Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: Rogers announces 2G network shutdown for December 31st 2020

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,363
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers announces 2G network shutdown for December 31st 2020

    Quote Originally Posted by gmd View Post
    How can you plan with bad data?
    They don’t plan infrastructure improvements/expansions based on the coverage maps available to the general public. They have their own internal data that shows a more realistic picture of their environment, and that data isn’t allowed to be shared publicly. As much as it seems that Rogers isn’t aware of gaps or deficiencies, trust me, they are. They have to work within their approved budgets and even if an area was on an improvement roadmap at some point, it could change based on priority changes and budget adjustments.

    One of their wireless managers actually told me (not too long ago) that they have “pages” of documented locations (in the GTA alone) where improvements/coverage expansions are required...and those same areas show as having full LTE service on their customer coverage map on their website.
    Last edited by toolcube; 06-27-2018 at 02:41 PM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    524
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gmd View Post
    On the 2G topic, I currently have a phone with Vidéotron (in Ottawa). When it falls out of the Vidéotron network, it goes to 2G before 3G (Vidéotron roams on Rogers first).

    3G coverage in Ottawa has holes all over and without 2G, you'd miss calls. Adding new technology on the same network topology does not work as newer generations have limited reach.
    Can't you roam on 4g?

    Sent from my SM-G960W using HoFo mobile app

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    11,951
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    They don’t plan infrastructure improvements/expansions based on the coverage maps available to the general public. They have their own internal data that shows a more realistic picture of their environment, and that data isn’t allowed to be shared publicly. As much as it seems that Rogers isn’t aware of gaps or deficiencies, trust me, they are. They have to work within their approved budgets and even if an area was on an improvement roadmap at some point, it could change based on priority changes and budget adjustments.

    One of their wireless managers actually told me (not too long ago) that they have “pages” of documented locations (in the GTA alone) where improvements/coverage expansions are required...and those same areas show as having full LTE service on their customer coverage map on their website.
    Amen! I can attest to this! This is 100% so true. Rogers is a Business, they have budgets and sometimes emergency work-orders can sometimes take precedence over other scheduled projects which could delay filling in dead zones, but guess what? work eventually gets done, just not as timely as we all want it to be.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,363
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I still find Rogers to take much longer than Bell to install new sites. There are several locations that were approved years ago (one I know was approved in 2015) for new Rogers sites but still nothing built yet...so those could be part of roadmaps that changed or it could be related to something completely different. Bell’s new sites around here that were built recently were approved less than a year ago, so they tend to move much quicker from what I can tell.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Capital Region
    Posts
    944
    Device(s)
    Samsung S9
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I totally agree with the above. Bell is way more aggressive with site deployment that Rogers.

    The only reason I have retained Rogers up to this point is that I travel into Northern Ontario often and where I do travel (with my booster in the truck) I find I have better voice/text coverage. I'm not as worried about the data coverage (and my current booster doesn't work for 4G/LTE anyways).

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,346
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SheeB View Post
    I totally agree with the above. Bell is way more aggressive with site deployment that Rogers.

    The only reason I have retained Rogers up to this point is that I travel into Northern Ontario often and where I do travel (with my booster in the truck) I find I have better voice/text coverage. I'm not as worried about the data coverage (and my current booster doesn't work for 4G/LTE anyways).
    Wonder when Rogers/Tbaytel will deploy LTE between Sault Ste Marie and Thunder Bay? There's a lot of HSPA out there, Bell has LTE but doesn't cover places like White River

    Sent from my LG-H872 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    563
    Device(s)
    Lots
    Carrier(s)
    Currently Videotron and Bell. Has used PM, Wind, Koodo, Koodo, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by ravercwb View Post
    Can't you roam on 4g?

    Sent from my SM-G960W using HoFo mobile app
    What 4G?

    East of Ottawa, a phone on Rogers spends more time in 3G (and 2G) than LTE, that's if it gets a signal. A phone with Bell/Telus always has better coverage. Rogers prefers to add 700 Mhz gear than adding towers to fill gaps.

    Rogers is Bell's best customer, we've always known that. It's true that it takes Rogers longer to install a tower. They said not so long ago that they will align their spending on network with other players (they have the largest customer base, would others follow their lead?).

    When they shutdown 2G (mostly at 850 Mhz), are they going to convert those to Band 5 LTE with VoLTE?

    Waiting for POS for the switchover doesn't make sense in rural areas. Plus, they're easy to upgrade.

    If Rogers expanded their network, the CRTC wouldn't have to intervene between Bell and Videotron about some customers of Videotron staying on Bell's network all the time.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    336
    Device(s)
    Oneplus 6, Blackview BV9500, Umidigi A5 Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    No...... I am using 2G for all of my GPS devices.
    ----------------------------
    check my feedback at : http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16978

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,804
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 5 64gb
    Carrier(s)
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    In the GTA I think they just kind-of look at Vaughan and Thornhill and if everything is hunky-dory there, they basically "meh" everything else until a budget appears. ;-)
    Cheeri'o...
    Frankie...

    Please Note: I do not work for Bell. I also do not work for any wireless retail outlet.
    Do not ask me about promotions or offers from wireless providers.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,363
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Got back from a road trip to Windsor, Ontario. While we were there, we went to Caesar’s casino and I was surprised to find that Rogers hasn’t fixed their coverage problem in the building...it was bad when I was there a couple of years back and still the same bad reception now. In fact, Rogers signal is still generally poor around most of the city. But my goodness is it terrible inside the casino. No service and Edge in quite a few sections...sometimes iffy 3G. I, on the other hand had full LTE signal on my Telus phone throughout most of the building. It was a similar situation inside Devonshire Mall. How on earth is it 2019 and the largest cell company in the country can’t even provide adequate coverage inside one of the busiest casino’s/tourist attractions? It’s embarrassing!


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Has Rogers announced a 2G shutdown timeline?
    By Steven Hurdle in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-21-2017, 11:14 AM
  2. PSA: AT&T 2G Network Shutdown Notice
    By h2owireless in forum h2o Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2017, 09:48 AM
  3. How to Track AT&T’s 2G Network Shutdown
    By @TheRealDanny in forum AT&T
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 01-02-2016, 01:46 AM
  4. Is the GPRS network down for Rogers?
    By AndyVX in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 07:41 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-14-2002, 12:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks