Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 53

Thread: MMS not working - existing PPC account/sim, new phone

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shuderchen View Post
    Is your unlocked Samsung S10 an international version or US version?
    I believe it is the US version (at least that was the intent!). Purchased from Amazon, Samsung model number SM-G973UZWAXAA.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,764
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    been playing around with settings using my Motorola G4 as a reference and trying to get my Page Plus sim working on a new Umidigi F1. This phone is dual sim but has CDMA bands which is somewhat of an anomoly. however my problem seems to be related to a bug on the phone in that I can't update or edit the APN. So I assume the defaults are coming in. without being able to edit the apn to tracfone.vzwentp i have found that internet will not work

    If you followed my travails on the threads in the General Prepaid discussion, I was able to get talk, text and mms working but not mobile data.

    An interesting behavior-i misspelled the APN by accident on the G4 and I noticed that I got the same behavior on it-able to talk text sms and mms but no internet. In fact, the LTE got activated for a split second when i sent the mms.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,764
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    FYI, I got full Verizon working on my F1 phone and this might help you too.

    At the phone dialer, dual *#*#4636#*#*

    You might get a menu screen with phone information as one of the selections. Go I to it and see if you can change preferred network to something else like

    Lte

    Lte/cdma

    Lte/cdma/umts

    Let it connnect to Verizon and do a ping test.



    Sent from my F1 Umidigi using HoFo mobile app

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,378
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    FYI, I got full Verizon working on my F1 phone and this might help you too.
    How about VoLTE? Someone commenting on Amazon said it would not. Makes sense if it's not Verizon whitelisted.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,764
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't know how to distinguish between volte working or not but I was able to be in a call and browse the internet simultaneously. There's an HD icon on the call screen and top right corner of the screen too.

    When not configured correctly, I was able to place calls and data icon went from 4g to 2g or 1x.


    More testing will probably be required. Process is still a bit flaky...


    Sent from my F1 Umidigi using HoFo mobile app
    Last edited by ShredFred; 06-26-2019 at 07:12 PM.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by YetAnotherMatt View Post
    I believe it is the US version (at least that was the intent!). Purchased from Amazon, Samsung model number SM-G973UZWAXAA.
    Have all your tests been from the same location (same tower)? with all the changes this spring and the Volte phones required now by verizon (and mvno's) i have seen some quirks that may be attributed to changes with provider systems, updates, patches, etc. In my area (rural) we have seen some variance in towers from time to time as things are updated in waves maybe? Anyway i have noticed with my new Volte enabled phone (on PP $12) I keep data off, since i don't get much, and it does MMS fine, even with Data off, but only when native verizon, I do not get same results on Extended networ, or 3g, which i think you mentioned seeing once. Just made me wonder if your in an area of overlap or near the edge of extended network?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by orohorse View Post
    Have all your tests been from the same location (same tower)? with all the changes this spring and the Volte phones required now by verizon (and mvno's) i have seen some quirks that may be attributed to changes with provider systems, updates, patches, etc. In my area (rural) we have seen some variance in towers from time to time as things are updated in waves maybe? Anyway i have noticed with my new Volte enabled phone (on PP $12) I keep data off, since i don't get much, and it does MMS fine, even with Data off, but only when native verizon, I do not get same results on Extended networ, or 3g, which i think you mentioned seeing once. Just made me wonder if your in an area of overlap or near the edge of extended network?
    Most of my testing has been from the same location (our house).

    Are you aware of any detailed coverage maps? You certainly have an interesting idea.

    On the other hand, this is a well-populated metro area (western Chicago suburbs), so I would assume Verizon's coverage is strong and consistent. But again, that's just speculation on my part, no hard data to back it up!

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by YetAnotherMatt View Post
    Most of my testing has been from the same location (our house).

    Are you aware of any detailed coverage maps? You certainly have an interesting idea.

    On the other hand, this is a well-populated metro area (western Chicago suburbs), so I would assume Verizon's coverage is strong and consistent. But again, that's just speculation on my part, no hard data to back it up!
    I would not expect that problem where your at!, i have seen it a couple of times, but always in very rural areas, that is really strange.
    You can put your exact address in on verizon's latest interactive map, but that has to be covered solid with native?

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by orohorse View Post
    You can put your exact address in on verizon's latest interactive map, but that has to be covered solid with native?
    Yup, finally did just that! Certainly my house is good, and pretty much anything that could be considered part of the greater Chicago metro area is solid native (as expected).

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,764
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    If anyone is still having trouble with their apn settings, try saving the name of the apn with a ! Character on front.

    On my f1 phone, sometimes coming out of a situation with no signal, the phone would default to the first, top most apn in my list. On my case it was some incorrect default entry called lte-cbs.

    Do I renamed my working apn to !PP

    Do far so good

    Sent from my S3_Pro Umidigi using HoFo mobile app

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by YetAnotherMatt View Post
    Update: I just found out, with the settings I listed above, while MMS worked, mobile data did not! The vast majority of the time my wife needs the internet, she's at home, and so can use wifi. So it was only recently that we found mobile data wasn't working.

    Anyway, before working with PagePlus again, I thought I'd try to fix it myself. I have something that (so far) appears to work for both MMS and mobile data, but with some curious stuff going on. Here are the APN settings I'm using (manually entered):

    Name: Page Plus
    APN: VZWINTERNET (or TRACFONE.VZWENTP, see below)
    Proxy: Not set
    Port: Not set
    Username: Not set
    Password: Not set
    Server: Not set
    MMSC: Not set
    Multimedia message proxy: Not set
    Multimedia message port: Not set
    MCC: 311
    MNC: 480
    Authentication type: Not set
    APN type: default,dun,supl
    APN protocol: IPv4/IPv6
    APN roaming protocol: IPv4/IPv6
    Turn APN on/off: APN turned on.
    Bearer: HSPA, GPRS, EDGE, eHRPD, UMTS, LTE, HSPAP, IWLAN, HSDPA, HSUPA
    Mobile virtual network operator type: GID
    Mobile virtual network operator value: BAE01230000000000

    Regarding the APN setting: mobile data works with either VZWINTERNET or TRACFONE.VZWENTP. But MMS works only with VZWINTERNET.

    What I find curious, though, is that when I use the VZWINTERNET setting, the "bars" icon in the upper right hand corner says 3g. But when I use the TRACFONE.VZWENTP setting, it instead says LTE (and has little up and down arrows below the letters).

    Not sure if the 3g vs LTE thing is real or cosmetic. As I implied above, my wife so rarely uses mobile data that, even if it is real, shouldn't be a big deal... but it feels a bit annoying out of principle.

    Or is there yet still some way to make TRACFONE.VZWENTP work for both mobile data and MMS? Or is PagePlus blocking MMS on the LTE network (either deliberately or through mis-config)?

    Update: so after being on these settings for a while, it turns out, the mobile data only sorta works. My guess is that 3g coverage around us isn't actually that good. What we find is that mobile data only works sometimes and it appears to be very location sensitive. I spent some time today revisiting all this, and I arrived at the same conclusion: it looks like generally the "TRACFONE.VZWENTP" APN setting gets us 4g/LTE mobile data, but I cannot get MMS to work.

    However, "VZWINTERET" bumps us down to 3g. Furthermore, it used to at least allow MMS to go through, but now using the settings above, I can't get MMS to work. In other words, I've tried a lot of various settings, even rebooting whenever I changed settings, and I can't get MMS to work at all now.

    I think we're going to give Page Plus tech support one more try, and if that doesn't get anywhere, try a different provider. I'm out of ideas at this point.

    Thanks!

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,764
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Have you tried buying another phone that's Verizon compatible to cross check with? I suggest something cheap that can work on all 4 carriers like the Orbic Wonder. Or a Motorola.

    The apn definitely needs to be Tracfone.vzwentp

    The mmsc settings definitely needs to be set to

    MMSC: http://mms.vtext.com/servlets/mms

    I also have mms port set to 80

    Sent from my LEX727 Leeco Le Pro3 using HoFo mobile app
    Last edited by ShredFred; 09-16-2019 at 09:38 AM.

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    Have you tried buying another phone that's Verizon compatible to cross check with? I suggest something cheap that can work on all 4 carriers like the Orbic Wonder. Or a Motorola.
    The previous phone she was using is a Moto X Pure Edition, we still have that. Mobile data and MMS did work on that phone, but now I can't remember if 4g/LTE worked with MMS on the phone. I will give that a try.

    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    The apn definitely needs to be Tracfone.vzwentp

    The mmsc settings definitely needs to be set to

    MMSC: http://mms.vtext.com/servlets/mms

    I also have mms port set to 80
    With those settings, LTE mobile data works, as does SMS (text only). But if I try to send an MMS (picture), I see the little "working" animation kick in, and it just stays like that for a long time (minutes), then ultimately fails. To me, that suggests something is timing out. (Maybe Page Plus has something misconfigured somewhere along the way?)

    FWIW, MMS also cannot be received (but SMS/text works as expected).

    I'm curious, if you're on mobile data, and you enter that MMSC URL into a browser, what do you get?

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,764
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried to browse to that page

    http://mms.vtext.com/servlets/mms

    on mobile data but got a page not found.

    I've been testing these settings on my umidigi s3 pro. From what I've researched, mobile data is definitely necessary for sending and receiving mms. I have experimented with settings that will give be limited subset of usage like no lte and HD voice but 3g/1xx call and sms but no mms.

    I also have a configuration combination that gives me HD voice and sms but no lte or mms in spite of there being an lte icon. No up and down data activity arrows next to LTE icon.

    Dial *#*#4636#*#* on your phone dialer and go to phone information. What is your preferred network type set to? I can only get everything to work correctly(talk-hdvoice, text-mms and sms and LTE data) . However my phone does not step down to 3g/1xx in this configuration. That has proven to be a serious issue for me in Southern Vermont. I actually had no service or LTE except in the highways despite indications that I connected to the LTE bands correctly. I did have 1xx/3g and sms ability plus spotty to non functional 3g Internet which sounds alot like your situation. Where are you located?

    Sent from my S3_Pro Umidigi using HoFo mobile app
    Last edited by ShredFred; 09-16-2019 at 02:11 PM.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    I tried to browse to that page

    http://mms.vtext.com/servlets/mms

    on mobile data but got a page not found.
    I was hoping that on a phone with working MMS, that going to that URL would result in something. I.e., it might be another useful diagnostic indicator. Oh well, thanks for trying!

    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    Dial *#*#4636#*#* on your phone dialer and go to phone information. What is your preferred network type set to? I can only get everything to work correctly(talk-hdvoice, text-mms and sms and LTE data) . However my phone does not step down to 3g/1xx in this configuration. That has proven to be a serious issue for me in Southern Vermont. I actually had no service or LTE except in the highways despite indications that I connected to the LTE bands correctly. I did have 1xx/3g and sms ability plus spotty to non functional 3g Internet which sounds alot like your situation. Where are you located?
    That code doesn't work on our phone. I searched the web for "Galaxy S10 secret codes" - I found some that work, most don't. I couldn't find any working code that said anything about preferred network. (I even tried installing the Truecaller app, as one Youtube video suggested, but that didn't make *#*#4636#*#* work either.)

    We're in the western Chicago suburbs.

    Thanks!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2013, 09:06 AM
  2. MMS not working on my new cricket motorola VE240
    By dj2big in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 03-02-2012, 09:07 AM
  3. Help!! MMS not working with PPC6700 NEW ROM
    By onlyjoeyq in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 11:43 PM
  4. New Media Works = MMS Not Working?
    By esai in forum AT&T
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-05-2004, 07:34 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks