Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Tracfone BYOD IPHONE 6s data issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Feedback Score
    0

    Tracfone BYOD IPHONE 6s data issues

    I’ve been unable to access data on my Tracfone BYOD IPHONE 6s. I tried calling Tracfone and they weren’t able to solve the issue. They did mention it could be an AT&T network issue of some sort but they didn’t offer specifics. They wanted to check what I believe were APN settings but I wasn’t able to locate them. Can anyone offer assistance or has anyone experienced a similar situation? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    YIKES!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    26
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 4
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeply View Post
    I’ve been unable to access data on my Tracfone BYOD IPHONE 6s. I tried calling Tracfone and they weren’t able to solve the issue. They did mention it could be an AT&T network issue of some sort but they didn’t offer specifics. They wanted to check what I believe were APN settings but I wasn’t able to locate them. Can anyone offer assistance or has anyone experienced a similar situation? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    My at&t phone I had to text apn to 611611 do what the texts say and bam got data

    Sent from my Lg Phoenix 4 using HoFo mobile app

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Leif Ormsbee View Post
    My at&t phone I had to text apn to 611611 do what the texts say and bam got data

    Sent from my Lg Phoenix 4 using HoFo mobile app
    Thanks Leif. Does anyone know how to find where the APN setting can be modified on an IPhone 6s? Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,986
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeply View Post
    Thanks Leif. Does anyone know how to find where the APN setting can be modified on an IPhone 6s? Thanks
    Apple locks out the APN editor for most carriers. (I think your SIM could authorize APN editing.)

    You could try downloading an APN profile say from here: http://www.unlockit.co.nz/unlockit/

    But, WARNING!!! I was once stuck with a profile that wasn't installed properly and couldn't be deleted either.

    There are a couple of old threads about these issues.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,725
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeply View Post
    Thanks Leif. Does anyone know how to find where the APN setting can be modified on an IPhone 6s? Thanks
    Basically they can't, at least not by the user.

    The carrier update is sent to the phone by the carrier/provider.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Feedback Score
    0
    Would it help if I tried a new SIM card or do I just need to get a new phone?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Feedback Score
    0
    Would it help if I tried a new SIM card or do I just need to get a new phone?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,828
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Basically they can't, at least not by the user.

    The carrier update is sent to the phone by the carrier/provider.
    With the TracFone SIM installed and WiFi connected, go to Settings > General > About. If there are updates available install them. One of the updates should be the carrier update.
    Compare prepaid plans from all operators at PrepaidCompare.net.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,725
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeply View Post
    Would it help if I tried a new SIM card or do I just need to get a new phone?
    I doubt either is the real problem.

    Somehow it's stuck w/o the correct configuration.

    You may be able to view the settings:
    Settings > Cellular > Cellular Data Options > Cellular Network

    Settings > Mobile Data > Mobile Data Options > Mobile Data Network

    But that may be blocked.
    iOS isn't my thing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,507
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeply View Post
    Would it help if I tried a new SIM card or do I just need to get a new phone?
    Did you purchase data for your phone ??
    And do you know how much you have ??

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    274
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    With the TracFone SIM installed and WiFi connected, go to Settings > General > About. If there are updates available install them. One of the updates should be the carrier update.
    ^^^ OP, did you try this this? I have a iPhone SE, which is basically a smaller version of your 6s & I have no problem with data.
    Do the update as suggested & if the problem persists, it may in fact be a issue with AT&T. I use Verizon.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    274
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeply View Post
    I’ve been unable to access data on my Tracfone BYOD IPHONE 6s. I tried calling Tracfone and they weren’t able to solve the issue. They did mention it could be an AT&T network issue of some sort but they didn’t offer specifics. They wanted to check what I believe were APN settings but I wasn’t able to locate them. Can anyone offer assistance or has anyone experienced a similar situation? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    I just looked at the Apple forum on this site & saw this thread below about a recent update. Post #3 caught my attention as it mentions others having the same issue as you with cellular data. Sounds like it was related to previous a update.
    Maybe you can find a solution by doing some digging on that forum or asking the ? there. Just a suggestion.

    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...2-1-4-released
    Last edited by DennyT; 02-14-2019 at 09:51 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Feedback Score
    0
    I appreciate all the input. I did update the IOS software with no success. Is it possible to reactivate the phone with a new sim and keep my same phone number. I'm really stumped. It used to be able to access data; that's the real kicker! Again, thanks for the input.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,235
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Moto E5, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeply View Post
    Is it possible to reactivate the phone with a new sim and keep my same phone number.
    Since your iPhone is using a TF/AT&T BYOP SIM, you can activate a new TF/AT&T BYOP SIM with a transfer of phone number, days, and buckets from the current SIM. Use Chat and ask a rep to do it, ask the rep to provide your balances before and after the transfer, so you'll have that info in the Chat transcript for record in case something goes wrong and your balances disappear. Copy the chat transcript from the screen, paste it into a text file on your computer, and save it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks. I will give it a try. First thing first; I have to get a new sim and go from there.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2015, 08:22 PM
  2. iPhone 6s data usage
    By Zappy in forum Apple
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-2015, 08:28 PM
  3. AT&T GoPhone plan w/ iPhone 4 data issue
    By nariesg80 in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2013, 04:16 AM
  4. HSPA: Unlocked IPhones and data issues?
    By jupebag69 in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 11:41 AM
  5. iphone 3G data issue?
    By ttd0719 in forum Apple
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-17-2008, 10:41 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks