Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Most Common Spectrum Used for Data by TMobile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,603
    Device(s)
    LG G7
    Carrier(s)
    Google FI
    Feedback Score
    0

    Most Common Spectrum Used for Data by TMobile

    The story relates to all carriers but I'm just posting the graphics here for TMobile.

    You can see in outlying areas of the map the bright yellow representing band 71 just starting to be used though in the chart it represents just a sliver of usage overall in non urban areas.

    https://www.fiercewireless.com/wirel...own-by-carrier

    Name:  tmobilemapsmall.jpg
Views: 485
Size:  183.3 KB
    Name:  tchart1.png
Views: 637
Size:  80.2 KB
    Last edited by offthegrid; 11-29-2018 at 08:51 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southeastern Pennsylvania
    Posts
    849
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA / Play (Poland)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Band 3? Band 3 exists in the US? Surely T-mobile doesn't use that?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,248
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Barciur View Post
    Band 3? Band 3 exists in the US? Surely T-mobile doesn't use that?
    They don't. They also only use B5 in one area.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southeastern Pennsylvania
    Posts
    849
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA / Play (Poland)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting that B2 and B4 seem split evenly. I guess it depends on what area had what - some areas perhaps had little B2 and full on B4. B4 is the default to idle on, but I noticed here in Lancaster PA we still have a strong presense of HSPA on AWS, so that eats part of the LTE's B4. When I am on a skype voice call or streaming radio, my phone goes back to B2 - is that because it has a more bandwidth than AWS, since there is less of AWS in the first place and it is shared with HSPA still?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,375
    Device(s)
    S9
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Barciur View Post
    Band 3? Band 3 exists in the US? Surely T-mobile doesn't use that?
    I saw that and went to the link to the original maps the Op had posted and the original maps don’t have that 1800 Mhz Band 3 on the original map plus a lot of other stuff. I think Fiercewireless posted the wrong information that the Op copied then Fiercewireless corrected their maps after he posted the picture.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,603
    Device(s)
    LG G7
    Carrier(s)
    Google FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shilohcane View Post
    I saw that and went to the link to the original maps the Op had posted and the original maps don’t have that 1800 Mhz Band 3 on the original map plus a lot of other stuff. I think Fiercewireless posted the wrong information that the Op copied then Fiercewireless corrected their maps after he posted the picture.
    Thanks I corrected it - Frankly my eyes are so bad seeing much detail on the map graphic is a challenge.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,393
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting to see Sprints native coverage.

    Sent from my LG-H872 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,375
    Device(s)
    S9
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    Interesting to see Sprints native coverage.

    Sent from my LG-H872 using HoFo mobile app
    LOL that what I was thinking how much less Native coverage Sprint had when I saw that full link. Also, Sprint hasn’t deployed a lot of their Band 41. If T-Mobile can get their hands on that un-deplored Band 41 it will really speed up moving Sprint customers to T-Mobile’s Network after the merger.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Posts
    210
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I too saw a bunch of band errors on the maps, but the larger breakdown (by band) images on the links are ok (not the maps I don't think).

    Band 4 dominates here in SoCal on TMo, so that looks good, but it's interesting that it doesn't in large portions of the country.

    And Sprint is pretty thin. However, knowing they sit on a treasure trove of spectrum is why I want TMo to get their hands on it. I don't agree with the arguments that we need 4 big carriers as we really don't right now IMO. We have 3 with a bunch of squatters.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Posts
    210
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was in Vancouver, WA last weekend and the results confirmed this map. I only remember seeing Band 66 (dominant), Band 2 and maybe B12 once (sorry should have capped it) on TMo. No sign of B4 at all there even though it's right next to 66. Also, they believe in 100' towers there. It was so refreshing to have good coverage.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,753
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Falcon_73 View Post
    .... No sign of B4 at all there even though it's right next to 66. ...
    Band 4 is not "right next to 66". It's included within band 66. The reason there was no sign of B4 was that the B4 signal was transmitting a band 66 MFBI, which is what your phone reported.

    In fact, AFAICT, in Vancouver, WA T-Mobile has no AWS-3 licensed. So the "band 66" you saw was really all "band 4".
    Donald Newcomb

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Posts
    210
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, that's confusing. So like AT&T's B17 under B12? Why don't they just call it B4 then if that's what it is?

    Next time I'm taking my SDR to see where the signals really are, if we can't trust the IDs...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,838
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro 256 GB Midnight Green
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Falcon_73 View Post
    Well, that's confusing. So like AT&T's B17 under B12? Why don't they just call it B4 then if that's what it is?

    Next time I'm taking my SDR to see where the signals really are, if we can't trust the IDs...
    There are no Band 4 + 71 combos... There are however 66+71 combos... does that make sense?


    Sent from my iPhone Xs using HoFo

    Chicago, IL
    2+46+46+46+4

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northeast Florida
    Posts
    59
    Device(s)
    Moto G5+ XT1687, 2*Moto E4 XT1768
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Page Plus, Freedompop-ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Depending on how data was gathered, the erroneous "Band 3" 1800MHz shown in the original version of that map may be due to a bug present in many Android phones, which causes EARFCN's above 65535, which includes B66 and B71, to be truncated at the 16-bit boundary, aliasing them onto an incorrect lower band number.

    For example, in my area T-mobile's AWS LTE is a 20MHz-wide carrier at 2145MHz down (1745MHz up), EARFCN 66786, but due to the bug many apps report this as EARFCN 1250 (66786 - 65536), which equates to 1810MHz, which would be in the middle of Band 3 if that was the real frequency. The true frequency is exactly as it was before MFBI was turned on, when it was still showing as B4 - they have no AWS-3 spectrum anywhere close.

Similar Threads

  1. What is the Most Common Programming Language for Mobile Phones?
    By RadioRaiders in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-25-2009, 02:44 AM
  2. Blackberry used for data only?
    By Flounder in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2005, 09:33 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-06-2005, 11:55 PM
  4. What are the most common audio codecs for mpegs ?
    By Takumi_Inui in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-21-2004, 11:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks