Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: use Tracfone (Verizon network) on Straight Talk?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0

    use Tracfone (Verizon network) on Straight Talk?

    My mom's friend bought a Tracfone from HSN.
    This Tracfone LG Rebel 3 LTE works on the Verizon network.
    This friend is finding that her usage is too much to be cost effective on Tracfone.
    She hasn't been on Tracfone the year needed to be able to unlock the phone.

    Can she insert a Straight Talk SIM into her Tracfone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    817
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    It should work. I have SIM swapped a number of SIM between Tracfone and Straight Talk phones. I have even used unactivated phones too. The reason is Tracfone has a number of brand under it, and a good number of phones are able to switch between the brands. You just need to make sure the phone has the bands for the carrier.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,571
    Feedback Score
    0
    Call the customer care unit of the sub-brand you want to put the phone on. They can either Re-SKU it to the sub-brand you want or may even be able to do a universal Re-SKU where it will work across all TracFone sub-brands!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by VisionsDivine View Post
    Call the customer care unit of the sub-brand you want to put the phone on. They can either Re-SKU it to the sub-brand you want or may even be able to do a universal Re-SKU where it will work across all TracFone sub-brands!
    I was on chat with StraightTalk and they said it couldn't be done.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    2,664
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by VisionsDivine View Post
    Call the customer care unit of the sub-brand you want to put the phone on. They can either Re-SKU it to the sub-brand you want or may even be able to do a universal Re-SKU where it will work across all TracFone sub-brands!
    You're just saying stuff.

    Sent from my K88 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    673
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ieee488 View Post
    I was on chat with StraightTalk and they said it couldn't be done.
    Try this: Go to https://get.straighttalk.com/keep-your-own-phone/ then choose "Check Compatibility", then "I Know the Compatible Carrier", then
    "Verizon-Compatible". Then enter the IMEI/MEID. With luck, you will get this response: "We noticed that you are trying to switch to Straight Talk.
    Please click CONTINUE to switch your brand:"

    Once you click continue, you should get a screen to either keep your number or get a new one. After that should be a screen to enter an airtime pin or purchase airtime.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-15-2014, 02:08 PM
  2. Can I use an unlocked Verizon GS4 on Straight talk?
    By bluepony in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2013, 07:03 PM
  3. Use any Verizon phone on Straight Talk?
    By scottderrick in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-23-2010, 02:18 PM
  4. Replies: 67
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 07:38 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks