Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Red Pocket Mobile question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    78
    Feedback Score
    0

    Red Pocket Mobile question

    I have had Red Pocket on Verizon's network for two years but want to switch due to horrible data speeds (sometimes no data transfer at all) when I am "in-town" such as the local ball park, the mall, etc. I just bought another yearly plan from eBay and was considering using the T-Mobile sim or possibly Sprint. The info I got in the mail says that I have to already have a sprint sim. Where would I get one?

    TIA!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,399
    Feedback Score
    0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,580
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS, T-Mobile, RedPocket Verizon, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bhoup View Post
    I have had Red Pocket on Verizon's network for two years but want to switch due to horrible data speeds (sometimes no data transfer at all) when I am "in-town" such as the local ball park, the mall, etc. I just bought another yearly plan from eBay and was considering using the T-Mobile sim or possibly Sprint. The info I got in the mail says that I have to already have a sprint sim. Where would I get one?

    TIA!
    To be honest if your having trouble on Verizon your not gonna want sprint data speed wise. It all depends on area. But in general sprint is the lowest when it comes to data speeds especially if you get dropped down to 3G coverage


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Phone: AT&T XS Silver 256GB. T-Mobile / MetroPCS
    Android device : Galaxy S9 RedPocket Verizon

    I am no longer a U.S.Cellular User.
    Speedtest in Knox.TN EvDo Rev.A

    My Photography www.hunterspad.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,787
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bhoup View Post
    I have had Red Pocket on Verizon's network for two years but want to switch due to horrible data speeds (sometimes no data transfer at all) when I am "in-town" such as the local ball park, the mall, etc. I just bought another yearly plan from eBay and was considering using the T-Mobile sim or possibly Sprint. The info I got in the mail says that I have to already have a sprint sim. Where would I get one?

    TIA!
    You have to go to a sprint store to get a sprint sim

    By the way, tell us where you live and what phone are you using. Most(but not all) who use Verizon reports that their service is overall solid.

    Do you have a phone with gsm? I would try AT&T or T-Mobile before trying Sprint.

    Sent from my Moto G (4) using HoFo mobile app

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    144
    Device(s)
    Moto G5 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sprint stores rarely sell sims. You may get lucky and find a corporate Sprint repair store that sells them, but it is not likely. Also, note that there are many different Sprint sims. Make sure you get the correct version. Ting has a good list showing which sim works for each phone:

    https://help.ting.com/hc/en-us/artic...-your-SIM-card

    As stated earlier, Twigby is usually the cheapest place to get them. Ting charges at least $5 for them, and Ebay/Amazon can be much higher.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,351
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by OneFore9 View Post
    Sprint stores rarely sell sims. You may get lucky and find a corporate Sprint repair store that sells them, but it is not likely. Also, note that there are many different Sprint sims. Make sure you get the correct version. Ting has a good list showing which sim works for each phone:

    https://help.ting.com/hc/en-us/artic...-your-SIM-card

    As stated earlier, Twigby is usually the cheapest place to get them. Ting charges at least $5 for them, and Ebay/Amazon can be much higher.
    Also, unlike "GSM" SIMs, Sprint SIMs are not tied to the MVNO you get them from. Get the one for your phone wherever you want.

    You may be experiencing Verizon congestion. I do in the area of town near the college at like 8pm. I sometimes only get 0.5 Mbps. I guess all the college students are studying - most likely studying porn.

    That said, Sprint might be better if few in an area are using them. I never had a data speed problem when I was using Sprint near the college. Mommy and Daddy bought them all shiny new iPhones and unlimited Verizon postpaid plans. Don't expect much from Sprint away from metro areas and major highways.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    78
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    Also, unlike "GSM" SIMs, Sprint SIMs are not tied to the MVNO you get them from. Get the one for your phone wherever you want.

    You may be experiencing Verizon congestion. I do in the area of town near the college at like 8pm. I sometimes only get 0.5 Mbps. I guess all the college students are studying - most likely studying porn.

    That said, Sprint might be better if few in an area are using them. I never had a data speed problem when I was using Sprint near the college. Mommy and Daddy bought them all shiny new iPhones and unlimited Verizon postpaid plans. Don't expect much from Sprint away from metro areas and major highways.
    Yep, the congestion, I believe, is the problem. I also hear that Verizon is a big culprit for deprioritization for MVNO's. That is why I wanted to try a different carrier. I did recently purchase a Mint Mobile sim for T-Mobile's network. It's great in some areas where I live, however as soon as a go into a building (work for instance) I get very little signal and have trouble making calls. This is even in "the city" where I get excellent service outside buildings.

    I have had Sprint before. The coverage still isn't the best in where I live (Bedford County, PA), but I hate how the deprioritization is with Verizon on the Red Pocket. It's happens constantly, no matter what time it is.

    I am using a Moto G5S Plus phone. Does anyone recommend a phone with better signal?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,787
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Have you tried AT&T(GSMA)?

    VERIZON > AT&T > T-MOBILE = SPRINT

    Sent from my Moto G (4) using HoFo mobile app

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,351
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bhoup View Post
    ...I am using a Moto G5S Plus phone. Does anyone recommend a phone with better signal?
    The Motos have a reputation for being as good as it gets for signal reception. I just switched from a Galaxy S4 to a Moto G6. The G6 gets much better signal in my house. The S4 was hit and miss whether it could hold a call or use data away from the best window. I also had a mile stretch of road from home to the main road where Verizon would go to No Service on the S4. The G6 does not drop to No Service there.

    T-Mo is probably just running 1900 MHz with poor building penetration where you are. They don't tune it for building penetration either. When T-Mo 600 MHz comes to town it may be a different story, but you would need a new phone with the 600 MHz band 71.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,482
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    You could be getting your T-Mo LTE over Band 2 (1900 MHz) or even worse, Band 4 (1700/2100 MHz), but it seems like they should have made Band 12 (700 MHz) pretty widespread by now, and that band should penetrate well comparatively. And the G5S should have that covered. Be interesting to see what you're connecting to.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    63
    Feedback Score
    0
    The G5S Plus is missing band 12. That's the problem.

    Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,787
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    The Op was using Verizon so needed bands 4 and 13.

    The g5s plus seems a little confusing. If it's the international version, could it be missing some us bands?

    Sent from my LEX727 Leeco Le Pro3 using HoFo mobile app

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,687
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by philovance View Post
    The G5S Plus is missing band 12. That's the problem.

    Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
    If it's the US version, I think you're wrong.

    The XT1806 supports LTE Bands 1,2,3,4,5,7,8,12,13,17,25,26,38,41,66.

    See https://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_mo...699.php#xt1806 and https://www.phonemore.com/motorola-m...2gb/specs/3529 .

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,668
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had to switch from Verizon to At&t a few years ago because of a reception issue where I spend a lot of time. Funny thing is, both At&t and Sprint have a great signal in this particular location but Verizon falls on it's face and T-Mobile is non existent. Ya just gotta try each service to see what works best for you. Sprint gets a bad rap but their voice coverage is way better then T-Mobile in most rural areas.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    35
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bhoup View Post
    Yep, the congestion, I believe, is the problem. I also hear that Verizon is a big culprit for deprioritization for MVNO's. That is why I wanted to try a different carrier. I did recently purchase a Mint Mobile sim for T-Mobile's network. It's great in some areas where I live, however as soon as a go into a building (work for instance) I get very little signal and have trouble making calls. This is even in "the city" where I get excellent service outside buildings.

    I have had Sprint before. The coverage still isn't the best in where I live (Bedford County, PA), but I hate how the deprioritization is with Verizon on the Red Pocket. It's happens constantly, no matter what time it is.

    I am using a Moto G5S Plus phone. Does anyone recommend a phone with better signal?
    I had a similar issue. Verizon MVNO , calls/texts ok but try to do anything with a browser and sloooooooow. Congestion/deprioritized/whatever the reason, it was annoying. Switched to RP AT&T, as I was using a Moto E4Plus unlocked, so I had my choice of carriers. Now, it isn't the fastest still but it's way better. Definitely usable.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Red Pocket Mobile yearly plan questions
    By crarbo1 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 03-19-2018, 07:04 PM
  2. Red pocket mobile question
    By hawkeyeman in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2013, 11:39 PM
  3. Red Pocket Mobile questions
    By David L. in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-28-2012, 01:53 AM
  4. I Have Some Questions About Red Pocket Mobile
    By AVIKING in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-29-2010, 02:48 PM
  5. Red Pocket Mobile question
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 06:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks