Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Stylo 2 for international use?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    32
    Device(s)
    LG 5350
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    0

    Stylo 2 for international use?

    Google searches have failed me on this, so I'm hoping someone here knows the answer.

    My wife and I are traveling to Europe next month, and I'd like to purchase a European SIM card and use my Boost Mobile Stylo 2 (LG LS775) while there. The phone met Boost Mobile's requirements for unlocking, so I called them and asked them to unlock it. Yesterday, I got an e-mail from them telling me that I should leave the phone turned on, and that it would be unlocked within the next few hours. This morning, the phone had rebooted, and it does seem to be at least SIM-unlocked.

    When I go to the "Network Mode" settings, the GSM/UMTS option is there. However, in the "Roaming" settings, "Data Roaming" and all the "International Roaming" settings are greyed out.

    So...will my phone work on European GSM networks when I install a European SIM? I'm confused.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    32
    Device(s)
    LG 5350
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's a small world these days.

    We're taking advantage of dirt-cheap winter airfares.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,894
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RichardK View Post
    Google searches have failed me on this, so I'm hoping someone here knows the answer.

    My wife and I are traveling to Europe next month, and I'd like to purchase a European SIM card and use my Boost Mobile Stylo 2 (LG LS775) while there. The phone met Boost Mobile's requirements for unlocking, so I called them and asked them to unlock it. Yesterday, I got an e-mail from them telling me that I should leave the phone turned on, and that it would be unlocked within the next few hours. This morning, the phone had rebooted, and it does seem to be at least SIM-unlocked.

    When I go to the "Network Mode" settings, the GSM/UMTS option is there. However, in the "Roaming" settings, "Data Roaming" and all the "International Roaming" settings are greyed out.

    So...will my phone work on European GSM networks when I install a European SIM? I'm confused.
    once unlocked, the phone should work fine on GSM networks. get a local sim when you land at
    your destination. if you can, use WIFI calling as much as possible as cellular data use can get very expensive.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    32
    Device(s)
    LG 5350
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    once unlocked, the phone should work fine on GSM networks. get a local sim when you land at
    your destination. if you can, use WIFI calling as much as possible as cellular data use can get very expensive.
    Thanks!

    I also posted in Boost Mobile's corporate forums. Within minutes, a Boost rep replied, asking me to PM him with my phone number and PIN. After I sent those, he replied to me that my phone had been unlocked, and would definitely work with a European GSM-system SIM card. So I ordered on from Simcorner.com. (Looked like a better deal than anything I'd be able to get at our destination airport. And we won't have to mess with buying one there.) Worst case, I'll just buy a cheap unlocked phone when we get there.

Similar Threads

  1. nextel sim with t722i for international use
    By mvejr in forum Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2005, 05:28 PM
  2. AT&T Phones for International Use???
    By si3n4 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 12:00 PM
  3. Can someone explain PREPAID SIMs for international use?
    By HazelGirl in forum Regional Providers and Other Providers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2004, 08:30 PM
  4. 3390...can it be flashed for international use?
    By dundoleo in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 04-12-2003, 01:27 AM

Bookmarks