Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Activating non-verizon branded phone on verizon mvno

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    34
    Feedback Score
    0

    Activating non-verizon branded phone on verizon mvno

    Specifically activating a phone on a verizon mvno that it is not branded verizon or whitelisted by verizon, but does 'work' on verizon.

    The phone I have is an unlocked htc 10, I'm guessing there are other phones like this as well. The htc 10 works on verizon just fine if you put an already activated nano-sim in the phone.

    Does anyone know of any other ways to get a phone like this activated on a verizon mvno? I am coming from a 3g phone so I do not have an already active sim. Seems like the only option I am coming up with is finding someone with a verizon phone that I can activate my sim card on.

    Anyway if anyone has any other tips that would be great! wish verizon would just whitelist any unlocked phone with correct bands!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,801
    Feedback Score
    0
    If the phone already works on verizon then you should have no problems activating the phone on other verizon mvno's

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    34
    Feedback Score
    0
    The ESN is not whitelisted (I think that is the correct term) by verizon, but it is also not blacklisted. So if you have an already active sim from your mvno you can just put the sim in the htc 10 and it will work fine. But you cannot activated a new sim with an ESN from an unlocked htc 10 because verizon and verizon mvno's don't have the esn whitelisted. that's the issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10,016
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cedarknoll View Post
    The ESN is not whitelisted (I think that is the correct term) by verizon, but it is also not blacklisted. So if you have an already active sim from your mvno you can just put the sim in the htc 10 and it will work fine. But you cannot activated a new sim with an ESN from an unlocked htc 10 because verizon and verizon mvno's don't have the esn whitelisted. that's the issue.
    I know a lot of people buy the cheapest Vzw branded LTE phone with a clean ESN, even if it is not working, and use that ESN to activate a Vzw network SIM to swap into a non-whitelisted, but Vzw compatible device.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    34
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    I know a lot of people buy the cheapest Vzw branded LTE phone with a clean ESN, even if it is not working, and use that ESN to activate a Vzw network SIM to swap into a non-whitelisted, but Vzw compatible device.
    Interesting Thanks @Boz1. I have been thinking about doing this. I tried using the esn from a broken motox I have and the esn was accepted but the sim didn't work when I put it in my htc10. I was thinking that it didn't work because I never actually activated the sim on the motox. So I am thinking that I might have to buy a super cheap 4g phone that is in working condition.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,391
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone - Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Work on Verizon may not be enough. There was a post in the Boom thread? where someone used a ZTE phone IIRC that was Verizon capable and had their account deactivated because the ZTE phone they used was not an approved phone to use on Verizon. This was done by Verizon during an audit of Boom accounts by Verizon.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    823
    Feedback Score
    0
    You should have no problem but I'd suggest initial activation with a smaller Verizon MVNO such as Boom as you're more likely to get a native English-speaking CS agent who knows what they are doing (or at least easily get escalated to one who does) if there are any issues. Trying to get problems resolved with the large cut-rate MVNOs (Straight Talk, Total Wireless, etc.) can quickly devolve into a nightmare of incompetency.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    515
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can go into a store that sells BOOM plans and just have them test it. Or go to a Verizon store and have them test with a sim. Just don’t buy a plan.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,427
    Device(s)
    Moto X PE, Moto G4P, LG Volt
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/Verizon, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cedarknoll View Post
    Interesting Thanks @Boz1. I have been thinking about doing this. I tried using the esn from a broken motox I have and the esn was accepted but the sim didn't work when I put it in my htc10. I was thinking that it didn't work because I never actually activated the sim on the motox. So I am thinking that I might have to buy a super cheap 4g phone that is in working condition.
    That should have worked if the HTC 10 supports Verizon CDMA and LTE bands. It wasn't because the SIM was never in the Moto X.

    I agree with the other poster - go to a Verizon store (preferably a corporate store) and have them check if the phone will work on Verizon using an active Verizon SIM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10,016
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by offroad1994 View Post
    You can go into a store that sells BOOM plans and just have them test it. Or go to a Verizon store and have them test with a sim. Just don’t buy a plan.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    What stores sell Boom?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    34
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nocaps View Post
    You should have no problem but I'd suggest initial activation with a smaller Verizon MVNO such as Boom as you're more likely to get a native English-speaking CS agent who knows what they are doing (or at least easily get escalated to one who does) if there are any issues. Trying to get problems resolved with the large cut-rate MVNOs (Straight Talk, Total Wireless, etc.) can quickly devolve into a nightmare of incompetency.
    I tried RedPocket, I think they might be on the larger mvno side. Basically couldn't find a customer service agent who understood what I was talking about. (honestly that has been my experience with red pocket on other issues as well) They kept repeating that the esn wasn't compatible. Yeah trying an mvno like Boom or Selectel might be worth it, especially if I could get a free sim or something, just to make sure I can convince them to activate it before spending the money on a plan.

    But yeah I agree this would be ideal way to go, convincing an mvno to activate the htc10 for me, or possibly sending me an already active sim that I can just put in my phone. I'll report back if I get this to work.

    Quote Originally Posted by bw01 View Post
    That should have worked if the HTC 10 supports Verizon CDMA and LTE bands. It wasn't because the SIM was never in the Moto X.

    I agree with the other poster - go to a Verizon store (preferably a corporate store) and have them check if the phone will work on Verizon using an active Verizon SIM.
    I have verified that the phone works fine on Verizon. Just doesn't have a cleared for verizon esn. So its hard to convince anyone haha

    thanks for all the input everyone!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    869
    Carrier(s)
    BOOM! Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just as a side note I would not suggest doing a sim swap to activate a non whitelisted phone.

    Some people have tried this with the Axon 7 and Verizon disconnected the line.

    VoLTE also won't work most likely and they are in the process of shutting down CDMA-2000

    Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    396
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mathfaster View Post
    Work on Verizon may not be enough. There was a post in the Boom thread? where someone used a ZTE phone IIRC that was Verizon capable and had their account deactivated because the ZTE phone they used was not an approved phone to use on Verizon. This was done by Verizon during an audit of Boom accounts by Verizon.
    Quote Originally Posted by pclover View Post
    Just as a side note I would not suggest doing a sim swap to activate a non whitelisted phone.

    Some people have tried this with the Axon 7 and Verizon disconnected the line.

    VoLTE also won't work most likely and they are in the process of shutting down CDMA-2000

    Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
    Are "some people" possibly the same person mentioned by mathfaster? Do you have links to posts about other cases?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,427
    Device(s)
    Moto X PE, Moto G4P, LG Volt
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/Verizon, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfu2215 View Post
    Are "some people" possibly the same person mentioned by mathfaster? Do you have links to posts about other cases?
    Yes, it was one person with an Axon 7. But let's not let that get in the way of a good "Verizon will shut you down" story.

    There was also one person on Slickdeals that reported that their line on Red Pocket/Verizon was "hotlined". Turned out they used more than 3000 minutes in a month on an unlimited plan and Red Pocket cut them off.

    There were others that reported getting a text message that their phone wasn't authorized or something like that and they needed to swap to one that is. Nothing came of it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    396
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bw01 View Post
    Yes, it was one person with an Axon 7. But let's not let that get in the way of a good "Verizon will shut you down" story.

    There was also one person on Slickdeals that reported that their line on Red Pocket/Verizon was "hotlined". Turned out they used more than 3000 minutes in a month on an unlimited plan and Red Pocket cut them off.

    There were others that reported getting a text message that their phone wasn't authorized or something like that and they needed to swap to one that is. Nothing came of it.
    Yes indeed! What starts off as a question or just speculation gets changed into "fact" pretty quickly on some of these boards. I've only read a single first-hand account of a user having service terminated for using an "unauthorized" device. Thanks for confirming that it's rare for it to happen!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Activate an Alltel prepaid phone on Verizon post-paid?
    By JenJen in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 12:12 PM
  2. Non-verizon CDMA phone on Verizon service
    By candicenelms in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2008, 12:06 AM
  3. Activating a non-Verion WM phone on Verizon
    By remnant in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-05-2007, 08:27 PM
  4. Anyone activate a Virgin Mobile phone on Verizon?
    By jmsilver99 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-11-2006, 04:12 PM
  5. Was able to activate old Motorola bag phone on Verizon :)
    By jtludwig in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-21-2004, 05:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks