Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Could this be the reason for my increase in speed and signal strength?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,623
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Could this be the reason for my increase in speed and signal strength?

    Something changed here at work recently I have full signal even inside and speeds are very fast, about the time I noticed these improvements I noticed one of the utility poles has a new accessory. No markings on the equipment except for a plate on the meter that says uniti fiber. Since I am far from an expert on such things I am curious if anyone knows what type of equipment this is and if it belongs to T-Mobile.

    Name:  IMG_0081.jpg
Views: 409
Size:  70.5 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,460
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    It could be... depending on your phone, you can use something like Cell Mapper, LTE Discovery or Sensorly to map it out if this actually is a T-Mobile mico cell.
    The city I'm in has similar (using omni's though) in its north side.
    https://www.google.com/maps/@34.4443...7i13312!8i6656
    https://www.google.com/maps/@34.4542...7i13312!8i6656
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,623
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    It could be... depending on your phone, you can use something like Cell Mapper, LTE Discovery or Sensorly to map it out if this actually is a T-Mobile mico cell.
    The city I'm in has similar (using omni's though) in its north side.
    https://www.google.com/maps/@34.4443...7i13312!8i6656
    https://www.google.com/maps/@34.4542...7i13312!8i6656
    I’m using an iPhone XR



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,460
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sensorly will work. Similarly... Field test mode (#3001*12345#*) should give you some numbers as you approach the cell site.
    There might be a label on the power meter, and you should be able to 'read' the name of the equipment vendor for the radio gear. I'm suspecting its band 4 or 2 only.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,623
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    Sensorly will work. Similarly... Field test mode (#3001*12345#*) should give you some numbers as you approach the cell site.
    There might be a label on the power meter, and you should be able to 'read' the name of the equipment vendor for the radio gear. I'm suspecting its band 4 or 2 only.
    Thanks I’ll check it out when I’m back at work


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    843
    Feedback Score
    0
    They may have added 600mhz there. Check field rest mode when you’re at work to see what bands you’re on.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,623
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ram130 View Post
    They may have added 600mhz there. Check field rest mode when you’re at work to see what bands you’re on.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I doubt it I don’t think they’ve cleared tv station here (zip code 33756). Field test shows I’m connected to band 2


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    91
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bolthead View Post
    I doubt it I don’t think they’ve cleared tv station here (zip code 33756). Field test shows I’m connected to band 2


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Just to be sure once you suspect that you are connected to the site do the following. Launch field test mode as described by the other users here. Then swipe down to launch control center but leave the field test on and launch airplane mode. Wait 5-8 seconds and then disable airplane mode and then check again which band you are connected to. This will search for the closest site. And tell us the results then. Also go into CA option in field test. That’s where you will find carrier aggregation bands and tell us the results. Maybe a screen shot would be easier for you. Thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    São Paulo-Brazil
    Posts
    62
    Device(s)
    Galaxy A8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Try to get closer to the pole. If you get a very strong signal on field test mode, then you'll be sure it is a micro cell. Also, move all the way around the pole and you get to see all the sectors changing, if it is a multi sector site.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,623
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jacek1982 View Post
    Just to be sure once you suspect that you are connected to the site do the following. Launch field test mode as described by the other users here. Then swipe down to launch control center but leave the field test on and launch airplane mode. Wait 5-8 seconds and then disable airplane mode and then check again which band you are connected to. This will search for the closest site. And tell us the results then. Also go into CA option in field test. That’s where you will find carrier aggregation bands and tell us the results. Maybe a screen shot would be easier for you. Thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Right next to this site here is what field test shows. Could not get CA info it keeps saying waiting to update.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,460
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bolthead View Post
    Right next to this site here is what field test shows. Could not get CA info it keeps saying waiting to update.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    From the Field Test main menu... Select Serving Cell Meas (Measurement)
    you should get 'rsrp0' with a result of -55 to -70. You will usually have issues getting a reading with CA if you have WiFi enabled.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Raleigh
    Posts
    225
    Carrier(s)
    t-mobile, at&t, FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    throw away the iphone and get a real phone. Those readings don't make any sense.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,623
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mvaar View Post
    throw away the iphone and get a real phone. Those readings don't make any sense.
    Right I’ll do that just because you said so


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,623
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    From the Field Test main menu... Select Serving Cell Meas (Measurement)
    you should get 'rsrp0' with a result of -55 to -70. You will usually have issues getting a reading with CA if you have WiFi enabled.
    Name:  IMG_0097.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  19.3 KB

    I wish Google maps was more recent but this image of the same pole from April '17 shows there was no equipment present then

    Name:  Screen Shot 2019-01-01 at 11.21.32 AM.jpg
Views: 101
Size:  38.6 KB

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,460
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bolthead View Post
    Name:  IMG_0097.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  19.3 KB

    I wish Google maps was more recent but this image of the same pole from April '17 shows there was no equipment present then

    Name:  Screen Shot 2019-01-01 at 11.21.32 AM.jpg
Views: 101
Size:  38.6 KB
    Yeah... -68dbm is typically quite strong -78 is decent. I've found that speeds in my area jump with signal rsrp better than -70dbm. It can go from 100Mbps to 120Mbps then as it gets to -65dbm it will go beyond 200Mbps. https://www.cablefree.net/wirelesste...lte-rsrq-sinr/

    Sent from my LG-H872 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Could this be the screen for the iPhone 4G
    By big samm in forum Apple
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 01:20 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 09:40 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2004, 11:00 PM
  4. F1: Could this be the machine to do the job?
    By nasauti in forum Cars and Bikes
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-22-2003, 10:34 PM
  5. F1: Could this be the machine to do it?
    By nasauti in forum Cars and Bikes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-31-2003, 04:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks