Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 75

Thread: Using Three (UK sim) in 3rd world countries

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Using Three (UK sim) in 3rd world countries

    i live in the US. i have freedompop which is useless outside of the US.
    I plan on visiting Panama and surrounding countries.
    i have KeepGo ($50 for sim + 1gig that expires in a year but can be extended with a refill) but it doesnt work in alot of countries.

    so im looking at Three's 'pay as you go' plan.
    i bought the Three sim from ebay.

    from what i read, you can refill using (thx BOZ1):
    uksims.eu/buy-top-up (+10% Fee)
    mobiletopup.co.uk/three (+£1.49 Fee)
    apkpure.com/kwikpay-%E2%80%93-mobile-top-up/com.uk.recharge.kwikpay (APK) (+£0.20 Fee)

    Regular prepay is only good in the UK.
    to use in 3rd world countries, i need Go Roam Around the World add-on?? http://www.three.co.uk/go-roam
    Go Roam countries: http://www.three.co.uk/Support/Roami...ns?#countries1

    prices:
    £2.99 data Add-on for 500MB data. Lasts for 30 days.
    £15 data Add-on for 3GB data. Lasts for 30 days


    im a light user. (email, Facebook. no youtube or streaming)
    Looks like the £2.99 data Add-on for 500MB data is best and just keep adding.

    Do i have it right?


    edit:
    latest payGo price guide: http://www.three.co.uk/termspdf/PAYG...ide_111218.pdf
    it seems 500meg GoRoam add-on is now L5 but 2Gig is L10!
    Last edited by fstuff; 01-01-2019 at 11:03 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    activated the sim but i cant download the Three app.
    'this item isnt available in your country.'

    im in the US.
    How to bypass and get it?
    thx

    edit: see below
    Last edited by fstuff; 01-01-2019 at 05:58 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    apkpure.com/kwikpay-%E2%80%93-mobile-top-up/com.uk.recharge.kwikpay

    hm.. minimum is L10 for top up via kwikpay.
    cant just buy L2.99 option for add-on?

    and top up only lasts 6months if no use.


    and Kwikpay isnt on google play store???
    edit:
    ahh.. it's not available in my country (USA), thus the apk file.

    edit2:
    slowly understanding.
    downloaded Three apk file from same site as i got kwikpay -> apkpure.com
    Last edited by fstuff; 01-01-2019 at 05:58 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    426
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting , would love to see how it works in the USA and Central America when you get there .
    Can you also use it for calling or texts ?
    Wanted: old barnfind VWs and Sports cars ,
    save them from the crusher , I have had my tetanus shots so rust does not scare me ,
    anything considered even parts cars

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    so kwikpay is asking for my address and it's not liking my USA zipcode.

    now what?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    426
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Will it take PayPal ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by trackVW View Post
    Will it take PayPal ?
    dont know.
    it wont let me go to the next screen.
    do i just enter any UK address?

    edit:
    answer: https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...6#post16981056

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    426
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    I guess just get on Google and search for a London hotel

    Only problem will be if they want credit card to match London address

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,970
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by trackVW View Post
    Interesting , would love to see how it works in the USA and Central America when you get there .
    Can you also use it for calling or texts ?
    With Three PayGo in GoRoam counties texting is free incoming and 2p each for outgoing. Incoming calls are free for you but you have a UK number so they might not be free to the person calling you. Outgoing calls are 3p/minute to the UK and £1.40 per minute to the rest of the world.
    See my list of 2019 Cyber Monday prepaid and unlocked phone deals at https://prepaidcompare.net/cm2019.html

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    86
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10+, Moto X4, Moto G5 Plus, Blu R1HD, IPhone 6s, Defective Umidigi Power
    Carrier(s)
    VerizonPP, Red Pocket A,T,V
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have one of the 3 sims bought off eBay with £10 credit on it. The way it works in the Roam Around the World is the £10 credit is used to pay for calls back to the UK, text anywhere, and use data. Cost is 3 pence/min voice, 2p/text, and 1p/MB data. Here in the US I have used all those features and the pricing is correct. However, if you want to use it to call a US or most non-UK numbers, the price is £1.40/min. Ouch!! Also, 3G data is the best you can expect outside of the UK and a few EU countries. Incoming calls and texts are free anywhere. But remember, people calling or texting you have to dial the UK international code (+44) ahead of your number and also drop the leading zero when dialling.

    I'm not sure the add-on's work outside of the UK.

    I got the 3 Android app by turning on airplane mode and then enabling wifi separately.. Then I used PIA VPN to connect to a UK site. Then go to Google Play and sign out. Sign back in while connected to the UK site to make it think you are in the UK. Now you should be able to get the app. Also get the Kwik Pay app, too. I use it with PayPal. You may have to try a few things to get Google Play to think you're in the UK, but eventually it will.

    http://www.three.co.uk/support/roaming/panama

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,970
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fstuff View Post
    i live in the US. i have freedompop which is useless outside of the US.
    I plan on visiting Panama and surrounding countries.
    i have KeepGo ($50 for sim + 1gig that expires in a year but can be extended with a refill) but it doesnt work in alot of countries.

    so im looking at Three's 'pay as you go' plan.
    i bought the Three sim from ebay.

    from what i read, you can refill using (thx BOZ1):
    uksims.eu/buy-top-up (+10% Fee)
    mobiletopup.co.uk/three (+£1.49 Fee)
    apkpure.com/kwikpay-%E2%80%93-mobile-top-up/com.uk.recharge.kwikpay (APK) (+£0.20 Fee)

    Regular prepay is only good in the UK.
    to use in 3rd world countries, i need Go Roam Around the World add-on?? http://www.three.co.uk/go-roam
    Go Roam countries: http://www.three.co.uk/Support/Roami...ns?#countries1

    prices:
    £2.99 data Add-on for 500MB data. Lasts for 30 days.
    £15 data Add-on for 3GB data. Lasts for 30 days.

    im a light user. (email, Facebook. no youtube or streaming)
    Looks like the £2.99 data Add-on for 500MB data is best and just keep adding.

    Do i have it right?...
    Three PayGo includes Go Roam. You just need to enable in your Three account. If your use is very light can use data at 1p/MB in GoRoam countries instead of buying data add-ons.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    Three PayGo includes Go Roam. You just need to enable in your Three account.
    If your use is very light can use data at 1p/MB in GoRoam countries instead of buying data add-ons.
    so $.014 cents per meg in US$?
    so 500megs is $7 = L5?

    so there's no reason to buy a L5 add-on pack if only using data since it costs the same?
    but $ for regular payGo lasts 6months while the add-on only lasts 30days.

    note:
    1gig data at top-up rates: 1000 x .014 = $14 = L10
    but a L10 add-on pack is 2gig data.
    so better to buy a L10 pack if using between 1 and 2 gigs in 30days
    Last edited by fstuff; 01-01-2019 at 09:41 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    so i loaded the pin from kwikpay onto my three acct.

    but when i run the three app, it still says credit = $0.
    when i press on refresh, it says 'opps we have a connection problem'

    any help?
    Last edited by fstuff; 01-01-2019 at 09:43 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    so i logged into three's website from my desktop to check my acct.

    i have L10 acct balance! so it worked!
    and apparently, surfing on Three's website from my phone doesnt eat any data since i've tried for 15min to get my acct balance from the app.
    ( my phone says i've used 6megs of mobile data.)


    interesting, for add-on's, there's 2 internet only options:
    120MB data to access the internet for a day. £0.50
    500MB for you to use the internet on your phone. Once activated, this Add-on is valid for 30 days. £5.00

    the L10 option is:
    2GB data plus unlimited minutes and unlimited texts for £10 (lasts 30 days).

    and as i said above, there's no reason to buy the 500meg add-on.
    it's the same price per meg as using Top-Up rates but top-up lasts 6x longer. (6months vs 30days)
    Last edited by fstuff; 01-01-2019 at 09:51 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    Three PayGo includes Go Roam. You just need to enable in your Three account.
    If your use is very light can use data at 1p/MB in GoRoam countries instead of buying data add-ons.
    wait.. i just thought of something.
    is the 1p/meg rate just for Go Roam Europe?
    and Go Roam Around the World need the add-on packs?

    or 1p/meg for both?

    if the former, then it explains why they have the 500meg add-on pack.
    if the latter, then i cant figure out why they even off the 500meg add-on pack???

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 08:08 PM
  2. Iphones in 2nd world countries...?
    By georgeluv in forum Apple
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 06:46 PM
  3. Replies: 105
    Last Post: 04-16-2007, 10:38 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-03-2005, 12:52 PM
  5. ROAMING - possible to use 850 freq. in 900 freq. country?
    By Tiger123 in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2004, 06:34 PM

Bookmarks