Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to block US roaming with Koodo self serve

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    How to block US roaming with Koodo self serve

    Hey!
    Is there a way to block US towers with koodo self serve? I'm on the US border and my phone sometimes goes onto the US towers, which wouldn't be a big issue if for some reason I get charged for data, even though I have US data roaming turned off on my phone. It's happened a few times and costs me $5 each time, I obviously won't be calling into customer service for it because Quebec, but wondered if you all know if its possible to do yourself.
    Thanks!
    Name:  Screen Shot 2018-04-19 at 2.02.02 PM.jpg
Views: 347
Size:  6.2 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    363
    Device(s)
    SM-N910W8, SM-G935W8
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sew75 View Post
    Hey!
    Is there a way to block US towers with koodo self serve? I'm on the US border and my phone sometimes goes onto the US towers, which wouldn't be a big issue if for some reason I get charged for data, even though I have US data roaming turned off on my phone. It's happened a few times and costs me $5 each time, I obviously won't be calling into customer service for it because Quebec, but wondered if you all know if its possible to do yourself.
    Thanks!
    Name:  Screen Shot 2018-04-19 at 2.02.02 PM.jpg
Views: 347
Size:  6.2 KB
    What phone do you use? There should be an option on the phone to only use "home" towers if you dig deeper into the settings.

    Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    229
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, iPad Mini 2, MacBook Pro 2013 13”, Apple TV 4.
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS
    Feedback Score
    0
    That’s one of the may reasons why I left them.

    Mysteriously using data even though it’s off and, of course, being blamed (and charged) for it.

    When I called them, the rep told me only them can do it. And it’s either all data being blocked or not at all.


    Sent from my iPhone X on Fido’s network using Tapatalk Beta.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    757
    Device(s)
    Honor 7X, iPhone 6S Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sew75 View Post
    Hey!
    Is there a way to block US towers with koodo self serve? I'm on the US border and my phone sometimes goes onto the US towers, which wouldn't be a big issue if for some reason I get charged for data, even though I have US data roaming turned off on my phone. It's happened a few times and costs me $5 each time, I obviously won't be calling into customer service for it because Quebec, but wondered if you all know if its possible to do yourself.
    Thanks!
    Name:  Screen Shot 2018-04-19 at 2.02.02 PM.jpg
Views: 347
Size:  6.2 KB
    The workaround is to turn off automatic network selection, search for networks and pick Koodoo network manually. It will stay that way
    Tired of huge cell phone bills?I can help!Please,check and like my FB page below
    https://www.facebook.com/CellPhoneSaver

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    457
    Device(s)
    LG G5, LG G4, Note 4, BB Classic
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, TELUS
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by beer_wisdom View Post
    The workaround is to turn off automatic network selection, search for networks and pick Koodoo network manually. It will stay that way
    This would be the best way.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,427
    Device(s)
    Essential PH-1, Pixel XL, Nexus 5, Nexus 4, Nexus S
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo & Google Voice
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yep, set to Koodo.
    Un-Rogered, and getting better 'value'.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    150
    Feedback Score
    0
    Once you've set your network to Koodo manually, you may be able to "roam" for free for a short ways into the US.

    Your phone will stick with the Koodo tower until the signal drops and ignore the US networks. In my area (QC/VT), range into the US is about 1 km.

Similar Threads

  1. Getting calls from scammers, how to block numbers with Nokia 5230?
    By HD voice guy in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2011, 02:25 AM
  2. How To Block Roaming On Vz Dare
    By tedstrutz in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 09:21 PM
  3. how long for US roaming charges to show
    By CountryFido01 in forum Fido
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 08:02 PM
  4. SLVR L7- How to keep from Roaming? T-Mobile US
    By sonicflood in forum Motorola Phone Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-20-2006, 05:50 PM
  5. How to create MMF Ringtones by my self with vibration?
    By meisterbartsch in forum Samsung
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2004, 03:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks