yourself from prepaid to post paid and then assign billing responsibility to your new employer.

    Note, you will most likely lose any prepaid balance you currently have.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2010, 08:37 AM
  2. Port number from PrePaid to FlexPay
    By fwtong in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 05-22-2009, 09:46 AM
  3. Port number from PrePaid to FlexPay
    By fwtong in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 07:39 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-18-2007, 01:42 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 05:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks