Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: Does an ATT phone receive updates while on Red pocket?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0

    Does an ATT phone receive updates while on Red pocket?

    I have an ATT branded Galaxy S8 that I have on Red Pocket. It still shows all software updates are current (July 2018).

    Does ATT update branded phones that are MVNO?

    If I get the phone unlocked, how do I get updates? From Samsung?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,582
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS, T-Mobile, RedPocket Verizon, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by USMCSSGT View Post
    I have an ATT branded Galaxy S8 that I have on Red Pocket. It still shows all software updates are current (July 2018).

    Does ATT update branded phones that are MVNO?

    If I get the phone unlocked, how do I get updates? From Samsung?

    Thanks
    Updates determine the software. If it’s a carrier phone it’ll always get the carrier based updates no matter of unlocked or not.

    AT&T mvnos are hit or miss with software updates when running AT&T firmware.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Phone: AT&T XS Silver 256GB. T-Mobile / MetroPCS
    Android device : Galaxy S9 RedPocket Verizon

    I am no longer a U.S.Cellular User.
    Speedtest in Knox.TN EvDo Rev.A

    My Photography www.hunterspad.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    1,010
    Device(s)
    Moto E4 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Red Pocket (AT&T)-3 Lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, you will get updates even w/o cellular service. They will come through even if you only have Wi-Fi

    Sent from my moto g(6) play using HoFo mobile app

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,537
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post
    Yes, you will get updates even w/o cellular service. They will come through even if you only have Wi-Fi

    Sent from my moto g(6) play using HoFo mobile app
    To be precise if the device is not on an active service plan, it will only receive updates via a Wi-Fi connection.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,582
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS, T-Mobile, RedPocket Verizon, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post
    Yes, you will get updates even w/o cellular service. They will come through even if you only have Wi-Fi

    Sent from my moto g(6) play using HoFo mobile app
    Incorrect for devices running AT&T firmware. AT&T makes it to where it won’t update unless an AT&T sim or some mvno sims are inserted in the device as it “phones home”


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,948
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hyelton View Post
    Incorrect for devices running AT&T firmware. AT&T makes it to where it won’t update unless an AT&T sim or some mvno sims are inserted in the device as it “phones home”


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    That's been my experience too. My AT&T branded Android phones only got OS updates over WiFi when they had an active SIM with AT&T's MCC/MNC of 310/410. Most AT&T MVNOs, including RedPocket, use 310/410, but FreedomPop AT&T and global SIM's like Piranaha do not.

    Cricket, which I don't consider an MVNO, though some people do, also uses a different MNC than AT&T. I have no experience using an AT&T phone on Cricket so I can't say for sure whether they get updates or not. I suspect they might because Cricket is an AT&T brand.
    See my list of 2019 Black Friday prepaid and unlocked phone deals at https://prepaidcompare.net/bf2019.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,582
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS, T-Mobile, RedPocket Verizon, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    That's been my experience too. My AT&T branded Android phones only got OS updates over WiFi when they had an active SIM with AT&T's MCC/MNC of 310/410. Most AT&T MVNOs, including RedPocket, use 310/410, but FreedomPop AT&T and global SIM's like Piranaha do not.

    Cricket, which I don't consider an MVNO, though some people do, also uses a different MNC than AT&T. I have no experience using an AT&T phone on Cricket so I can't say for sure whether they get updates or not. I suspect they might because Cricket is an AT&T brand.
    Cricket won’t get the updates either in an AT&T branded device as of last year anyway


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0
    thanks! So unlocking it will not stop updates, it they ever come through?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,700
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by USMCSSGT View Post
    thanks! So unlocking it will not stop updates, it they ever come through?
    Correct...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    74
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes for AT&T software update on Red pocket (GSMA)
    No for on Freedompop.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    That's been my experience too. My AT&T branded Android phones only got OS updates over WiFi when they had an active SIM with AT&T's MCC/MNC of 310/410. Most AT&T MVNOs, including RedPocket, use 310/410, but FreedomPop AT&T and global SIM's like Piranaha do not.

    Cricket, which I don't consider an MVNO, though some people do, also uses a different MNC than AT&T. I have no experience using an AT&T phone on Cricket so I can't say for sure whether they get updates or not. I suspect they might because Cricket is an AT&T brand.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0
    Had my phone on RP since last summer.
    Still android ver 8.0.0
    Security last updated June 28, 2018.

    How do I get updates? ATT store said no

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,582
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS, T-Mobile, RedPocket Verizon, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by USMCSSGT View Post
    Had my phone on RP since last summer.
    Still android ver 8.0.0
    Security last updated June 28, 2018.

    How do I get updates? ATT store said no
    What’s your phone model?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0
    Samsung S8 SM-950U

    Was ATT, now RP and unlocked

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SID 246
    Posts
    2,582
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS, T-Mobile, RedPocket Verizon, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by USMCSSGT View Post
    Samsung S8 SM-950U

    Was ATT, now RP and unlocked
    What logo do you see when you turn your phone on?

    I’m guessing your on RedPocket GSMA? RP has several different carriers.

    Since it’s a Samsung device it should be as easy as using Odin to update.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0
    It shows the ATT globe

    Yes, on GSMA

    Is there an Odin tutorial somewhere?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for a newer phone I can use on red pocket Verizon 3g, droid mini?
    By nonameo in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-05-2015, 07:33 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 10:29 PM
  3. Does an Instinct just received on Tuesday need updating?
    By The WheelMan in forum Regular Phone Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 04:26 PM
  4. Want to use an ATT Phone on another network.
    By sandman512 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 09:09 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 02:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks