Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: Is anyone use eSim with att?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    8,583
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is anyone use eSim with att?

    I’ve been calling around Corp stores but no luck.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,497
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs 256 GB Gold (Dual SIM)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Support should come with 12.1.1. Hopefully tomorrow 🤞


    Sent from my iPhone Xs using HoFo

    B4+B30+B66+B14 (20 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz)
    Duluth, MN (Test is AT&T, eSIM causes glitch for Carrier)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tulsa
    Posts
    2,090
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Got it running now. I was the first activation at my local store


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    iPhone XS:
    Verizon February UDP (Physical Sim)
    AT&T Unlimited Plus (E-SIM)

    iPad Pro 10.5:
    Verizon February UDP

    Rural Internet:
    Nighthawk HW1.0 LTE on AT&T Unlimited Plus
    Don’t cheap out on your cables!!!
    Years of struggle to get good speeds on a crap signal
    All solved with some quality LMR400 cables
    (went from 1-6mbps to 20-60mbps!!!)

    AT&T Fiber

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,376
    Feedback Score
    0
    another user has an E sim up & running on AT&T prepaid - https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...d-eSIM-Success!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,533
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T/Sprint/VZW
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Brobot View Post
    Got it running now. I was the first activation at my local store


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Glad you got it working. The fact that you had to go into a store had me thinking that these big carriers are just being dragged into this esim thing kicking and screaming, basically a lackluster and unenthusiastic support for it. I kind of get that it makes it easy to change carriers so that threatens their bottom line but why make you go into the store for this?
    It's just a QR code or perhaps some numbers if entered manually. Obvious the last thing they want to make this process is convenient.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    599
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Got mine today at a Corp store today. In and out in 5 min. was also the first one at my store.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Alex
    Teamsters Local 399
    "American by birth, teamster by the grace of God"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    8,583
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    I finally got it working after visiting a second Corp store.

    Name:  IMG_0030.jpg
Views: 573
Size:  23.9 KB


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tulsa
    Posts
    2,090
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vietalogy View Post
    I finally got it working after visiting a second Corp store.

    Name:  IMG_0030.jpg
Views: 573
Size:  23.9 KB


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Does your XFiniti mobile sim let you turn off LTE (let you manually connect to CDMA 3G)?

    My Verizon sim isn’t giving me that option right now while my AT&T SIM does.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    1,884
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max, Pixel 3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Google Fi, VZW Wi-Fi
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just activated eSIM as my secondary line with an AT&T $35/1GB prepaid plan.


    Sent from my iPhone XS Max using Tapatalk
    Check out my Reno Area Wireless Information & Cellular Guide website for cell site location maps, pictures & more https://RenoWirelessInfo.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,676
    Feedback Score
    0

    AT&T Is Anyone Use eSim With AT&T?

    So, I am curious. For those that have done this, are you frequently in areas where Verizon doesn't work and AT&T does, or, vice-versa, or are you just doing this for the novelty of it?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,946
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
    So, I am curious. For those that have done this, are you frequently in areas where Verizon doesn't work and AT&T does, or, vice-versa, or are you just doing this for the novelty of it?
    I haven't done it, but I would think an advantage would be to have your personal phone and business phone in one unit.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,533
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T/Sprint/VZW
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
    So, I am curious. For those that have done this, are you frequently in areas where Verizon doesn't work and AT&T does, or, vice-versa, or are you just doing this for the novelty of it?
    Doing this tomorrow but I will be activating my personal Verizon line on the esim and the work AT&T line on the physical sim since I have a company owned phone and I wouldn’t be able to swap to the esim with my work line, but I’d have no problem swapping physical sim to my personal phone. Coverage around me is similar but Verizon is way too congested around here and becomes unusable after 22GB. They throttle almost constantly during middle of day and evening. AT&T doesn’t have that issue even well over the 22GB.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    599
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
    So, I am curious. For those that have done this, are you frequently in areas where Verizon doesn't work and AT&T does, or, vice-versa, or are you just doing this for the novelty of it?
    Well for me I work all over the country so yeah it’s nice to have a fall back. Also I have a grandfathered loyalty plan with Verizon so my entire line with tax is about $21 a month for unlimited data. So since the price is so good I’m not letting it go. Lol. I’ve been using the sim in a mifi but now I can just have both in my phone and if for whatever reason need the mifi then I’ll just take the Verizon sim out and put it back in the mifi.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    1,884
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max, Pixel 3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Google Fi, VZW Wi-Fi
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is anyone use eSim with att?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
    So, I am curious. For those that have done this, are you frequently in areas where Verizon doesn't work and AT&T does, or, vice-versa, or are you just doing this for the novelty of it?
    There are a few areas where AT&T is better, and I’m using the eSIM as a backup for data. I don’t care about having the AT&T phone number, but they wouldn’t activate my iPhone’s eSIM as a data only device like my original idea was. If I can’t find a way to use it for data only on AT&T’s network, I may drop the eSIM because paying $35/month isn’t worth the expense.

    For the first month I plan on testing AT&Ts network coverage and speeds to see if they’ve improved since I left them 2 years ago.


    Sent from my iPhone XS Max using Tapatalk
    Last edited by RenoWirelessGuru; 12-07-2018 at 08:20 AM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,676
    Feedback Score
    0

    AT&T Is Anyone Using eSim With AT&T?

    Quote Originally Posted by RenoWirelessGuru View Post
    There are a few areas where AT&T is better, and I’m using the eSIM as a backup for data. I don’t care about having the AT&T phone number, but they wouldn’t activate my iPhone’s eSIM as a data only device like my original plan was. If I can’t find a way to use it for data only on AT&T’s network, I may drop the eSIM because paying $35/month isn’t worth the expense.

    For the first month I plan on testing AT&Ts network coverage and speeds to see if they’ve improved since I left them 2 years ago.


    Sent from my iPhone XS Max using Tapatalk
    Thank you for the reply. That IS am excellent way to do it. Since you can have BOTH carriers active, in the same device, you should be able to compare them and see who has better coverage in the areas most import to you!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Youmail -- Is anyone using it with Cingular?
    By Helper Monkey in forum AT&T
    Replies: 81
    Last Post: 05-18-2007, 02:58 PM
  2. Is anyone using mMode with their SE ?
    By lamplighter in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2005, 06:03 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-26-2004, 03:18 PM
  4. Is anyone using a t730 with Verizon yet?
    By burtonman in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-02-2003, 09:41 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2003, 05:39 PM

Bookmarks