Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Anybody know how to set up APN for MMS, etc on Nokia 3310(Red Pocket)?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    Anybody know how to set up APN for MMS, etc on Nokia 3310(Red Pocket)?

    I'm new to MVNOs and I've never had to set up an APN. Despite endless emailing with Red Pocket customer support (who've been nearly useless), I still have yet to set up my Nokia 3310 for MMS and Web stuff; it took five emails just to get across the fact that, since my phone doesn't use iOS, Android, or Windows, none of their published instructions work. And, since none of the instructions I've seen elsewhere seem to fit the options on my phone's interface, I don't know how to make this work.
    So, has anybody else succeeded in setting up this phone for Red Pocket? (Or for another, more helpful carrier?)

    EDIT:
    I'm on Red Pocket's AT&T network. The parameters for configuring an access point on this phone are:
    Name (of access point)
    Username
    Password
    Access point
    Gateway
    Port
    set home page
    Network type
    IP type
    These terms don't match what I've seen in instructions I've seen on the web, and I can't seem to get Red Pocket support people to even look at them--they just start spouting whatever terminology they're accustomed to using.
    I also need to know which to select as my "SIM access point" (this is in the MMS menu), and which access point to select in the "Connectivity" menu.

    Thanks for reading.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,654
    Feedback Score
    0
    You really shouldn't blame a budget/low-cost MVNO for not being able to help with a non-standard phone.

    Did you try looking at search results from a search like https://www.google.com/search?rls=co...+on+Nokia+3310 ? I don't know if that will help or not.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,654
    Feedback Score
    0
    Google is REALLY an amazing search engine. You simply have to SEARCH! If the following doesn't work...keep searching!

    You could try this from https://www.reddit.com/r/NoContract/...ottom-comments :
    __________

    It's kinda confusing, but you need two separate APN's for data and MMS on the 3310 3G.

    Create one APN named "Red Pocket" and give it these settings (leaving all other settings alone):

    Access point: RESELLER

    DNS address: 0.0.0.0

    Set this as your data APN through settings > connectivity > access points.
    __________

    Create another named "Red Pocket MMS" with these settings (leaving all other settings alone):

    Access point: RESELLER

    Gateway: proxy.mobile.att.net

    Port: 80

    Set home page: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net

    DNS address: 0.0.0.0

    Set this as your MMS APN through settings > system > messages > MMS > SIM access point.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,654
    Feedback Score
    0
    By the way, for future reference for you or anyone else, the next time you need something from RP, use the RP Online Chat, NOT email, if you need quicker responses!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you. I'd seen that reddit post before, but must have messed up the configuration the first time and forgotten all about it, because after trying it again I finally have working Internet and MMS. Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,365
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4s
    Carrier(s)
    AirVoice
    Feedback Score
    0
    Honestly carriers should just support what they know, if they don't have setting for phone x, just say "we don't support it" why mislead the customer, no wonder they get the no better reputation than lawyers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,654
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by enverx View Post
    Thank you. I'd seen that reddit post before, but must have messed up the configuration the first time and forgotten all about it, because after trying it again I finally have working Internet and MMS. Thanks again.
    You're welcome.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2004, 09:24 AM
  2. does anyone know how to set up MMS for a X70
    By jonnyb in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-12-2004, 09:15 AM
  3. How to set up GPRS for V205?
    By LOM in forum Samsung
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-2003, 04:19 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-18-2003, 03:07 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2002, 06:16 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks