Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 43 of 43

Thread: Moto Z2 Force 64GB/2GB AT&T for $100

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,567
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sharp99 View Post
    It's a phone you purchased outright, no prepaid involved
    If the device is coded as prepaid, it doesn't matter how much you paid for it.

    And why wouldn't you want "phone used with at&t " status?
    Because once it's "used with AT&T" then AT&T's rules for unlocking customer phones take effect.

    As long as it's never used, they can't consider you a customer

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    On the AT&T portal I tried it like I wasn't an AT&T customer but they want a phone number on the 2nd page. Do I have to enter a phone number? If so what number should I enter? My home number or tracfone number? I haven't installed a sim in the Z2 yet. Also, it's saying their website is having network difficulties when I hit the submit button. Is this common? Anyways I kept trying and then it told me I attempted too many times and to come back in 24 hours.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,373
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by balloonshark View Post
    On the AT&T portal I tried it like I wasn't an AT&T customer but they want a phone number on the 2nd page. Do I have to enter a phone number? If so what number should I enter? My home number or tracfone number? I haven't installed a sim in the Z2 yet. Also, it's saying their website is having network difficulties when I hit the submit button. Is this common? Anyways I kept trying and then it told me I attempted too many times and to come back in 24 hours.
    is the phone activated yet ?? the phone must be activated in order for the phone to be unlocked.
    if not, the unlock request will fail.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    is the phone activated yet ?? the phone must be activated in order for the phone to be unlocked.
    if not, the unlock request will fail.
    No it hasn't been activated with any service by me and I removed the preinstalled at&t sim before powering on the first time. At the portal it does recognize the IMEI which brings up the correct model number.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,567
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sharp99 View Post
    High end according to people on hf who would die of convulsions is somebody spent more than $32.65 on a phone!

    Sent from my K88 using HoFo mobile app
    Quote Originally Posted by sharp99 View Post
    High end according to people on hf who would die of convulsions is somebody spent more than $32.65 on a phone!
    While there are a lot of low budget buyers here, there are plenty that will pay $500+ too (and more that could but choose not to).Just look at the Pixel and Galaxy Sx posts.

    The Moto Z2 has high end specs. The fact it's on clearance or wasn't very popular doesn't change that.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,441
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do not do anything until you get feedback from others on this site. It is my understanding if must be un-activated. Giving a phone number means it is activated and the unlock will be denied. Put in a foreign SIM and it will immediately ask for the unlock code (for that SIM to be accepted for activation).

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,042
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by balloonshark View Post
    On the AT&T portal I tried it like I wasn't an AT&T customer but they want a phone number on the 2nd page. Do I have to enter a phone number? If so what number should I enter? My home number or tracfone number?
    I just tried THIS SITE . I selected "No" for the question "Are you an AT&T wireless customer?" and the box that was asking for an AT&T phone number changed to asking for an IMEI. Since I don't have a valid IMEI to test, I couldn't get to Page 2 to see what is on there. I suppose a phone number requested on Page is just a contact number in case they need to call you. Give them a number where you want to be reached.

    Now, the main question is whether or not the Z2 in this deal is considered an AT&T Prepaid phone. Is there anything on the box that indicates that it's an AT&T Prepaid phone. If it's NOT an AT&T Prepaid phone, I don't have any experience with them. You can stop reading here.

    I haven't bought any AT&T Prepaid/GoPhone recently, so I don't know if their rules have changed. For a GoPhone that was sold about 2 years ago... they would give you the unlock code if your phone had not been activated/used on GoPhone. If it was activated on GoPhone, then you would have to complete the required period (a month, 3 months, 6 months? I don't remember). That's why I suggested that you removed the pre-installed SIM before powering it up.

    Back in 2016, I bought an AT&T GoPhone Lumia 640 and an AT&T GoPhone Phoenix 2. I requested an unlock code for the Lumia, got it, unlocked it, gave it to my sister. I didn't request an unlock code for the Phoenix 2 at that time because it accepted my TF/AT&T BYOP SIM out of the box. Then around August this year, I wanted to unlock it to use with Ting/T-mobile. I submitted a request to AT&T and they promptly gave me an unlock code. I was surprised that they still did that for a phone purchased in 2016.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    When you get to the 2nd page of the portal it wants something which I can't recall at this moment, a phone number and your email twice so it's correct. The Submit button did go from grey to blue even though I didn't enter an email. Their site just didn't work.

    Here is what the back of the box says. It looks like we might be good if it's not activated like you all mentioned. Also, the sim has an AT&T logo and a bunch of numbers. The instruction manual has an AT&T logo and gets around to mentioning AT&T apps and help.

    Name:  atandt.jpg
Views: 104
Size:  132.6 KB

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,042
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    An AT&T Prepaid phone comes in a box like this, with AT&T Prepaid prominently shown on the box. If your phone doesn't come in a box like that, then it's not an AT&T Prepaid phone, and I don't know what the requirements are for AT&T to unlock it.

    Name:  AT&T-Prepaid-Phone.jpg
Views: 181
Size:  30.5 KB

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks. It's a smaller box with AT&T logo on the front with no mention anywhere about prepaid except the back in the picture I posted.

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,042
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by balloonshark View Post
    It's a smaller box with AT&T logo on the front with no mention anywhere about prepaid except the back in the picture I posted.
    So it's similar to my AT&T LG G3 that I bought used on Ebay. Basically, it was made for AT&T by Motorola. AT&T will sell it to their postpaid customers at a reduced price, or sell it to anyone at a higher price. They probably will require you to pay a "ransom" of certain amount, or use it on AT&T postpaid/prepaid for a number of months before they'll unlock it. You might want to check Ebay to see if there are sellers of unlock code at a reasonable price. I bought a code to unlock my Verizon Prepaid Moto E4 last year and it was only $2-$3.

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    So it's similar to my AT&T LG G3 that I bought used on Ebay. Basically, it was made for AT&T by Motorola. AT&T will sell it to their postpaid customers at a reduced price, or sell it to anyone at a higher price. They probably will require you to pay a "ransom" of certain amount, or use it on AT&T postpaid/prepaid for a number of months before they'll unlock it. You might want to check Ebay to see if there are sellers of unlock code at a reasonable price. I bought a code to unlock my Verizon Prepaid Moto E4 last year and it was only $2-$3.
    Pretty much. Other than the logo, the pic I posted and one of the 4 bar codes there are no other mentions of AT&T on the box. If I can't unlock it myself I will consider paying. Not even sure what benefits it would give me since I'll continue using tracfone for now and I live in a GSM only area in WV anyways. I was just trying to unlock it in case I need to sell it or want to switch to a different service.

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,373
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    An AT&T Prepaid phone comes in a box like this, with AT&T Prepaid prominently shown on the box. If your phone doesn't come in a box like that, then it's not an AT&T Prepaid phone, and I don't know what the requirements are for AT&T to unlock it.

    the phone must be active for at least 6 months, after that then you can
    request the phone to be unlocked. now i have heard of a few people getting the phone
    unlocked even before the 6 months are up.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola Moto Z2 Force on sale at T-Mobile for $375
    By @TheRealDanny in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-06-2017, 02:58 PM
  2. Moto Z2 Force unlocking code available at the reasonable rates Prepaid, not found
    By canadagsm.ca in forum Canadagsm.ca Best deals in mobilephones, accessories and unlocking all under one roof
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2017, 04:10 AM
  3. How to unlock at&t motorola moto z2 force?
    By Express Unlocks in forum attunlockcode.com - Unlock Your Mobile With Any Carrier | Best Online Phone Codes | Fastest Response Time
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2017, 02:35 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2017, 06:14 AM
  5. The Moto Z2 Force Edition(AT&T) has landed
    By Vicpdx17 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2017, 02:07 AM

Bookmarks