Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Thread: Over the web APN reset?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yea, I can browse.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,670
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Yea, I can browse.
    With WiFi turned off?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,703
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    ATT TF SIM put into a VZW Moto X first gen then APN to 611611. The only thing I could not get going was MMS. There was an APN edit that could be made according to TF text, but didn't work.
    After you texted APN to 611611, did TF send an APN file to the phone that you download and "populate" the APN parameters? Does the phone let you browse and edit it? If yes, did it let you save the change?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes and Yes.

    Like I said, I got HSP+ showing in the notification bar (Wifi off) and I could browse. I could not though get MMS to work even after editing and saving the APN with a minor tweak suggested in the TF text.

    Edit: Actually I think it was H+

  5. #20
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Updated:

    From here https://www.att.com/esupport/article...less/KM1218306

    I fooled some more with the APN and now I have all functions working, PLUS 4GLTE. I don't understand how though because the radio in the Moto X does not have the ATT band. So I think it's being fooled. But calling, SMS, MMS and data work. This is an XT1060.

    Name:  Screenshot_2018-08-02-14-39-12[1].jpg
Views: 149
Size:  30.7 KB

    Notice the question mark on the SIM, when I power up it says Not an ATT SIM, but I just clear the message. Also clearly slow, but I've never gotten a good signal from here (home) and it's always been slow.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,094
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    The XT1060 supports LTE band 4, which is one of AT&T's LTE bands. The other AT&T LTE bands are 17 aka 12, 2,5, 29, 30 and 66.
    Last edited by Yeswap; 08-02-2018 at 06:33 PM.
    Find and compare prepaid plans at https://prepaidcompare.net

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,670
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Updated:

    I fooled some more with the APN and now I have all functions working, PLUS 4GLTE. I don't understand how though because the radio in the Moto X does not have the ATT band. So I think it's being fooled. But calling, SMS, MMS and data work. This is an XT1060.

    Notice the question mark on the SIM, when I power up it says Not an ATT SIM, but I just clear the message. Also clearly slow, but I've never gotten a good signal from here (home) and it's always been slow.
    Why would it say "Not an ATT SIM"? That makes no sense, since it's a Vzw phone, and it IS an AT&T SIM.

    Anyway, I think that phone supports LTE Band 4, which AT&T uses.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for correcting - makes more sense now. The link I looked at called out only band 13, was wrong...

    https://www.frequencycheck.com/model...motorola-ghost


    I don't know why its complaining about the SIM. I did NOT change the name and apn to NXTGENPHONE, I didn't think the name mattered at all but I guess I could try that.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for correcting - makes more sense now. The link I looked at called out only band 13, was wrong...

    https://www.frequencycheck.com/model...motorola-ghost


    I don't know why its complaining about the SIM. I did NOT change the name and apn to NXTGENPHONE, I didn't think the name mattered at all but I guess I could try that.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,703
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Why would it say "Not an ATT SIM"? That makes no sense, since it's a Vzw phone, and it IS an AT&T SIM.
    When I had a Verizon Prepaid E4 and put a TF/AT&T SIM in it, it would say "Not a Verizon SIM", but you can just swipe it away.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,670
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Thanks for correcting - makes more sense now. The link I looked at called out only band 13, was wrong...

    https://www.frequencycheck.com/model...motorola-ghost


    I don't know why its complaining about the SIM. I did NOT change the name and apn to NXTGENPHONE, I didn't think the name mattered at all but I guess I could try that.
    You're welcome. Yes, it's odd that the info at the link you posted is wrong. Strangely, this link from the same website appears to have the correct info: https://www.frequencycheck.com/carri...-united-states

    I think maybe you just mistyped that error message, based on what hpham posted.
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    When I had an Verizon Prepaid E4 and put a TF/AT&T SIM in it, it would say "Not a Verizon SIM", but you can just swipe it away.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    You're welcome. Yes, it's odd that the info at the link you posted is wrong. Strangely, this link from the same website appears to have the correct info: https://www.frequencycheck.com/carri...-united-states

    I think maybe you just mistyped that error message, based on what hpham posted.
    Could well be. I'm updating now, I'll have another look next boot.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    You're welcome. Yes, it's odd that the info at the link you posted is wrong. Strangely, this link from the same website appears to have the correct info: https://www.frequencycheck.com/carri...-united-states

    I think maybe you just mistyped that error message, based on what hpham posted.
    Could well be. I'm updating now, I'll have another look next boot.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sure enough, "Simcard not from Verizon"

    oops

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    167
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    The APN name "Reseller" is not important, you can call it BOBSUNCLE if you want, but it must be the same on both lines. The MMSC, MMS proxy, port numbers must be exact. The APN Type varies, default is the most important one, the additional parameters like mms, supl, hipri, fota are just there in case default doesn't work.
    Thanks! I just copied and pasted your info into my notes.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Home security cameras, watching over the web...?
    By Chaoss in forum Nextel Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2006, 11:32 AM
  2. Configuring my mpx220 over the web
    By mikesm in forum Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2005, 05:14 PM
  3. Why can't you change your plan over the web?
    By Thork in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2005, 01:00 PM
  4. Send MMS over the web
    By Noodiez69 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2004, 03:03 AM
  5. Requesting subsidy unlock code over the web
    By rimanek in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2004, 01:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks